We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good basic property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Princeton
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good basic property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed at this property over half a dozen time since the first of the year. I have found the rooms to be a bit larger than the average HIX room, and they include a refrigerator and microware. The in room noise was better than many properties. The HVAC worked well on all visits, and includes a fan on option.

Although there are only few resturants within walking distance, there are more than a dozen with in a few minutes drive. This property is very close to the interstate.

The breakfast is most typical HIX grub. Edible, but still waiting for a change.

This property offers smoking rooms (grumph) on the third floor, which is split with NS rooms. I have found the smoke lingers to al rooms on this floor.

This property is also pet friendly (charge?). Good to know if you need this (milk bones in the lobby!).

I will be returning for future visits in this area.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor if smoke bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
16
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here recently with our two kids and booked a suite. The rooms were large and suited all our needs.

Although our room was facing the main street, we didn't hear any traffic but you do hear a lot of footsteps, doors, people walking around. I didn't have a good sleep at all.

Otherwise, the staff were nice, the amenities are okay and its was not out of the way.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor if footsteps wake you up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We normally stay at Holiday Inn Expresses when travelling as they accept dogs, have nice bedding and are generally nice hotels. This hotel was a bit older I think, the bed was pretty hard so I didn't sleep much but having said that the room was large, fridge, microwave etc, clean, nice bedding/pillows.

The best part was the front desk clerk Jennifer who oozed with charm and was so sweet and helpful (not just with us but with every customer she spoke with)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear ccjewel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I am pleased to know that you found our front desk staff Jennifer charming and helpful. Our staff members are truly the heart of the hotel and I am glad it's being appreciated by our guests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have been to this hotel a few times and it is consistently great. Desk clerks are always very efficient and friendly. Rooms are clean and the breakfast area is very nice. They have a nice patio area outside also. It's right off I-77 and there are a ton of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We walked in to the Princeton, West Virginia on Friday afternoon, May 3, and were greeted by Margaret, the desk assistant. She was speaking with a gentleman in front of us like they were old friends, ends up he had not visited his daughter in Princeton in over a year. However, Margaret remembered him from previous stays. Room and bathrooms were clean, breakfast was good, and 5 o'clock cookies were a great snack. Stay here, you will not be disappointed. One more thing- bathroom and swimming pool are handicap friendly.
A sincere thanks to Margaret for your excellent customer service!
Gigi

Room Tip: Handicap friendly bathrooms and swimming pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night and had a fantastic time. We had a large room on the second floor. It was spotless. The carpet was clean, the furniture looked new and the bathroom was immaculate. The hotel was pretty quiet. We could occasionally hear our upstairs neighbor walking around but it wasn’t too bad. We went down to use the pool and hot tub about 9:00pm after the children who were staying at the hotel had left and gone to bed. It was nice to have the pool all to ourselves. It is open until 11:00pm which is great.

The hotel breakfast the next morning was one of the better free breakfasts that we’ve had. They even have an automatic pancake making machine which is the first I’ve seen. It worked great. The cinnamon rolls were really good too. The internet service was good. About the only complaint we had would be the image quality on the cable TV was poor, especially in the lower channels. There were also no HD channels but that’s not really too big of a deal. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very clean and friendly service. Convenient location. There is not a restaurant at the hotel but there is breakfast service each morning. Pool & fitness area are nice. Lots of restaurants nearby. Easy on and off I-77. Short drive to Bristol, TN for the NASCAR races.

Room Tip: Good location & very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / i-77 Hotel Princeton
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / i-77 Hotel
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Express Princeton
Princeton Holiday Inn
Address: 805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Princeton, WV, the newest hotel in the East River valley area and conveniently located off I-77 and US 460 W. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton is nestled in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia and admist many attractions, including snow skiing, ATV trail bike riding, professional baseball, horseback riding, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton was designed to accomodate both the business and leisure traveler. Our oversized rooms offer a well lit ergonomic work area, complimentary high speed internet, microwave, refrigerator and the SIMPLY SMART Bathroom experience featuring customized showerheads and special bath towels. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, state of the art fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and a business center. The complimentary Express Smart breakfast is served daily in our spacious and comfortable Great Room, where you can relax and enjoy Princeton's beautiful scenery. Our experienced sales staff is always available to help you with the planning of corporate or social events in our meeting room featuring High Speed Internet. Whether you come to enjoy the wonderful summers, to delight yourself in our colorful autumns, enjoy skiing in our crisp winters or experience the beautiful springs, you'll discover that the Holiday Inn Express Princeton is definitely the Smart place to stay! Please join us on your next visit to the Princeton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.