We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our family's list of keepers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“On our family's list of keepers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This year we decided to try someplace a little further on from Beckley, WV on our way to Florida and we chose the Country Inn & Suites in Princeton, WV. There is consensus from the family that this is a hotel we would definitely return to and would drive the extra 1/2-hour to reach.

We received a warm welcome and a wonderful recommendation for dinner (see the reviews for Campestre) from the reception team. The room we booked was the 2 Queen Expanded Guest room and you can see that there is a bit more room between the foot of the beds and the wall. It's maybe 6-feet wider and feels much more spacious than other 2 Queen rooms we've had in other Country Inn & Suites properties.

This was a family vacation trip but we all brought our personal electronics so it was very nice to have a good size desk with many desk level outlets and a proper workstation chair with adjustable height and wheels.

Our teenaged sons enjoyed the pool, very warm, and the exercise room is adjacent with a window onto the pool. See the photo for the equipment - Elliptical, 2 x Treadmills, Universal weight machine and TV in the corner.

This was our 2nd Country Inn & Suites property and we were very pleased to see a better breakfast room with more tables and (I think) slightly better prepared food as well as attentive staff to replenish as needed. The fare was pretty much the usual, bacon and sausage rounds, scrambled eggs, hot and cold cereals, milk, juices & coffee, apples and bananas, biscuits, make your own waffles and a selection of breads and prepackaged sticky buns. I found the sausage a bit salty for my taste but still in the normal range of seasoning. As mentioned, typical fare but it seems just a bit better, maybe just a bit fresher or perhaps a little better prepared.

Overall we found the property well kept and run, and top notch for it's price bracket, we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Wow what a great time you had here at the Country Inn and Suites in Princeton WV. I am so glad to hear we are a keeper. If you loved the space of the queen deluxe room you should try our spacious two room queen suite. This will give you a little more privacy. Don't for get to sample the cookies in our lobby, Their great! Have a great day.

Gerard/Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    72
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
161
67
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our way traveling to Florida. We always try to stay at a Country Inn because the decor is so much like home. Our room was wonderful and extra clean, with a nice view overlooking nature. The front desk staff was great. Easy check-in and check-out. If you want what you pay for, this hotel is the place to go. Money well spent!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Country Inn in Princeton WV. I noticed you were from Florida me too. Please come back to stay with us again. I hope you had a chance to try out our indoor pool and hot tub as well as the free hot breakfast. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Princeton, WV on our way to visit family in Virginia on a Friday night in early February. We stayed on points and check-in was a breeze. I did not get the registration clerk's name, but he was very pleasant. He welcomed us as Carlton Club members, gave recommendations for restaurants nearby and explained the hotels amenities including the complimentary breakfast. The hotel seemed busy with week-end skiers and lots of kids in family and other groups, but we did not hear noise through walls and from the hallway. Breakfast was good and had variety. Considering the number of guests in the hotel the breakfast room was not crowded and was well maintained. The hotel's location is just off the freeway exit but not close enough to hear any road noise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for being a Carlson Club member and your kind words regarding your stay with us at the Country Inn in Princeton. We hope you will come back to see us again soon. Make sure to try out the hot tub on your next stay. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
GeneralManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a great hotel. Super clean and fresh. I've stayed in so many hotels, I don't care to count anymore, both mid and high-end for work and budget for family travel. with budget, you never know what you will get and we all know that "freshly remodeled" means so much more than whatever chain name is hung out there - some of the franchisees are crooks of course. Not so , this hotel. Everything was great , from the staff - super nice and helpful - to the breakfast - great variety (hey, it's a free hotel breakfast but they had everything), clean rooms, halls, and pool area. Just nice. great value for the money. 2 Q bed suite with pullout had plenty of room for a family of 6 (4 kids). 15 minutes from Winterplace - driving always a drag, but no hotels in Ghent. Plenty of restaurants within half mile, even Walmart and , yes, a Starbucks.

Room Tip: Our room was 214, second floor right next to elevator. Very Quiet and easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you had plenty of room in our spacious queen suites. They are great for kids. It sounds like you got to experience the indoor pool as well but you didn't mention the cookies. There the best. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed over the recent holiday weekend for skiing in WV. Hotel was in a convenient location, breakfast had a very nice selection and the staff were very helpful. We wiill definately stay again when in the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the location and our wonderful breakfast, I hope you had the chance to enjoy the free 24 hour cookies as well. Come back and see us again soon.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very nice, rooms were spacious, very clean, beds were comfortable, hotel was very quiet. Andrew at the front desk went out of his way to give us directions. Fresh cookies were delightful, breakfast was tasty. Overall, a great stay, highly recommened and I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and Andrew. We are very lucky to have him on our staff. Sounds like you were able to enjoy the cookies which might be everyones favorite about our hotel. Please come back and see us soon. I will be sure to pass your comments along to Andrew. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We only stayed one night but really, really, really would have loved to have stayed longer. The room we had was beautiful and large. The air conditioning was ducted so super quiet compared to so many other hotels where the compressor is behind the vent. Everything was just perfect and I'd highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello,

We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel. We too wish you could have stayed longer. Please come back and visit us again soon and next time maybe you will be able to stay longer. Thank you and have a great day.

Gerard Caron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
10.9 mi away
Quality Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton

Address: 111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Princeton
Country Inn & Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.