We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roseland Resort & Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Proctor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roseland Resort & Campground
Save
You added Roseland Resort & Campground to your Saves list
925 Nolte Lane, Proctor, WV 26055   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I just got home from two days at Roseland and couldn't wait to review it. I could not have been more impressed with the resort. The service was better than I've received at some 4 star hotels, no kidding. ALL of the owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful, always saying hello, remembering my name and making sure I had whatever I needed. My room had a great view of the hills and the property. The bar was great; strong drinks, great music, lights and sound system. Food was all very good. Pool and deck were very nice as well but gets very crowded so get there early. The grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. Oh, and there's even a barn that's like a mini fun park in itself, so I hear. I could go on and on about all the amenities and details but suffice it to say, if you're looking for a great place to stay, this is it. The owners really care about Roseland and their guests and I for one really appreciated it. Thanks guys!! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRandC, Manager at Roseland Resort & Campground, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
WOW - What a great review! We love that you compared us to a 4 Star Hotel - That was amazing to read! We are very glad you enjoyed yourself and think so highly of us! We strive and will continue to strive to provide the best customer experience we can. Its folks like you that make this business what it is and we couldn't be more happy about your review. Thanks Again and hopefully we will see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
28
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is the place to go if you want to get away. Staff and residents are so friendly and the grounds are beautiful. You can get back to nature or camp outside or in a cabin. Prices are reasonable. The drive up the mountain is worth it although a little scary at times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRandC, Manager at Roseland Resort & Campground, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are very excited that you enjoyed your visit here and appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review! Come back and see us soon - we are open all year with great Room and Cabin specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlake, Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Aug 23/24 in deluxe cabin 1. Private area with own bathroom. Perfect for 2 people but no more than 4. Kitchenette was well stalked. Great, friendly staff from the minute you arrive with check in with Scott. Owners Matt and Troy make you feel welcome and interact with you when they see you, even just a wave. Professional massage was an added bonus. Pool was amazing, naked or not. Hot tubs clean and private when you wanted them to be. Views and landscaping were amazing. Night life with bars, dancing, socializing. Ended a bit early. Great place if you enjoy hiking and walking with nature. Going back in less than 2 months for our second longer stay.

Room Tip: You have to go on website to see your likes and dislikes. Call Scott, will help you out. You can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRandC, Manager at Roseland Resort & Campground, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
HI Guy - Thanks for the great review - we appreciate your honest feedback and hope you will come back and see us to enjoy more! We absolutely love what we are doing and will continue to strive to keep everything going strong up here on the mountain! Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I love, love, love this place. The customer service is top notch. I try to go a few times a year and it has become my Palm Springs in West Virginia.

The only complaint I can make about the grounds is the storage barn on the way to the Jr. Deluxe cabins. It really needs cleaned up. The place is so beautiful but then you have to walk past that eyesore with stuff piled all around it. Put the crap in the barn and shut the doors!

Room Tip: Jr deluxe cabins are a great place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRandC, Manager at Roseland Resort & Campground, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
HI there! Thank you for your honest feedback! We are excited you compared us to Palm Springs! We are grateful that you mentioned the shed with all of the tools, etc. While it is much better now that it is not full of trash - we realize that it is an eyesore and we will be working this winter to get it all cleaned up and more presentable. Thank you again and we hope to see you here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowshoe, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I went to Roseland early in the week knowing it was going to be quiet a nd not fully operational. That is what I wanted. The star is incredible. They made me feel at home from the get go. The owner Matt made me breakfast my first two mornings although the restaurant is only open on the weekends. Every staff member addressed me by name which is classy. I ended iup staying two extra nights. I didn't want to leave. I can't wait to gfo back. Thanks guys!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRandC, Manager at Roseland Resort & Campground, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We have worked hard at treating the week day guests as important as our weekend guests. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay enough to extend it - we appreciate your business for sure! You were also a class act and we loved getting to know you. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

It is off the beaten bath for sure, but worth the drive. The staff was very friendly. We loved the presentation by Doc! We didn't love the rotted, severely bowed, and moss covered picnic tables at our and neighboring sites. The (actual) hiking trail could be more worn in for ease of use.
Loved the convenience of cocktail service and adding it to our site for payment upon departure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRandC, Manager at Roseland Resort & Campground, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Guys! We are so glad you had a great time and we hope you come visit us again soon! We had our first deliveries of new Picnic Tables delivered this week and we will be replacing all of the ones that need to be replaced. The hiking trails could not be attended to because of the immense amount of rain we have received over the last month, but, we do have trail masters and the equipment to attend to them as soon as it is dry enough. Thank you for your feedback and your visit. We look forward to hosting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I have seen this place evolve and de evolve over the last few years. It is beautiful and the pool area is great. Food service has greatly improved this year and the pool area staff are wonderful and attentive.

The main issue is a lack of things to do in the evening. In the past there were parties and theme weekend which most people looked forward to. Now the only activity is the bar. If you aren't into binge drinking and going to the barn or steam room to cruise there is little else to do. No live dj and its the same music programming every night so most people gave up on dancing. The advertised themes usually have little effort put into them other than a few decorations. When asked usually you will get a lackluster response about them.

There seems to be a high staff turn over. there is one employee who spends most of his time gossiping about guests and other staff members, and planning who is next on his list to try and get fired. 99 percent of the staff are wonderful and hard working and the owners are very nice. The place just needs to focus a little less on booze and cruise and more on fun and creativity for guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRandC, Manager at Roseland Resort & Campground, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for your feedback on the resort. We appreciate you taking the time to give us constructive criticism so that we can be even better. As far as things to do in the evening, we have Doc's Observatory and the themed parties every weekend. We also have a fully equipped Game Room with a Pool Table and Electronic Dart Board. The majority of our feedback is that sitting at our many areas and visiting with folks, enjoying the game room, the hiking trails, etc. has been more then enough for most of our guests.
As for Staff turnover, we have lost only one employee this year. We would love it if you would give us a call at your earliest convenience, so we can discuss what activities you would like to see and the employee that only talks about who needs fired next. These are certainly items that we would love to rectify for you. Please call us at 1-304-455-3838 as soon as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roseland Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseland Resort & Campground

Address: 925 Nolte Lane, Proctor, WV 26055
Location: United States > West Virginia > Proctor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Proctor
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Roseland Hotel Proctor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roseland Resort & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.