We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Ordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge
3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Out of the Ordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed in the Mountain Creek Lodge at the bottom of the mountain. There is an aerial tram to take you to the bottom. The food in the Mountain Creek Restaurant is excellent. I wish they served breakfast. We rode the tram up to McKeever lodge for breakfast - fairly ordinary food on the breakfast buffet and since we don't eat all that much, we ordered from the menu for about half the price of the buffet (which was not unreasonably priced at all.) I can't say enough good things about the service and food at the Mountain Creek Lodge, though. We ate there four nights and everything was wonderful. We wanted to play both the short and long golf courses but since it rained one day, we only played the long course. Scenic views and deer everywhere. The course itself was fine. (If you're really picky about turf you might get upset that there's clover growing in some of the fairways - but it's still lush and easy to hit the ball. No dead spots anywhere.) Food in Mulligans (at the golf course) wasn't fantastic but then again it's a golf course snack bar. We'd definitely go back here again. We had trouble with the wifi and they were never able to fix it so we had to go to the restaurant or up to the main lodge to get our stuff to work. But that's the only draw back.

Room Tip: A room closer to the restaurant (ours was as far away as you could get) might have had working wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    59
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
61
55
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our check-in clerk was very friendly and helpful and gave us a senior discount. We stayed two nights at the Mt. Creek Lodge at the bottom of their gondola ride. If you have trouble walking or climbing stairs, I would not recommend the Mt. Creek Lodge. The ride down in the 4-person gondola was a thrilling way to start our visit. The lower part of the park had a small playground, volleyball net, swings, horseshoe pitching stakes, a restaurant, small gift shop, grill, picnic tables and benches overlooking the creek and lots of hiking trail options. They have a nice shallow, quiet creek area and a beach that would have been a great place for little ones to do some wading/swimming, had it not been for the "No Swimming" sign. There was a deep hole just after the rapids which seems to this non-fisherman like it would be a great place to work on your fly fishing technique. Our ground-floor room was well equipped with a large flat screen LG television, microwave, apartment refrigerator/freezer and a either on or off air conditioner (no adjustment) which quickly cooled the room. The firm bed was perfect for my wife but a little too firm for me. The next morning, we took a walk down beside the creek and took the left turn up the Farley Loop trail. The loop was classified as their "most rugged" trail and the climb up was a bit hard for a couple of seniors. We kept searching for the Raven Rock Overlook mentioned in the brochure. We enjoyed being on the loop during the raspberry season and had our fill of their deliciousness. We took a few wrong turns which turned their 3 mile trail into about 5 miles, but finally found the right path. We enjoyed the log cabin up at the top and even saw the Farley cemetery. However, the hardest part of the loop was yet to come. The path down from the cabin was VERY steep and slippery and quite a challenge. About a quarter of the way down, we finally located the overlook with cliffs on both sides. Had we started up that way, we probably would have turned back. We were beat and out of water after our 5 hour adventure and very happy to have cold drinks and a nice shower to climb into. That night, we were thrilled to see a deer enjoying crab apples a few yards beyond our balcony. It was a very enjoyable stay and would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: If you are bringing heavy bags, know there are some stairs to deal with and a room on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in Mountain Creek Lodge, and we knew the rooms in Mountain Creek would have a refrigerator and a microwave. After bringing our luggage down the tram, we made an extra trip to bring to contents of a cooler from the car. We made simple breakfasts (oatmeal with pre-cooked sausage, scrambled eggs with cheese) and ate them on the balcony with our morning coffee. We had cold picnic lunches outside, and brought down charcoal and burgers to grill one night. (We also had some wonderful dinners at the Mountain Creek Lodge.)
The balcony on our room had a beautiful view of river, and there were rarely more than a handful of people in view. I stayed on the balcony on T and Th afternoons while the tram was being serviced, and it was like having the park to myself. I loved the shady trail along the river.
I wanted a vacation to just sit and read, and I got that. My in-laws tried out the RC car track, played miniature golf, went on hikes and went to naturalist talks. The afternoon it rained, we played cards together, and after dinner we would play shuffleboard or skip rocks. For most of the week, we were unplugged from our tablets and phones, though we could visit the public rooms by the restaurant for a wifi fix in an emergency.

Room Tip: There's a playground in front of the building nearest the tram which might not be for everyone s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

When i heard we were having a family reunion here i was a little put off by the photos online of the resort as a whole. Once we arrived I soon realized that it is run by good hard working people and is well maintained considering its age.

The checkin process was simple and quickly as well as insightful.

The rooms are definately older but clean - i would strongly recommend the suites, for a little more money they offer tremendous more room.

The pool inside was very useful to be able to have and was manned by life guards our entire trip.

Now for the food, well it was excellent - i did not order the buffet and always from the menu, we ate their 3 nights and i was so shocked at how tasty and well prepared all of the food was.

The service in the restaurant is very very very slow for dinner, to be prepared, not that there is much else to do there at night.

Good place to go!

Room Tip: Suites are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed one night on way to Richmond va. Called hotel directly and asked for room with gorge view. Room was clean with great view. Also stated we planned to take the cable car to the restaurant at the bottom for dinner. When we arrived we found out the tram was down for scheduled work, wish we had been informed. The hiking was good the views great. A good stopover if you need one.

Room Tip: Call hotel directly to get room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mountain Creek Lodge at the bottom of the gorge. The scenery was great, the service generally good, and the room was fine. There is a lot to do in the area (we really liked the hiking trails and wildlife). But there was a big disappointment for us. There is no food service during the day. On a previous trip there, we found a nice breakfast service and a very nice dinner service near our room. On our latest trip, there was no breakfast offered, even though it was listed in their brochure. We were told that we could get food from a vending machine and heat it in a microwave (it was bad, with only variations of frozen sausage offered) or we could bring in our own food. To get real breakfast food, you had to ride the tram to the top, drive several miles to the upper lodge, and eat there (where the service is REALLY slow). Then you had to drive back the tram station, and ride the tram back down. This could easily take a couple of hours out of your vacation time. You had to repeat the process for lunch. At dinner time you can eat at the lower lodge... the food is good but very expensive. If you want to spend all your time at the bottom, be sure to take plenty of food along! You have to carry it down on the tram and also need to carry utensils and other food supplies in and back out. A number of reviewers have suggested eating off site (outside of the park). That's OK, but it is supposed to be a "resort park" with all needs right there. You shouldn't have to work so hard!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise be sure to get a room away from the tram stop. It runs until well int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here as a close getaway during the week of July 4th. Although the rooms were a bit small, and the rooms and property were a bit outdated, the property was clean and the balcony view made up for the "tiredness" of the property. There was plenty to do here with our family: hike, take the sky tram down to the creek, fish, golf (both 18-hole championship course, and 9-hole par 3 course), observe nature, use the game/arcade room, swim, etc. We did not get to do all that was offered. The best part was that the park and the lodge were not crowded at all. It was very quiet during the evenings on our balcony while we watched the sun set.

An added bonus was the on-site restaurant. The food was surprisingly good and was also reasonably priced. They even allowed us to bring our own bottle of wine to dinner and uncorked it for us without a corkage fee. One thing I would recommend is to bring your own ice chest with your drinks as there are no refrigerators in the rooms. And, the nearest town is at least a 15-minute drive from the lodge.

Room Tip: Stay at the McKeever Lodge and DO get the balcony "gorge" view! The 4th floor is the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge

Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Location: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.