We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kimono

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kimono
221 Greasy Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740
304-487-8008
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 49 restaurants in Princeton
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We started with soup and salad and had high hopes as all was very good. However, the chicken teriyaki was very bland and tasteless. Most of the attention was focused on the habachi tables that were filled with families. We should have chosen the habachi.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    12
    8
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We go to Kimono's for every family event (birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, etc) and always receive great food and a great show by the hibachi. The only thing I really must complain is how rude the servers are. They aren't friendly and demand that you tip them. Four of us went to Kimono's last December and I decided to cover the tip for everyone in my party. I left a very generous tip and as we were leaving one of the servers stopped someone in our party at the door and asked where her tip was. My friend explained we left one very large tip. The server then demanded my friend leave her another tip. But that is the only problem we've ever had.

The food is great (but a little greasy) and the hibachi's are awesome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tabemono WA oishikatta desu (means good food in japanese)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The food was very good. Nice, effient staff. I was seated quickly and the food came fast. I had the steak and scallops, which I recomend. The atmosphere is lively. The chefs are entertaining, even if you're not sitting in front of the grill. Don't forget to hit the Gong in your way out. It is encouraged, not sure why, but got it go with the local custom.s.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great place in a remote area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Aervice was great, food incredibly good. The guy doing the hibachi was funny and with good skills. Only thing is that the place looked dirty.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolute best in entire area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I are locals and are regular customers of KImono, we like to dine in but when we can't we call ahead and order for pick-up. We travel ALOT and have been to many Japanese steakhouses and sushi bars and we have yet to find any that can beat Kimono. The show is great and the food is excellant! We usually order the tuna tartare as an appetizer and our favorite sushi is the ocean roll and the crazy tuna, the hibachi meals are great too. The manager has always been friendly and we have never seen the first bug of any kind there- very clean.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kimono also viewed

 

Been to Kimono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.