We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Princeton

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Princeton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Princeton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Princeton
Miamisburg
1 review
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First impression:clean and well kept. Front staff helpful and friendly for us arriving in late evening.Breakfast has a very nice selection to choose from. May of left item in room 9/27 did call back. Would appreciate more follow up on this from manager

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. We would be very happy to help you find the items you may have left behind. Could you please contact me so I can get more information. Thank you and have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    41
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
70
44
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just overnight here with friends, during a driving tour. Nice example of the Country Inn chain, which we have used extensively. We had no booking, but the price was very reasonable. Enjoyed the breakfast and the staff were fine. Don't bother eating at the nearby Shoney's though!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for using our brand. I do hope you are a Club Carlson member so you can earn your points for free night stays. We do strive to be one of the top hotels in the Carlson Chain. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It's a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was neat and clean. We really liked the heated indoor pool, we just wish it was bigger as it got a little crowded in the evening. The location is good, there are plenty of restaurants close by. Our only complaint would be that the walls are a little thin. We could easily hear our next door neighbors talking and plenty of door slamming out in the hallway. Luckily we always travel with a white noise generator to drown out excess noise. Breakfast was good in the morning, the sausage gravy was great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed the pool and I wish it was bigger also. Come back soon. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Our GPS had us going the wrong way after we got off the interstate but finally got there, service was great and hotel very clean, we had a great breakfast choice of food waffles, omlets, hot and cold cereals, fruit etc

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. I have heard the GPS is having problems finding our hotel. I have contacted google maps to try and rectify the problem. I hope you will come back and visit again soon. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was one of the nicest and cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in.It is nestled in the shenendoa mountains with beautiful views everyware you look.The service is great.The rooms are nice and clean and roomy.They have a free breakfast buffet every day.There is also coffee and fresh cookies in the lobby all day.Nice people and nice place to stay.Cant wait to try another in our travels.

Room Tip: WE got a suite for just a little more than a regular room because there was four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the mountain view. It is very beautiful this time of year. Please come back and visit us again. Have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We made an error in booking and actually arrived a day ahead of time, but that proved to be easily corrected. Front desk was split service: one, very nice and accommodating, the other not so much - bit dour and not smiling, but, take the good with the bad, they say. Had a room away from traffic and noise, great, large room and clean, comfortable. Other than a few "sandpaper towels." no negatives. Good location, easy to get to and relatively easy to get to restaurants.

Breakfast was about what you'd expect, the whole bit; these locations (CI&S) are upgrading to the Hampton Inn class and it is creating a better brand.

No problems encountered and would stay there again, if we ever travel this way again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms, in rear, away from traffic are super quiet and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

I am so glad we were able to make your stay with us a great experience. I will be sure to get with google maps to see if there is something we can do about the GPS problem. Thank you and have a great day.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast.
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having driven 12 hours towing a U-haul, we needed a decent night's sleep. After reading customer reviews we decided to take a chance on Country Inn. Brilliant decision !

This hotel is under-rated at 2.5 stars. We definitely give it three - worth every dime of the $115 rate. The location is excellent, less than half a mile off I-77

The hotel looks brand new. Gorgeous lobby with a lovely fireplace and a wooden staircase leading to the second floor. Dining room off to the left is furnished with pretty colonial décor.
Very friendly check-in at 12:30 a.m. and we were immediately directed to help ourselves to freshly baked cookies (3 kinds) which had come out of the oven two hours prior, as well as hot coffee, tea or cocoa. What a lovely welcome !

The indoor (heated) pool area (open till 11 p.m.) is sparkling clean and also has a nice size hot tub. The fitness room has precisely four pieces of new equipment and, when we went down to check it out, one of the staff was actually cleaning the equipment !

The room was perfect. Free internet was slow connecting, but then chugged along nicely. How thoughtful of the décor designer to provide a second chair at the desk so two people can use Wi-Fi simultaneously.

The bed was divine. Plenty of comfy pillows and more in the closet to suit your preferences. We had a room on the 3rd floor at the back, so it was very quiet. Room darkening blinds facilitate sweet dreams long past sunrise.

Furnishings are beautiful - kind of a contemporary country. And the mirrors ! Someone finally used his head here planning for mirrors. Great big mirror behind the bathroom sink is typical, but this hotel also a full length mirror on the bathroom door, so you can also view the back of your hair or your outfit. And there's another mirror over the mini-kitchen area.

The room also has a microwave and mini-refridge so you can keep your Half & Half from going bad and enjoy a good cup of coffee.

The bathroom has a large granite counter area and, get this ... a QUIET fan. You don't even know it's running, but it keeps the room from getting all steamed up when you shower. So pleasant when you're not in the mood for the roar of a bath fan upon awakening.

Free breakfast was a total surprise. We often don't bother to check out a hotel's free breakfast offering because they're typically stocked with inedible junk but, based on our very pleasant room experience, we decided to chance it.

The dining area was again sparkling clean. No dirty leftovers on the tables from previous diners, and the buffet area was spotless. The staff was delightful and helpful when we asked for directions to a local retailer.

Menu was biscuits and gravy, plain omelet and sausage (if you eat pork), REAL cooked oatmeal - not the instant stuff in the packet, real yogurt instead of yoplait cartons, and real, fresh chopped fruit salad instead of canned fruit cocktail. You can make your own waffle, and they serve real butter here instead of paint. There's also a small selection of pastries to appease a sweet tooth. The only minor complaint was too much salt in the plain omelet but hey, this is a FREE breakfast with edible food ! What a nice surprise.

This is a totally non-smoking hotel (no pets either), which we really appreciated. There was a bit of a smoke odor in the lobby upon checking in because two people were sitting on a bench outside smoking cigarettes. They might want to move that bench another twenty feet away from the doorway to prevent a negative first impression.

We will definitely stay here again when driving the north/south corridor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Princeton, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello,

I wanted to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and your stay. We strive to make every guest stay a perfect one and are so glad to hear that you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Gerard Caron/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Princeton

Address: 111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Princeton 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Princeton
Country Inn & Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.