We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John's Cafe & Grill

John's Cafe & Grill
33-3 West Virginia Way, Ranson, WV 25438
(304) 724-8110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Ranson
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had the Hellenic burger and the other half had a gyro, a pork kebab, and a greek salad. It was across the board fantastic. I had not had a burger with feta and bacon on it and it was great! Will be here again FOR SURE!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a nifty local restaurant. It's entirely family owned and run. My meal was made fresh in under 10 minutes --souvlaki, grilled to perfection, almost exactly as I've had it in Greece, loaded with fresh tzatziki and veggies. There's a lot on the menu, all of it at reasonable prices. The atmosphere is casual and the family who runs it is really friendly. It's such a good authentic option instead of caving in to so many fast food places surrounding it. I want to see them thrive since they add some nice variety to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranson, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Favorite go to spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Favorite local restaurant. We go there almost every week. Never have had anything there that was not excellent. Love their steak sub, fish and chips, gyros, lemon chicken soup and fried chicken. My 8 year old loves their pita pizza. The family that owns it is so nice and they make you feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the drive, for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We've been doing the date-night experience for a few months now, sampling as many different restaurants as possible. Occasionally we stumble on a real clinker, and when that happens we have a couple places we retreat to for a redeeming experience. John's Cafe is one of those spots that rekindle our enthusiam for eating out. Best Greek food (which is as good as it gets, anyway) in this area. Savory, fresh, daunting portion sizes, warm family-owned place. Just a great meal. Ambience a little sparse, maybe, but who cares? This place satisfies that craving for quality, authentic, flavorful food every single time. If that's what you're looking for, try this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly people, addictive soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a Greek- American gem. The folks here love to chat and make great comfort foods along with some wonderful Greek specialties. Mypersonalfavorite here is the greek chicken orzo soup. This seems to hit the spot on cold days, hot days and just anydays. Simple, clean unpretentious on of my gotta stop when near by places to visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Cafe & Grill also viewed

 

Been to John's Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Cafe & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.