We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on the road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Princeton
Decatur, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on the road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stay at this pet-friendly hotel 1-2 times a year when visiting family in the area. Rooms are always very clean, facility is well maintained, staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is well stocked. We have always had good experiences here. Located on a busy exit off the highway with chain restaurants, wal-mart. Not particularly charming surroundings, but convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
19
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very nice room and breakfast, service from front desk always excellent when we stop here. Make a reservation every time we stop they are turning travelers away, we have never stayed here and no rooms available without a reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed at this property over half a dozen time since the first of the year. I have found the rooms to be a bit larger than the average HIX room, and they include a refrigerator and microware. The in room noise was better than many properties. The HVAC worked well on all visits, and includes a fan on option.

Although there are only few resturants within walking distance, there are more than a dozen with in a few minutes drive. This property is very close to the interstate.

The breakfast is most typical HIX grub. Edible, but still waiting for a change.

This property offers smoking rooms (grumph) on the third floor, which is split with NS rooms. I have found the smoke lingers to al rooms on this floor.

This property is also pet friendly (charge?). Good to know if you need this (milk bones in the lobby!).

I will be returning for future visits in this area.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor if smoke bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here recently with our two kids and booked a suite. The rooms were large and suited all our needs.

Although our room was facing the main street, we didn't hear any traffic but you do hear a lot of footsteps, doors, people walking around. I didn't have a good sleep at all.

Otherwise, the staff were nice, the amenities are okay and its was not out of the way.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor if footsteps wake you up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We normally stay at Holiday Inn Expresses when travelling as they accept dogs, have nice bedding and are generally nice hotels. This hotel was a bit older I think, the bed was pretty hard so I didn't sleep much but having said that the room was large, fridge, microwave etc, clean, nice bedding/pillows.

The best part was the front desk clerk Jennifer who oozed with charm and was so sweet and helpful (not just with us but with every customer she spoke with)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear ccjewel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I am pleased to know that you found our front desk staff Jennifer charming and helpful. Our staff members are truly the heart of the hotel and I am glad it's being appreciated by our guests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have been to this hotel a few times and it is consistently great. Desk clerks are always very efficient and friendly. Rooms are clean and the breakfast area is very nice. They have a nice patio area outside also. It's right off I-77 and there are a ton of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We walked in to the Princeton, West Virginia on Friday afternoon, May 3, and were greeted by Margaret, the desk assistant. She was speaking with a gentleman in front of us like they were old friends, ends up he had not visited his daughter in Princeton in over a year. However, Margaret remembered him from previous stays. Room and bathrooms were clean, breakfast was good, and 5 o'clock cookies were a great snack. Stay here, you will not be disappointed. One more thing- bathroom and swimming pool are handicap friendly.
A sincere thanks to Margaret for your excellent customer service!
Gigi

Room Tip: Handicap friendly bathrooms and swimming pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Address: 805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
#4 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Princeton, WV, the newest hotel in the East River valley area and conveniently located off I-77 and US 460 W. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton is nestled in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia and admist many attractions, including snow skiing, ATV trail bike riding, professional baseball, horseback riding, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton was designed to accomodate both the business and leisure traveler. Our oversized rooms offer a well lit ergonomic work area, complimentary high speed internet, microwave, refrigerator and the SIMPLY SMART Bathroom experience featuring customized showerheads and special bath towels. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, state of the art fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and a business center. The complimentary Express Smart breakfast is served daily in our spacious and comfortable Great Room, where you can relax and enjoy Princeton's beautiful scenery. Our experienced sales staff is always available to help you with the planning of corporate or social events in our meeting room featuring High Speed Internet. Whether you come to enjoy the wonderful summers, to delight yourself in our colorful autumns, enjoy skiing in our crisp winters or experience the beautiful springs, you'll discover that the Holiday Inn Express Princeton is definitely the Smart place to stay! Please join us on your next visit to the Princeton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / i-77 Hotel Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
Princeton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.