We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brandon's at Nostalgia Inn

Brandon's at Nostalgia Inn
HC 78 Box 513, Pipestem, WV 25979
(304)466-9110
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Pipestem
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Don't recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you want catering from Brandon’s get everything in writing, price and quality. I had eaten the pulled pork BBQ at a function and it was good. I talked with Brandon on the telephone to order the same for a reception I was hosting. Went I picked-up the food Brandon insisted that I had ordered more BBQ than I really had. The BBQ pork was not the same quality instead it was mostly fat. I was told by him that he made his own rolls and that they were about the size of hamburger rolls. I ordered 50, but when I got them to the reception I found they were small stale and crumbly dinner rolls. I believe they had been previously frozen. We ate without rolls and pitched the ones I had purchased. There also was a debate over how much he had quoted me for the rolls. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected and Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We entered right across from Pipestem resort and missed the turn to the restaurant. This sent us on a crazy drive through what looked like campers with home additions built right to them. We were a little concerned but have found great BBQ in a gas station in the past so we pressed on.

I'm glad we did. The restaurant itself is very well-kept. The menu is your standard BBQ fare and thatis eexactly what we were looking for. I had ribs and steak combo. The steak was a little under done but not so much that it was bad. The ribs were fantastic. Great flavor on the meat and the sauce was tasty. Service was also very good.

I'm really glad we found Brandon's. We did not want to drive much more and I couldn't stand the idea of eating in the resort restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I used to love Brandon's but my last visits have been awful and I haven't been there since. Food was undercooked and disguising, staff was ignorant and unknowledgable, and they didn't even have the heat on in the middle of December

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern WV, United States
1 review
“Great food you might not expect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have eaten there at least 5x in the last 7 mos. It's not fancy, basic wood furnishings but cute. We go back because the Bourbon steak is amazing!! Hot Crab & Artichoke dip is a must. I think the most important thing is consistency. Consistently good food & service, they have both. I have managed restaurants and ANYONE can have a bad night and I don't think that deserves criticism.

It is a bit pricey, over $100 for 6 of us, but as an occasional dine-out, it's great. Their carryout is good too, we get burgers.

I would definitely recommend this over the restaurant in the lodge at the park.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipestem, West Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Some of the best bar-b-que”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Delicious food always, prices reasonable. Comfortable atmosphere. Parking isn't the greatest; crowded most of the time. Waiting staff could improve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandon's at Nostalgia Inn also viewed

 

Been to Brandon's at Nostalgia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandon's at Nostalgia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.