We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to do if it is raining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pipestem State Park

Pipestem State Park
Pipestem, WV
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Pipestem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 4,000-acre park that offers accommodations and campgrounds.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not much to do if it is raining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just wanted to check it out, as Princeton was our half way stop over night spot on our way to South Carolina. It was raining, so we didn't really get to enjoy the park. We checked out the tram, we didn't do it because it was raining, but looked good. We arrived at about 8am and the vending area was open so it was a safe place away from the rain to check out the view. We also stopped and checked out a new scenic look out. Great view. I would rec'd camping here if you stay in a cabin because they are spaced out so much... seems like it would be great. Nice new-looking play area. It was worth the 11 mile drive to see the view, even though we spent less than 30 min. Maybe we can go back...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    30
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great State Park in W Va”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Met our RV friends from KY at Pipestem State Campground in Pipestem, W VA. It is well kept, great bathhouses, friendly, helpful staff. Grounds are well maintained and there is enough to do right there in the park itself. Good hiking and exploring. Fun to take the tram to the Lodge and back. Beautiful views, lots of deer roaming about, horseback riding and a lovely lake for canoeing. There is even miniature golf and a pool. .

The restaurant at the Cedar Lodge is quite expensive and though we would have liked to dine there, it was just too pricey. We sufficed with walking the grounds and riding the tram. Good gift shop at the top.

The only real complaint was the noise from the septic system which sat just below our campsite. We were only there for a few nights so we put up with it but I would definitely request a site away from that area. Our site was #24 and I am sure the campsites to our immediate right and left were also affected by the noise.

There are some antiques shops in the area, Sandstone Falls (worth seeing) and a wonderful custard place named Berkshires--the best custard I have had in a long time! Highly recommend it. We do plan to return for the fall foliage because all in all we found it to be a good experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, Sc
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful and plenty to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been to this State Park several times and have yet to be disappointed. There is so much that you can do. There are a number of hiking trails that are designed for beginner to advanced. The resort is beautiful and there are a number of cabins as well. We stayed in the cabins one time which are fully equipped. The last time we stayed in the campground which is well designed with plenty of space and good facilities. There is an 18 hole golf course at the park as well as an outdoor Frisbee course, a miniature golf course, archery, horseback riding, an outdoor pool and an indoor heated pool and gym within the resort. There are a couple restaurants and a sky tram that takes you up and down the mountain. A very reclusive hotel accommodations are at the bottom running alongside the Bluestone River. A must place to visit!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only had a couple of hours to spend at the park. We took the tram down to the creek and walked the rocks along the edge of the water. It was absolutely gorgeous! We even came very close to a deer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pipestem WV State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Probably one of the nicest State Parks you're going to find, and little known outside WV. Huge facility with swimming, horseback riding, golf, miles of trails and many other activities. Very reasonably priced lodge with nice rooms and good meals that sits above a 1000+ food drop to the Bluestone River and spectacular views over the mountains. Chairlift ride takes you down into the gorge and another restaurant. From gorge view rooms you wake up to see deer and other wildlife in the yard beneath your balcony.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipestem State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pipestem State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipestem State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.