We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit to the Lowe Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Point Pleasant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lowe Hotel
Save
You added The Lowe Hotel to your Saves list
Fourth and Main Streets, Point Pleasant, WV 25550   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Pleasant
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another great visit to the Lowe Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stopped in for an overnite stay. Ruth was behind the counter to greet us. We talked for awhile and were given our room keys and off we went to our rooms. We were lucky enough to have the suite on the 3rd floor over looking the river soo nice. The decor was more than we expected! We dopped off the luggage and went down to the bar for a drink and some good conversation. It was a great time as always.
The next morning we were greeted by Rush and fresh coffee. He told us about going 4 wheeling the day before and how much he enjoyed it. GO RUSH!! If you are ever interested in going to Point Pleasant for any events go to www.MasonCountyTourism.com and check out the calendar of events.
Thanks again Rush & Ruth we will return.
Ray & Rose NO. KY.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    33
    2
    3
    10
See reviews for
18
30
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We were coming back from Tennessee to go back home to Ohio & decided to stay last minute @ the hotel. Was the highlight of our trip... The owner Rush & his wife are wonderful people. The Hotel is so beautiful and so detailed., it truly was an experience. Ok it's not the four seasons but as far as experience & the people we met there.. Is really priceless. Just a really fun time looking @ all the detail & the great time we had just chatting & hearing the local stories... We are planning on going back soon. Please visit this Hotel.. It is something you just don't find anymore it really is a gem...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during the Mothman Festival. It was booked to capacity with ghost tours being held throughout the day. The owner and his wife were wonderful, wonderful hosts who are really in love with the history of the hotel and its town. The hotel appears to be a little 'dated' but that is all a part of it. If they upgraded everything to modern amenities it would lose its 'charm'. We enjoyed it the way that it was and will no doubt stay again if and when we go back to the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I decided to get away from the DC area this past week to tour the Metro Valley of West Virginia. We decide to stay a couple nights at the Lowe Hotel to check out the antique shops in the area and across the river in Ohio. The owners, Rush and Ruth, were very friendly telling us about the history of the hotel and the town. They also run a bar located on the first floor of the hotel which the town locals congregrate in the evenings (think episode of "Cheers") for drinks and conversation.
Now, by "historic" and "a step back in time" like some of the other reviews, the rooms do need some minor touch ups in paint, moulding, and plumbing, however, I feel this is what adds to the experience. I enjoyed it very much. If you get scared easily by the sounds of banging water pipes pumping hot water into the floor heater as the boiler comes alive early in the morning, you may want to move on. It is not ghosts as some past guests have reported.
My wife and I look forward to coming back to this hotel for another stay and buying a round for the locals at the bar.

Room Tip: My wife picked one of the jacuzzi rooms for our stay. We had a great time soaking in bubbles after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I would just like to say...The Lowe Hotel was simply beautiful. It was a step back in time. The hotel was decorated for Christmas with all the trimmings of an old fashioned holiday. A group of us went down last weekend and had a fantastic night. The owners were very friendly and courteous. We all enjoyed talking with them. They shared the history of the hotel which was simply awesome. I would recommend to anyone to spend an old fashioned weekend there. Not to mention the exciting ghostly sounds of the night. I can't wait to go back!!!!! The hotel is within walking distance to the beautifully painted flood wall on the Ohio river. It is a must see as well as all the shops.

Room Tip: We had a double room. There was plenty of room for 5 people and I slept like a baby... Each room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Was sight seeing in Point Pleasant, WV Walked into The Lowes Hotel I had once stayed there wanted to show my friends the wonderful historic building. There was a nice gentleman behind the counter, I asked if we could look around, he replied of course go right ahead. While walking through a VERY rude lady asked what we were doing, I explained we had asked to look around and was told it was ok. She proceeded to be rude yelling very loudly for a employee and telling us they were very busy cleaning we should leave. As we were making our way down the floors she found the employee she must have been yelling for she was very nasty and rude saying she could find someone else to work if she wasn't going to. She went to another lady there spoke about us and had her tell us to leave in so many words. I would highly recommend NOT to stay here if this lady is anyway a owner or is employed there. Shame really hope this lady doesn't bring this wonderful historic buliding down!

Room Tip: Stay some where else - till they fix their staff / owner problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I would like to confirm Ray & RoseDav review as we experienced same the following day.
We arrived approximately 8 pm Saturday night after attending Ohio U Homecoming in Athens.
Not only did Ruth and Rush greet us (2 couples) but their son took us to check out a number of rooms to satisfy our needs. We intended to stay on the Ohio side of the river but found out all motel rooms had been sold out due to the Bob Evans Farm Festival in Rio Grande.

After a good nights rest we ventured out to see the Ohio River and all the surroundings in the daylight. Boy were we suprised! Fantastic History lesson with all the statutes, floodwall murals,
riverfront amphitheater, Riverboat Museum and the MOTHMAN. This area is definitely a destination & not just a stop over. Remember this is history that you can relive and relax in a 110 year old hotel -THE LOWE with all its history of bygone days with no high tech influences.

By the way if you want good old fashion service and excellent food just walk two blocks up the
street and check out The Iron Gate Inn and dine in the House .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowe Hotel

Address: Fourth and Main Streets, Point Pleasant, WV 25550
Location: United States > West Virginia > Point Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Pleasant
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Lowe Hotel Point Pleasant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.