We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New # 1 Spot For The Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My New # 1 Spot For The Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Most of the hotels in the area are showing their age. But, this property is fairly new. It has a wonderful view. The room was huge and very comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer. The rate was very reasonable. I will be back again on my next reurn to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn & Suites Princeton WV. We are so glad to hear you will be returning. I hope you enjoyed the free hot breakfast and sampled the cookies in the looby. Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    75
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
173
69
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is our third stay at this hotel, and won't be our last. We have stayed on our way home from Myrtle Beach (our drive is 16 hours from Ontario, so we stay one night en route), and this time, we altered our driving plans to stay there on the way down, too. It did not disappoint us. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean, the breakfast was delicious (although perhaps a bit crowded), and the pool was nicely heated. We especially liked the beds and the duvet covers - very, very comfy. For being right on the highway, it was also very quiet. It sounds silly, but I also have to comment on the staircases. I often try to take the stairs instead of the elevator, and have seen some very dingy staircases. Not here - they are carpeted, clean, and wider than usual. That was incentive enough for the whole family to use them. We'll be back - in fact, we'll be back this Friday night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay ith us on your way to Myrtle Beach. You mentioned our comfortable beds and the duvets.We are currently changing our bedding to something new so I value your opinion and hope the next time you stay you would let me know what you think about the upgrade. We are alays trying to make our hotel better. Thanks and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here on a Thursday night in March 2014. The hotel wasn't overly crowded and we were able to walk in at 9pm and book a room. The decor was MUCH nicer than I've seen lately in hotels. There were cookies available and tea and coffee by a fireplace with couches to relax in. The pool and spa were amazing. Not to hot and not to cool. The breakfast was a HOT breakfast and the staff were great about keeping things refilled. I was extremely impressed with this hotel and we are already planning on stopping here again on our next trip. Thanks for a relaxing night!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I sounds like you were very impressed with our hotel and it decor. I hope everthing else was great during your stay. Were you able to sample our free hot breakfast? It is very good. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stopped halfway after a family vacation. Extremely clean and comfortable. Good hot breakfast buffet. Kids swam in the pool and we found it very clean. Updated rooms. Will definitely stop again, and got a great room rate with the coupon found at WVA Welcome Center! They're doing a great job at this hotel...

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I am so glad you took use of our coupons, It is a very good deal. Sounds like the kids enjoyed the indoor pool and I am sure they enjoyed the cookies. Please come back and see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Booked this thru trip advisor and I was listed as #1. Brand new hotel and perfect spot for us as we travel to Florida-right before the mountains.
Arrived around 10pm and the staff were great(March 6th). Great hotel, very clean and great breakfast.
We travelled with my mother in law so after 9 hours in the van it was time for a cold beer-trouble was I did not have any. When to check with the front desk and they introduced me to some guests at the hotel who shared a cold one with me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at the Country Inn and Suites in Princeton WV. From your post not only the staff is great but our guest are too. Sharing of a cold beverage. Doesn't get any nicer than that. Make sure to stop in and see us again. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This year we decided to try someplace a little further on from Beckley, WV on our way to Florida and we chose the Country Inn & Suites in Princeton, WV. There is consensus from the family that this is a hotel we would definitely return to and would drive the extra 1/2-hour to reach.

We received a warm welcome and a wonderful recommendation for dinner (see the reviews for Campestre) from the reception team. The room we booked was the 2 Queen Expanded Guest room and you can see that there is a bit more room between the foot of the beds and the wall. It's maybe 6-feet wider and feels much more spacious than other 2 Queen rooms we've had in other Country Inn & Suites properties.

This was a family vacation trip but we all brought our personal electronics so it was very nice to have a good size desk with many desk level outlets and a proper workstation chair with adjustable height and wheels.

Our teenaged sons enjoyed the pool, very warm, and the exercise room is adjacent with a window onto the pool. See the photo for the equipment - Elliptical, 2 x Treadmills, Universal weight machine and TV in the corner.

This was our 2nd Country Inn & Suites property and we were very pleased to see a better breakfast room with more tables and (I think) slightly better prepared food as well as attentive staff to replenish as needed. The fare was pretty much the usual, bacon and sausage rounds, scrambled eggs, hot and cold cereals, milk, juices & coffee, apples and bananas, biscuits, make your own waffles and a selection of breads and prepackaged sticky buns. I found the sausage a bit salty for my taste but still in the normal range of seasoning. As mentioned, typical fare but it seems just a bit better, maybe just a bit fresher or perhaps a little better prepared.

Overall we found the property well kept and run, and top notch for it's price bracket, we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Wow what a great time you had here at the Country Inn and Suites in Princeton WV. I am so glad to hear we are a keeper. If you loved the space of the queen deluxe room you should try our spacious two room queen suite. This will give you a little more privacy. Don't for get to sample the cookies in our lobby, Their great! Have a great day.

Gerard/Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our way traveling to Florida. We always try to stay at a Country Inn because the decor is so much like home. Our room was wonderful and extra clean, with a nice view overlooking nature. The front desk staff was great. Easy check-in and check-out. If you want what you pay for, this hotel is the place to go. Money well spent!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Country Inn in Princeton WV. I noticed you were from Florida me too. Please come back to stay with us again. I hope you had a chance to try out our indoor pool and hot tub as well as the free hot breakfast. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Address: 111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Princeton
Country Inn & Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.