We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular stop at comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ambrose Lane, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Princeton
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Regular stop at comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a late review, as we made this trip during the summer of 2012. We began a road trip across the US by traveling north from our home in Florida to drop off the dog. We stopped at the Comfort Inn in Princeton, WV as it has become our regular northbound stopover.
The staff was friendly and professional as always, and the rooms are comfortable and dog friendly.
On this trip large church group of teenagers were checking in just after us, however, even though they were around in groups, they were quiet and no problem during the evening.
The morning buffet was average, however the teenagers woke up and sort of took over the breakfast room, as they stayed to socialize after breakfast, occupying all of the tables.
Overall a good stay, as we have come to expect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
23
13
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is older and shows its' age in the furnishings and decor. However, everything was clean. The beds were fresh and comfortable. The bathroom, while small, was clean and more than adequate. The night desk clerk was not super knowledgeable, but the morning crew were great! Friendly and helpful. A hot breakfast is provided and is very good - waffles, sausage, eggs, etc. Very nice, especially for a "bargain" hotel. This hotel is a little cramped feeling - small lobby and breakfast area - but there is nothing really wrong with it. This is a fine hotel for an overnight stay or for a budget conscious traveler. I don't know that this would be my first choice of hotel in Princeton, but as we were stuck in stand still traffic on I77 for 2 hours, we were thankful to find a place to stay the night. I would stay here again if I needed to. Nothing over the top great, but certainly a fine place to spend a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your comments about our hotel. We are in the process of doing some renovations that will improve the guests experience at our hotel. I am so glad that your stay here was good and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Not the greatest hotel, a bit old and run down but nothing was wrong with the place. I wouldn't want to stay the week here, but for an overnight rest it's fine. Continental breakfast was average, service was good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value every comment and strive to meet the needs of our guests. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and each time it gets a little less desirable. First, there was a musty smell in the room...the last time I stayed there I encountered the same problem. At that time i requested a new room and was given one which was better but the hotel was booked up for the weekend so I did not bother.
When I tried to turn on the tv, the remote did not work so I called the front desk. I was told the remote batteries were probably low on power and I could get some more if I came to the front desk (this is definitely not good customer service).
Except for this one situation, the staff was helpful and courteous. The room was adequate but definitely needed a deep cleaning. The only reason I returned this time was because of their pet policy but I will probably find another hotel at my next visit (I come to Princeton/Bluefield several times a year).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was by far the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in. My room smelled like an old wet basement the walls were dirty and no one would answer the phone at the front desk. Several employees sat in front of the main entrance smoke creating a cloud of smoke to walk through to get out. Stay away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We have and will be making efforts to improve our property in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Princeton Comfort Inn on July 1st after driving 14 hours (thanks to traffic issues). My first thought when pulling in was that the motel was old looking. When I checked in the girl behind the desk was pleasant. When we went to the room, that is where my issues begin. When I sleep, I like the A/C on and cool. What I got instead was a timed A/C unit that left the room luke warm. Is the Obama's trying to regulate A/C too?? I actually slept on top of the covers. Next, the motel is supposed to offer WiFi. Well, not so much as it was spotty at best and was not conducive to work. When I checked out, they adjusted my bill some which I initially thought was nice considering that I (nor my fiance...still getting use to that) didn't sleep.

And one more kick in the pants. When I checked out, I paid with my debit card but they still charged the credit card I held the room with. I got charged twice and seven days later still waiting for the charge to be removed from my credit card.

Stay if you want as the room was clean, but I would definitely look for other options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

basic motel, convenient for 77 and near Applebees which had good food. rooms basic, couild do with a facelift but ok for 1 night. Beds ok, bathroom small but adequate, nice tv, spacious. Stairs could do with a good clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post comments on your recent stay at our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 136 Ambrose Lane, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Princeton
Comfort Inn Princeton
Princeton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.