We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Ambrose Lane, Princeton, WV 24740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Princeton
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“staff very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

The rooms are very clean good housekeepers , very friendly front desk girl staff there is very very helpful i would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice have stayed here several times
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
23
13
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have had good experiences with Comfort Inn in the past. We got a great rate for $49, but the room had a stale smell, had mold on ceiling in bathroom, mold around tub and shower. Oh yea forgot to mention that at 2:00 in the morning there was a drug bust in the room next to ours with people fist fighting in the hall and screaming and yelling, only took cops 45 minutes to get there. By that time my whole family was awake. Not to mention there were two dogs barking the entire time. We were never offered any compensation for our trouble. Needless to say we wont be staying here again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Princeton hotels

darlwinn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stay in Princeton WV on our way home from Myrtle Beach. It is hard to find a good place, that is nice at a reasonable rate. I think motels in WV are expensive, so I booked in March at a reasonable price. The little town has lots of motels and eating places for just an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Book early - it might save you some money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

If you like smoking you will love this hotel. every room smells like smoke, the two non smoking room we had smelled like smoke.. The hotel is old and musty . The people were very friendly. the management does not know how to handle customers grieviences.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I was somewhat concerned by the previous reviews, but we were looking for a hotel in the Princeton area (arrived late and left early the next morning) en-route to a NC vacation. Although I thought the price was a little high, the accommodation met our needs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkoen, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. It is the Comfort Inn’s goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service and your comments are of the utmost importance to us. We are very pleased that you gave us the opportunity to meet your travel needs and look forward to your next visit to Princeton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We have used Choice Privileges hotels for years. This is by far the worst motel we have stayed in under the "Comfort Inn" brand name. The building is beat up. From the parking lot we could see canned food stacked in the window of a room. There must be people using the rooms as apartment rentals. The interior steps are crumbling, and there is not an elevator. Hallways were dirty and smoke filled. Our room was dirty; wallpaper peeling;dirt where the carpet and wall meet; dirty comforters; stained chairs. The breakfast area was also dirty. I felt unsafe at this hotel. There is a strip club nearby. I think this is the after hours place to go for their customers. Creepy and shameful for "Comfort Inn' to market it to loyal customers.We should have left, but it was very late and we were tired. It may be time to change to Holiday Inn Rewards program.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Thank you taking the time to let us know about your concerns on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very important to us. They enable us to target problem areas, and acquire the direction needed to reach our goals and meet your expectations. It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service. We are very sorry that we could not provide you with the service you deserve. I have investigated all of your issues and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have had. We do hope you will come and visit us again to experience our improved service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

I have over 15 years of experience working in the hospitality industry and have never been so disappointed in a "Comfort Inn". Since we traveling home we did not have a prior reservation since we were not sure how far we would travel during the day. We ended up in Princeton, WV in the last room available in this hotel. Let me start with first impressions, outside seemed fine, the lobby was messy and dirty but the one desk clerk had been working and reading (text books) and I am guessing it was not really her job to clean. Back entry area had a terrible odor, really bad and others entering were also commenting on it. OUR ROOM!!! Handicapped since it was the last available room, the carpets were very, very dirty and stained, we moved a chair to get more comfortable and found trash and food under the chair. The security lock on the door was broken, the handicap shower pipes were coming away from the shower wall which could have been a danger and the sink looked like it might come away from the wall as well. I travel a good deal and can tell when a hotel is well managed, this one is not. I filled out a maintenance request form in the morning and asked for it to be given to the manager, with my name and contact information if he wanted more details, I have not heard from anyone. I was afraid to visit the breakfast area. Apparently there are not enough rooms in this town so they do stay busy, but they should not be allowed to carry the COMFORT INN name, it puts Choice Hotels in a negative.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraInn, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! I would like to apologize regarding your recent stay at Comfort Inn in Princeton. It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in product and service to our guest. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. I have discussed your concerns with the staff and they all understand how unacceptable this type of service is. We hope that you will consider us again when your travels bring you back to the Princeton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 136 Ambrose Lane, Princeton, WV 24740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Princeton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Princeton
Comfort Inn Princeton
Princeton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.