We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible fall scenery from our room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge
3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pipestem
Roanoke
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible fall scenery from our room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in McKeever and had a room with a great view of the gorge through a full wall of windows and balcony. Beds were not the most comfortable but rooms were clean and well kept. Food was expensive and not all that great at the Lodge. (we took our own breakfast and lunch foods) We did eat at Mountain Creek at the bottom of the gorge (rode a tram down) and that food was excellent...just pricey. The lodge is beautiful with heated swimming pool, game room, reading room and gorgeous views. We felt that the room cost was reasonable. Staff was friendly and helpful. We did a lot of hiking on the many trails all around the park. Deer were abundant but we also saw a fox and bald eagles. This is a place to come and enjoy outdoor activities or else just sit and relax and enjoy nature. At night the sky is filled with stars if you get away from the lodge. One other thing, if you are a light sleeper, bring a white noise machine or ear plugs as doors slamming in the halls can be quite loud.

Room Tip: gorge view at McKeever!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
48
45
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This review is for the campground. Very woodsy which we love, paved roads and paved pads with fire rings BUT the sites are very unlevel. Had we not had boards we would have been way off the ground on one side. Saw plenty of other campers also that way. Close to other points of interest also. Road the tram down to the bottom which was nice and visited Sandstone falls. We camped in motor home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed in September. Great lodge and many activities.
However, we had three of the worst meals ever, and poor food service.

You may want to visit, but take your own food or eat out of the park.

You can enjoy hiking, golf, swimming, and other activities. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Front is friendly and helpful. Nature park ranger gave us an excellent overview of the park, its history and wildlife.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a very brief but lovely stay at the Pipestem Resort. We chose to stay in one of the cottages for the extra space (they have 2-4 bedrooms plus a kitchen). The cottages are certainly nothing pretty to look at and are dated, but are also very cozy, clean, and affordable. It appears that they do allow smoking in the cottages, if that might be a concern for you. The cottage includes an outdoor picnic table, charcoal grill, back deck, and firewood for the fireplace. We were very impressed by the staff who were very kind, helpful, and accommodating when we had to leave earlier than expected. The grounds were well maintained and clean.

The scenery is beautiful and deer roam around the park freely. There are several activities and sights on the grounds to keep everyone busy.

If you are looking for a secluded getaway surrounded by nature, this place is for you! Don't expect anything fancy or modern, but for the price and the available activities you'll have a great time!

Room Tip: chose a cottage for extra space and seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

When making reservations, make sure you pick Mountain Creek Lodge and not McKeever. Mountain Creek is at the bottom of the Bluestone River Gorge and can only be reached by the 3600 foot long aerial tram. The rooms are nothing to write home about but you can't get much more remote. Plan on deer watching everywhere you look. Cell phone reception is "iffy"... my wife was able to text but not talk on her Verizon network. The restaurant at Mountain Creek seems a bit high priced for what they were offering so we elected to eat at the McKeever one located on the 7th floor of the facility. It was okay but next time I think we'll try something outside the park. We only stayed one night but look forward to bring the grandchildren next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We make regular pilgrimages to this restaurant.

Ok, we didn't get married here, but we did have our rehearsal and wedding dinner here, at a few tables in the restaurant. The chef, at that time was amazing - very accommodating. 'Heard he used to work at the Greenbrier....wouldn't be surprised! The food was excellent...this place is a little gem in the area. We all stayed at the lower lodge, and you could see guests arriving on the aerial tram - how groovy is that?

What an idyllic place - peaceful and beautiful. To enjoy an intimate and warm (and delicious) meal with good friends or family - who could ask for more?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We understand this is a State property and funds are not always available for improvements. We stayed at the McKeever Lodge. They have made some nice updates since our last visit several years ago (tile floor in bathroom and new carpet in room, some of the furniture appears to be of the same set). The sink in the bathroom is attached to the wall with very little space to place your toiletries. We couldn't seem to get enough light to see well in the room, despite at least four lamps (perhaps low wattage bulbs to save money?). Overall, the room was average - they could lose the quilted bedspreads. We stayed two nights and were quite surprised that housekeeping did not make our bed when they serviced our room after the first night. Leeann at check-in was a surly person who got us off to a bad start with her nastiness and lack of knowledge (among other things, she prints the weather forecast and places it on the counter for guests to see - but she commented that she doesn't even look at it). Nathan - one of the Park Rangers was a delight, making recommendations and checking on the safety of crossing the river. The paddleboat was a nice change of pace and provided nice solitude.

Room Tip: If you want a King bed (but do not want the suite), you will have a view of the parking lot. Accord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge

Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Location: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pipestem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.