We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express Princeton WV” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Princeton
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express Princeton WV”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff here is very friendly and helpful. This is very accessible right off of I-77 with a lot of chain restaurants nearby. The breakfast here is your standard HI Express and seems to start a bit earlier for the business travelers than most hotels. That is a big help. You have a nice indoor pool and a very small fitness center with a couple of treadmills and a recumbent bike. The overall hotel is not quite as nice a many of the HI Expresses I have stayed in during my travels but it is OK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    47
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
56
22
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I am a Priority Club Platinum guest so I stay in a lot of ICG properties so I have a regular standard that I expect . This property isnt bad but it isnt anything special either. Ivwas not offered any status perks but Im guessing that there is nothing to offer.

Location is good right off of 64 / 77. Afternoon check in staff was friendly. My main complaint is with the slow speed of thier wireless internet. This isnt an issue for casual travelers. But for those of us that require high speed connections throughout our stay to connect ti high bandwid h ERP systems it can be an issue.

I have stayed here multiple times and the experience has been the same.
Good property for the value but I wish they would. Upgrade their internet infrastructure to be more business traveller friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro nc
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed overnight to spend time with my daughter, who was giving birth in the hospital just a few miles away. Check in was quick, and the receptionist (Heather) was nice to recommend a good place for dinner. The room was clean and large...heard noise from other rooms tv's, but I just turned on the fan, and it was fine. Nice full breakfast, which was very enjoyable. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alva
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Margaret --- how can I tell you how wonderfull she is. I was tired from driving and just needed a quiet room. She could not have been more helpfull. I needed a room with 2 queen beds non- smoking. When I got to the hotel there was no room that I needed. But she checked one more time for me. As it happened somebody had just canceled their room and it was just what I needed. She didn't need to check one more time. She could have sent me on my way to look for another hotel. But she went the extra mile and looked for me. How can I ever thank her for all her help. I did talk to her other times as I walked threw the lobby. She was always as happy and helpfull. THANK-YOU AGAIN AND AGAIN. The room was clean and very comfortable. I stayed with my mother and we both had a good sleep. The breakfast was well stocked and fresh. Thank-you again from a very tired traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent a week at this property and for the most part had a good stay. It is on the older side with thin ceilings, so if noise is a potential deal breaker, try to get a room on the 3rd floor. Other than that it was pretty quiet. Check in was a breeze and my room was of comparable size to most other standard HIE rooms I've stayed in. All rooms have a small fridge and microwave. The fridge can be tricky since it doesn't have a thermostat. It really cranks out the cold air freezing practically everything inside if its in there long enough, so I've learned along the way to crack the door periodically to act as the thermostat.

As one contributor said, there is a slight odor in the hallways and rooms, but that's probably due to the age of the building. It's not overpowering though and I really didn't lose any sleep over it. The beds are comfortable and housekeeping does a good job in the cleaning department. The 37 inch flat screen TV's are nice, but the internet here is really wacko. The speeds vary from dial up to fairly fast, back to crawling speed in the blink of an eye. Whether at 7am, noon or midnight it was always the same unpredicatbility in speeds. You're also prompted to enter a password to log back into the net even if the computer goes to sleep. The internet gets a 2 out of 5.

I noticed two breakfast attendants working here and they leave no stone left unturned. Same food selection as any HIE, but they do a superb job in cleaning keeping the pantry stocked. The gym is a little small and the equipment is useable, but along the lower end in quality and build. It didn't seem real busy during my week here, but I prefer it that way since I work at all hours during the day and night.

Additional nice touches....the local Bluefield newspaper slid under my door 7 days a week as a Platinum Elite member, cookies and candy at the front desk and for those with 4 legged friends, doggie biscuits also in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls, ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here in August 2012 on way from Canada to Myrtle Beach. Quick check in, clean room, clean pool, great breakfast. No negatives I can think of. Fresh popcorn for the kids upon check in. Excellent breakfast service. Great hot selection of breakfast food all including in room price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were headed to Myrtle Beach and this was a PERFECT halfway mark for us going and coming. Everything was great including the friendly front desk staff to the awsome breakfast/staff. Being an employee of the Holiday Inns I can recognize good service and quality when I see it. Kudos to the management/owner. :)))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77

Address: 805 Oakvale Road, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Princeton, WV, the newest hotel in the East River valley area and conveniently located off I-77 and US 460 W. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton is nestled in the beautiful Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia and admist many attractions, including snow skiing, ATV trail bike riding, professional baseball, horseback riding, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express Princeton was designed to accomodate both the business and leisure traveler. Our oversized rooms offer a well lit ergonomic work area, complimentary high speed internet, microwave, refrigerator and the SIMPLY SMART Bathroom experience featuring customized showerheads and special bath towels. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor swimming pool, state of the art fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and a business center. The complimentary Express Smart breakfast is served daily in our spacious and comfortable Great Room, where you can relax and enjoy Princeton's beautiful scenery. Our experienced sales staff is always available to help you with the planning of corporate or social events in our meeting room featuring High Speed Internet. Whether you come to enjoy the wonderful summers, to delight yourself in our colorful autumns, enjoy skiing in our crisp winters or experience the beautiful springs, you'll discover that the Holiday Inn Express Princeton is definitely the Smart place to stay! Please join us on your next visit to the Princeton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / i-77 Hotel Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
Princeton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.