We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ambrose Lane, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Princeton
NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and each time it gets a little less desirable. First, there was a musty smell in the room...the last time I stayed there I encountered the same problem. At that time i requested a new room and was given one which was better but the hotel was booked up for the weekend so I did not bother.
When I tried to turn on the tv, the remote did not work so I called the front desk. I was told the remote batteries were probably low on power and I could get some more if I came to the front desk (this is definitely not good customer service).
Except for this one situation, the staff was helpful and courteous. The room was adequate but definitely needed a deep cleaning. The only reason I returned this time was because of their pet policy but I will probably find another hotel at my next visit (I come to Princeton/Bluefield several times a year).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
23
13
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was by far the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in. My room smelled like an old wet basement the walls were dirty and no one would answer the phone at the front desk. Several employees sat in front of the main entrance smoke creating a cloud of smoke to walk through to get out. Stay away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We have and will be making efforts to improve our property in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Princeton hotels

West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Princeton Comfort Inn on July 1st after driving 14 hours (thanks to traffic issues). My first thought when pulling in was that the motel was old looking. When I checked in the girl behind the desk was pleasant. When we went to the room, that is where my issues begin. When I sleep, I like the A/C on and cool. What I got instead was a timed A/C unit that left the room luke warm. Is the Obama's trying to regulate A/C too?? I actually slept on top of the covers. Next, the motel is supposed to offer WiFi. Well, not so much as it was spotty at best and was not conducive to work. When I checked out, they adjusted my bill some which I initially thought was nice considering that I (nor my fiance...still getting use to that) didn't sleep.

And one more kick in the pants. When I checked out, I paid with my debit card but they still charged the credit card I held the room with. I got charged twice and seven days later still waiting for the charge to be removed from my credit card.

Stay if you want as the room was clean, but I would definitely look for other options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

basic motel, convenient for 77 and near Applebees which had good food. rooms basic, couild do with a facelift but ok for 1 night. Beds ok, bathroom small but adequate, nice tv, spacious. Stairs could do with a good clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post comments on your recent stay at our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Right by I-77 and as there was a diversion in effect right by the diversion as well. Nothing much to say about the place, clean, old, lousy Comfort Inn Pillows and the usual breakfast in a very small room (4 tables). Our room was right by the entrance 9see tips later) so we had the banging of car doors from new arrivals for quite a while after dinner. Also the usual creaks from above.

Staffwere polte but off hand, Ok for a travelling night but their prices (Comfort Inn in general that is) along with all the taxes are constantly going up and the value is going down.

Lots of restaurants within walking distance is one advantage.

Room Tip: Don't get Room 100, right next to the entrance with car doors banging all night and the ice mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. I was so happy to hear that you found your room clean and that the location of our hotel was convenient for your needs. Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good location off 77 . Okay breakfast. Stayed one night on the way to SC. Beds were hard as a rock. Could't hardly walk the next morning. My Sister said the same about her bed. We didn't use the showers. I guess tubs were clean but sure didn't look that way. Front doors and lobby was really dirty which should have told us something. Worst Comfort Inn I have stayed in. Needs updating bad........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. With your feedback we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide. I want to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

For the price, $84 a night, got what was expected. Rooms are average but clean. Breakfast was typical continental style, with waffle maker, fruit, Various breakfast bread options. Great location right off I-77. We appreciated the pet-friendly accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay! We are excited about some new changes coming our way and we look forward to your next visit. Please remember, if you need anything during your stay, let us know! Our goal is that you are comfortable and pleased. Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We’re committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 136 Ambrose Lane, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Princeton
Comfort Inn Princeton
Princeton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.