We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Princeton

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Princeton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Princeton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Princeton
Clarksburg, WV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Hotel is beautiful & clean. Staff friendly, except for lady in charge of breakfast, she was very snippy because I had some difficulty operating the waffle machine. Great location. Right off I-77 and near lots of restaurants, gas station, etc. Nice & quiet. We were in town because of our sister having surgery in Princeton hospital & coming back to a beautiful, quiet, room really helped us get the rest we needed after a long trip and a long stay at the hospital. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone traveling to this area.

Room Tip: Use Expedia to get the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
45
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Good overnight short stay on our way to South Carolina. We stayed on a Sunday night, so the hotel was not busy at all. We didn't see any other guests during our stay except at the pool and breakfast the next morning. We didn't see much of the staff also, good or bad? Only staff we saw were the lady who checked us in (who gave us a kinda cold reception like we were bothering her) and the breakfast lady who was bright and cheerful.

Room was a nice standard size, with 2 double beds, plenty of room with a microwave and small fridge. Very clean. The pool was small but adequate for a brief swim for the kids. Plenty of towels next to the pool, and there's also a hot tub and a shower area. Although we didn't use it, there's also a nice and bright exercise room, with good equipment.

Breakfast had more variety than we expected, including eggs and bacon, when we only thought it would be continental. Cookies at the reception area was a hit with the kids.

Good location, with lots of chain restaurants within 5 minutes drive. Right off the highway for easy in and out. Good value overall for a budget stay. We got what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

We only spent one night here but would have happily stayed longer if we could. We received a warm welcome from Kelli and we really liked the added touch of the free cookies and daily newspaper.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had a great stay at the Country Inn and Suites. It was very clean and well taken care of. The rooms were very up to date and the breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Our family even took advantage of the lending library they had in the lobby. Their cookies and coffee were magnificent. It was nice and quiet, yet there were many restaurants to choose from across the highway. Chili's was our favorite. It was an excellent hotel and we would definitely stay again. We recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here on our way to Myrtle Beach and were very pleased. It is slightly more than we usually pay but worth the few extra dollars. The cookies at the check-in desk were a good start.
The rooms were spacious and clean, two queens, fridge, micorwave and desk area. The breakfast was a notch up with eggs (formed but good) biscuits and gravy as well as fresh fruit and fruit salad. The breakfast area was kept clean and well stocked during the busy morning. The lobby area was nice and comfortable as well.
We did have an issue with the door cards not working and the rockers on the porch were nice but overrun by smokers.

Room Tip: fourth floor is the top no noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala, fl
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Pros: Breakfast, comfy beds, decor, location
Cons:Staff, filthy rooms, horrible managers

Me & my family stayed there for a few days, only because all the other hotels were sold out. I hotel room was dirty with blood stains on the wall. We bought cleaning supplies to clean our own room. They didnt try to accomadate us for our room not being clean. The fridge was broken and we never got any clean sheets the whole time we were there. I could go on and on about all the problems we experienced. Also a few bugs crawling around hotel room. This hotel is not up to par to charge a 100+ a night, unless you dont mind paying for dirty places.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Princeton, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
General Manager has spoken with guest regarding her unsatisfactory stay. We strive to make every guest stay a pleasant one and I believe my staff did all they could to satify this guest in the three days they stayed here. After reviewing the complaint and inspecting the room I do not find that the complaint is just.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte,nc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My mother, 2 nephews and I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites for one night. We stayed at this hotel based on the reviews on this site. Unfortunately, our overall experience was not stellar, and I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The Hampton Inn is right down the highway in a very convenient location, on the "restaurants side" of Interstate 77. I've stayed there before and enjoyed my stay. But, here is my review of Country Inn & Suites:

Pros: Large clean rooms, relatively quiet, comfortable beds, large bathroom, free cookies.

Cons: Upon check in I had asked for extra towels, anticipating that my two nephews would be able to enjoy a swim in the indoor pool. The desk clerk said that they could only give us two extra towels and if we wanted more then we could "turn in a couple of used ones" and get more. I've never stayed in a hotel that asked that of their guests before. We ended up not needing them anyway as the pool was so over crowded that the kids couldn't even get in the pool - both the evening that we checked in and the next morning. Next, our keys didn't work in the door, so I went back down to have them reprogrammed. The front desk clerk said "That's just our standard procedure". Does that mean that every guest had to come back to the desk once they've gotten their keys and gone to their room? I sure hope not - since my Mom, nephews, and our bags were left waiting in the hall until I returned. The morning breakfast was a fiasco - no place to sit anywhere because we tried to find a place to just sit and wait our turn. People were everywhere trying to get to the food, which wasn't being restocked very well. We were going to just get drinks and go back to our room and wait, but we couldn't find any coffee at either coffee station, so we gave up. It was so uncomfortable that we left and went to Cracker Barrel to eat. It appears that the hotel staff, the lobby and the dining area aren't at all suited for or prepared to handle large groups of people. That is very unfortunate for a hotel.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnPrince, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Princeton, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Upon reading the guest complaint the General Manager would like to apologize that the guest feels their stay was not satisfactory. Regarding the towels at check in. Towels are furnished at the pool so therefore there is not a need to take your room towels to the pool. In regards to breakfast being busy. The hotel was completely sold out the night before and has a limited amount of seating in the breakfast area. We do provide trays so our guest may go back to their room and enjoy breakfast at the table that is provided in your room along with additional seating in your room for these busy days. Our hotel is a very popular spot in Princeton since we are the newest hotel on the exit. We do stay busy but strive to meet every guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Princeton

Address: 111 Halls Ridge Road, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Princeton
#1 Family Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Princeton 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Princeton
Country Inn & Suites Princeton Hotel Princeton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Princeton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.