We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Princeton
MONO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were doing the 24 hour drive back from orlando florida, knowing we would stop for the night but not sure of the location. We started calling hotels in the Princeton area, very few available to meet our needs. We finally called Margaret at Holiday inn express.
She knew exactly what we needed, booked rooms and even booked a third room at another hotel for us when she ran out of available rooms.
The hotel was clean, pool and hottub spotless and much needed after 12 hours on the road. Margaret, you made my day! Keep up the great work...you are a credit to that hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
19
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Hotel was easy to find with a ton of resturants within eye-sight.

Lady at the front desk was very professional and welcomed our cat as well.

My wife enjoyed the complimentary cookies.I passed on them, but they looked good.

Room was clean and quiet, especially considering its proximaty to the interstate.

Sounds silly, but the pillows were way too soft for my liking.

Wifi performance and range was very good.

The free breakfast wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

First the pros: this hotel was very clean and the front desk staff was friendly. Now the cons: the pool was tiny, the noise kept us up all night, the breakfast was mediocre, and the heat was uncomfortable.
Although this Holiday Inn Express was very clean, I would not stay here again due to all the noise. The walls are clearly not well-insulated, since I could hear every move my neighbors above and to the sides made. All night the slamming of doors was annoying. I don't think anyone was doing anything unusual, there was just constant noise.
Also, the heat was either on or off--no thermostat control--so it was either freezing or blazing hot in our room. This was very uncomfortable for sleeping.
Third, the pool was tiny and unbearable warm. It was crowded after five people got in it.
Lastly, the breakfast was limited and only mediocre. There was not enough seating for all the people wanting to eat, and the food kept running out.
Overall, this Holiday Inn is just average.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This is a nice hotel. It seems pretty new. It is located near both commercial and residence areas. Even though I didn't swim, the indoor pool seems very nice and clean.
There must be many people from industries stay in this hotel. When I checked into the hotel, there were many dirty footprints on the lobby floor. I had to watch my step. Additionally, my room smelled of cleaning agents when I entered. The maid must have done a huge cleaning job. I noticed dark smears on the curtains.
Becareful of entering and exiting the hotel. It is located near a major "T" intersection. It might be hard exiting the hotel during rush hour.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

The staff were VERY friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast had many choices and was good. (No waffles though, but you can't have everything.) They offered cookies at the desk AND biscuits for dogs as well! Nice attention to detail. Pet owners are given rooms on 3rd floor.....little inconvient for "bathroom breaks". Other than that...we were all very happy and couldn't have asked for anything better. It will be on my list of places to stay again and I would DEFINITELY recommend it to pet owners and non-pet owners alike! Job well done HIE!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I had to travel a lot to Southwest VA during the last year and I always want to stay at this hotel if I am in the area. Jennifer, Margaret, Sue... all the ladies at the front desk are the best, hats off the them. Rooms, bathrooms, beds are always clean and service is more than adequate for my needs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on my way to Dayton OH. it is located right off I-77 making it easy to get to.The hotel looks new,room was very comfortable,and the bed made sleeping easy.
The Hotel is with in walking distance of a lot of places to eat,nothing fancy,but nice not having to drive to eat.
Threy served great tasting cookies in the afternoon.
I had to leave early so missed the breakfast,but the area is nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Address: 805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
#5 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Princeton, WV, the newest hotel in the East River valley area and conveniently located off I-77 and US 460 W. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton is nestled in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia and admist many attractions, including snow skiing, ATV trail bike riding, professional baseball, horseback riding, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton was designed to accomodate both the business and leisure traveler. Our oversized rooms offer a well lit ergonomic work area, complimentary high speed internet, microwave, refrigerator and the SIMPLY SMART Bathroom experience featuring customized showerheads and special bath towels. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, state of the art fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and a business center. The complimentary Express Smart breakfast is served daily in our spacious and comfortable Great Room, where you can relax and enjoy Princeton's beautiful scenery. Our experienced sales staff is always available to help you with the planning of corporate or social events in our meeting room featuring High Speed Internet. Whether you come to enjoy the wonderful summers, to delight yourself in our colorful autumns, enjoy skiing in our crisp winters or experience the beautiful springs, you'll discover that the Holiday Inn Express Princeton is definitely the Smart place to stay! Please join us on your next visit to the Princeton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / i-77 Hotel Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
Princeton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.