We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Princeton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Princeton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Meadowfield Lane, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Member Savings
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Flatwoods, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I spent the night here while on a business trip in Princeton and it was a good choice. There are several hotels in the same location and I haven't stayed at any of those, but I was really pleased with the Hampton Inn. I always try to stay at Hamptons because they are pretty consistent when it comes to comfort, cleanliness, and a good breakfast. This Hampton does appear to be a bit older, but my room was very nice. The sheets and duvet were spotless, crisp, and bright white. The towels were bright white. Granite in the bathroom. Curved shower rod, very clean shower. Nice desk area with excellent lighting. Comfortable beds, quiet hotel. Lobby is nice and the breakfast area was very clean and plenty of seating. Pastries, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, cereal, and fresh fruit was available for breakfast. Awesome stay. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    113
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
113
97
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here on way back to Myrtle Beach. Was very impressed with this location, the hotel is either new or recently renovated and is clean and well maintained. Lots of restaurants in immediate vicinity / walking distance. Front desk staff prompt and friendly.

There is a small pool and my daughter and I enjoyed burning off some energy after a day on the road. I also used the treadmill in the exercise room and the equipment was in good working order.

One other plus is that there are two elevators so you are not waiting too long to go up or down.

My wife and daughter were not too thrilled about the options for the continental breakfast so we opted to eat out.

In any case, a good choice if you are staying in Princeton. The Holiday Inn is also good - I stayed there on the way down to Myrtle Beach and I'll be submitting a review for this also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Room was clean, Hampton washes the Duvet between guests. Breakfast left something to be desired. It was clear that the employee putting the breakfast out could care less about the quality. Waffle mix was as thin as water, OJ was way over concentrated, Apple juice was empty, eggs were chopped in tiny pieces (a fork was useless). Little things like that that detracted from an otherwise 4.5 or 5 rated stay, too bad.

Room Tip: Request a room at the end of the hall. Thin doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This looks like a very nice hotel and I probably could have fouond out if I could have gotten the attention of the front desk attendant who was too busy talking on the phone to actually attend the front desk. I waited for about five minutes, made a trip to the bathroom and then waited another five minutes before leaving. All the while, the attendant was loudly complaining to someone about a third party who apparently disrespected her in some way. So much for customer service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The check inn was fast and the staff friendly. The facility was clean. The rooms were nice and the beds comfortable. There were several restaurants close by in walking distance. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I just spent the night here on our way to South Carolina. Found the rooms to be very updated and clean with a new wooden wardrobe closet and built in desk. Bathroom may have been dated, but clean. Many more outlets than your typical room. The only drawback was the proximity to the interstate and you could hear the trucks at night. As far as breakfast, we had the scrambled eggs and they were a bit dry, just added ketchup.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
319 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We try to stay at Hampton Inns on all of our trips around the US. For the most part, they're all very reliable with respect to cleanliness, atmosphere, facilities, staffing, breakfasts, proximity to restaurants, parking and other considerations you might have in mind. This one in Princeton, WV, is one of the best we've experienced with respect to all of these criteria. And not only do they have the traditional freshly-baked Hampton Inn chocolate chip cookies available for you in the evening, they also have a popcorn popper and little bags for you to take up to your room to litter up your bed. A nice touch. We recommend this place when you're traveling on I-77 or when you're in the area for other good purposes. Oh! We were going to stay at the Hampton Inn in Beckley, but thanks to reading a Tripadvisor review, we stayed here. A nicer place and $30 less expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
10.2 mi away
Quality Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Princeton

Address: 277 Meadowfield Lane, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Princeton
#2 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Princeton is the perfect place to stay while visiting the mountains of West Virginia. Close to skiing, hiking, biking and more, this hotel is in perfect proximity to the state parks and outdoor excitement any enthusiast would love. In addition to these activities, find shopping, dining and more located in downtown Princeton. For the duration of your stay, enjoy complimentary internet access, business center, fitness center, indoor pool and a free, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.