We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Creek Lodge is like camping, with a bed and air-conditioning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge
3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Marysville, OH
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mountain Creek Lodge is like camping, with a bed and air-conditioning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in Mountain Creek Lodge, and we knew the rooms in Mountain Creek would have a refrigerator and a microwave. After bringing our luggage down the tram, we made an extra trip to bring to contents of a cooler from the car. We made simple breakfasts (oatmeal with pre-cooked sausage, scrambled eggs with cheese) and ate them on the balcony with our morning coffee. We had cold picnic lunches outside, and brought down charcoal and burgers to grill one night. (We also had some wonderful dinners at the Mountain Creek Lodge.)
The balcony on our room had a beautiful view of river, and there were rarely more than a handful of people in view. I stayed on the balcony on T and Th afternoons while the tram was being serviced, and it was like having the park to myself. I loved the shady trail along the river.
I wanted a vacation to just sit and read, and I got that. My in-laws tried out the RC car track, played miniature golf, went on hikes and went to naturalist talks. The afternoon it rained, we played cards together, and after dinner we would play shuffleboard or skip rocks. For most of the week, we were unplugged from our tablets and phones, though we could visit the public rooms by the restaurant for a wifi fix in an emergency.

Room Tip: There's a playground in front of the building nearest the tram which might not be for everyone s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    57
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
60
51
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
miami, fl
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

When i heard we were having a family reunion here i was a little put off by the photos online of the resort as a whole. Once we arrived I soon realized that it is run by good hard working people and is well maintained considering its age.

The checkin process was simple and quickly as well as insightful.

The rooms are definately older but clean - i would strongly recommend the suites, for a little more money they offer tremendous more room.

The pool inside was very useful to be able to have and was manned by life guards our entire trip.

Now for the food, well it was excellent - i did not order the buffet and always from the menu, we ate their 3 nights and i was so shocked at how tasty and well prepared all of the food was.

The service in the restaurant is very very very slow for dinner, to be prepared, not that there is much else to do there at night.

Good place to go!

Room Tip: Suites are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed one night on way to Richmond va. Called hotel directly and asked for room with gorge view. Room was clean with great view. Also stated we planned to take the cable car to the restaurant at the bottom for dinner. When we arrived we found out the tram was down for scheduled work, wish we had been informed. The hiking was good the views great. A good stopover if you need one.

Room Tip: Call hotel directly to get room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mountain Creek Lodge at the bottom of the gorge. The scenery was great, the service generally good, and the room was fine. There is a lot to do in the area (we really liked the hiking trails and wildlife). But there was a big disappointment for us. There is no food service during the day. On a previous trip there, we found a nice breakfast service and a very nice dinner service near our room. On our latest trip, there was no breakfast offered, even though it was listed in their brochure. We were told that we could get food from a vending machine and heat it in a microwave (it was bad, with only variations of frozen sausage offered) or we could bring in our own food. To get real breakfast food, you had to ride the tram to the top, drive several miles to the upper lodge, and eat there (where the service is REALLY slow). Then you had to drive back the tram station, and ride the tram back down. This could easily take a couple of hours out of your vacation time. You had to repeat the process for lunch. At dinner time you can eat at the lower lodge... the food is good but very expensive. If you want to spend all your time at the bottom, be sure to take plenty of food along! You have to carry it down on the tram and also need to carry utensils and other food supplies in and back out. A number of reviewers have suggested eating off site (outside of the park). That's OK, but it is supposed to be a "resort park" with all needs right there. You shouldn't have to work so hard!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise be sure to get a room away from the tram stop. It runs until well int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here as a close getaway during the week of July 4th. Although the rooms were a bit small, and the rooms and property were a bit outdated, the property was clean and the balcony view made up for the "tiredness" of the property. There was plenty to do here with our family: hike, take the sky tram down to the creek, fish, golf (both 18-hole championship course, and 9-hole par 3 course), observe nature, use the game/arcade room, swim, etc. We did not get to do all that was offered. The best part was that the park and the lodge were not crowded at all. It was very quiet during the evenings on our balcony while we watched the sun set.

An added bonus was the on-site restaurant. The food was surprisingly good and was also reasonably priced. They even allowed us to bring our own bottle of wine to dinner and uncorked it for us without a corkage fee. One thing I would recommend is to bring your own ice chest with your drinks as there are no refrigerators in the rooms. And, the nearest town is at least a 15-minute drive from the lodge.

Room Tip: Stay at the McKeever Lodge and DO get the balcony "gorge" view! The 4th floor is the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have been coming very years now for a family reunion. Unfortunately, this year was not an ideal stay. The air conditioner was broken for almost the entire trip - over the July 4th holiday. One of the room doors kept breaking and the door had to be taken off the hinges to gain entry. The handicap lift broke and I have a wheelchair bound daughter. Earwigs were everywhere. The food was not very good and over priced. The sliding glass door was broken and we could not shut it which meant it could not be locked. It has a lot of potential but definitely needs to be updated and some remodeling done.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The view is breath taking. The hotel is outdated. Needs new carpet, new beds and bedding, new towels, and spells like old mold. There were bugs in the bathroom. The sliding glass doors and windows hadn't been cleaned in a while, it had hand prints all over them. The food is way over priced and not very good. Staff was not very friendly at the hotel. Staff for the tram was nice. We were staying for our anniversary at Mountain Creek on July 4th. We were told it had a free breakfast but they don't, the woman at the desk said if we wanted breakfast we had a fridge and microwave in room, we should have brought some.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge

Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Location: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.