We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Overnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Princeton

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Princeton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Princeton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Meadowfield Lane, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Princeton
Cicero, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Overnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Perfect interstate overnight Hotel--Excellent
Positives:Very Clean, Comfy and Very Quiet. Bedding-Bathroom-Decor.
Close to Restaurants.
Negatives:None
Return Stay/Recommend--Yes
Overall Rating-10
Scale 1-worst to 10 best

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    70
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
60
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I selected this Hampton Inn verses the one only 30 minutes up the road in Beckley based on the written reviews in Trip Advisor. My husband's class reunion was held in Beckley, however, it was well worth the 30 minute drive to get this excellant of a hotel stay.

Photos on the website are spot on - this place is immaculate. Upon arrival we saw a sign stating to pardon their remodeling of the lobby - I didn't see a thing wrong or out of place, very clean.

We had to wait a few minutes for the front desk clerk, however a housekeeping representative greeted us and stated the front desk clerk would be with us in a few moments - that's customer service.

The outside grounds area was very neat and clean, the jaccuzzi and pool area immaculate, the fitness area the same.

There are only 2 things I can even mention - there was not an exhaust fan in our bathroom and the eggs/gravy were not to our taste preference - but that doesn't mean it wasn't for others.

I honestly can't rave enough about this particular Hampton Inn - very clean, every single staff member very friendly and helpful. The place looked new even though it isn't.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This Hampton Inn has recently been renovated with new, clean and fresh guest rooms and bathrooms. The room decor was up-to-date and had a relaxing feel. The bed and bedding were as comfortable as some of the more upscale hotels we have visited. The breakfast was a typical Hampton Inn continental breakfast, which was good if you are looking for something light and quick.

The location is great for people travelling to and from the Carolina beaches who want to break the trip into two days. If you are travelling on a summer weekend, you need to make a reservation for this hotel as it typically fills up by early in the evening. This is based on our previous experience, as well as seeing multiple people turned away every year when we are checking in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence Center, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

At check in there was a bit of confusion people were trying to check in but rooms were not ready, we were told ours was ready but when we got to our room it was not, the maid made some nasty remark about the desk people and we were told to wait. when we returned the room was over whelming with room deodorizing spray and you could tell she rushed through, then we spent the next two hours listening to her vacuuming the surrounding rooms. we were there after check in time not early. the room was nice lots of space and a desk area but the air conditioner was awful loud. breakfast was pretty good but crowded people fighting over tables ...crazy cracker barrel is right next door walk across the parking lot so that was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great Hotel,Very clean and accomidating. Staff was exceptional andBreakfast was great.
Will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Princeton for only one night as we were just passing through the area. We found the hotel staff to be friendly and welcoming and the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The hotel lobby floor was being renovated while we were there, so there were a few spots where cardboard had been placed to cover unlevel areas. This didn't dectract at all from the stay.
We did take advantage of the pool while we were there as well. It was clean and the temperature just right. The only downside might be that the fitness room overlooks the pool, but there is a painted stripe on the glass so that folks on the treadmills don't really see you. I'd also warn that you might want to take the stairs to the pool. We went down the elevator to the lobby and there was some conference going on and there we all are in our bathing suits while 50 or so people are staring at us. A little awkward, but we just kept moving.
Overall, our stay was very nice - no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We were moving to the area for a job transfer and stayed here for 56 days. We couldn't have ask for a better place to stay. Staff very friendly and anything we needed they were right there to help us. Breakfast was really good- pool/ workout area very clean and well maintained - room clean and great beds. They even let us park our 5th wheel there for our complete stay. They really helped make our move to the area less stressful. Thank you Princeton Hampton your the best.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Princeton

Address: 277 Meadowfield Lane, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Princeton
#2 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Princeton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Princeton is the perfect place to stay while visiting the mountains of West Virginia. Close to skiing, hiking, biking and more, this hotel is in perfect proximity to the state parks and outdoor excitement any enthusiast would love. In addition to these activities, find shopping, dining and more located in downtown Princeton. For the duration of your stay, enjoy complimentary internet access, business center, fitness center, indoor pool and a free, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.