We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking scenery of mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge
3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Tazewell, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery of mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pipe Stem Resort is a get away from the busyness of towns and cities. Lovely grounds, deer everywhere! Rooms are a little outdated, but clean. Cabins are cozy, and amongst the trees and wildlife. Restaurants are all right, nothing outstanding, however there is a restaurant nearby with great cuisine and ambiance for the most discriminating patron. Yes, we will return as it is a place of lots of activities: horseback riding, golf, swimming, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    58
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
60
53
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pipestem is not a "luxury" resort, but that's what makes it special. It's a gorgeous setting in the mountains, and they've let the scenery do the work. Simple wooden signs guide you through the park. Basic rooms are "upgraded" by the spectacular views of the gorge. There's golf and swimming, but don't go expecting luxury. It's an amazingly affordable destination because they don't cater to a high-maintenance crowd. Go if you like to hike, like great views, and don't mind a bit of a rustic feel. It's a real gem.

Room Tip: Ask for "gorge view" when you reserve, and try to get the highest floor up you can. The vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I found this resort while looking for a halfway point between Ohio (where my husband is working) and SC (where we live). I wanted a hotel near a golf course. My husband and I agree, this was one of our luckiest finds. This resort was more than we hoped for. The room was clean, the view was amazing and the price was remarkable. $99 for a gorge view with a senior discount to boot! The 18 hole golf course was in perfect condition. The 9 hole Par 3 was challenging (most holes were at least 200 yds.) and in perfect condition. The greens on both courses were better than most Country Club courses I've played. There is a club house and carts available at both courses.

There is an indoor and an outdoor pool. At McKeever Lodge, where we stayed, there is a game room that includes billiards, ping pong, shuffle board, video games and a photo booth. There is an exercise room and saunas. There's a main dining room with buffet and fixed menu choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There's even a reading nook with a coffee/cappuccino machine.

Have I mentioned how wonderful this resort is? And, the staff was friendly and attentive. Whatever I've forgotten to mention, it's there. A beautiful tram ride across the Gorge takes you to a gourmet restaurant overlooking a running mountain stream where there is also fishing. While we were there, there was a Gospel music performance at the amphitheater. Did I mention horseback riding and archery? And, lots of walking/hiking trails.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Gorge at McKeever Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cottages last week and enjoyed every second! It was clean, remodeled and even had firewood waiting for us. We got take out from the lodge and really enjoyed the food. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I went back to Pipestem Resort last weekend after 30 years and can tell you that the reason to go hasn't changed .... fabulous view, nice staff and an opportunity to rest and relax. It's a good place to hold a meeting as well which is why I went: state convention of Lions International. My original visits were when the resort was fairly new so you'll have to overlook the small baths, vestiges of age ... but everything was clean, food was good and the view ... did I tell you about the view and being back to nature? Not that I'm a nature kinda guy. I'm more of a Marriott dude ... so if you are, note that you can stay in the lodge for the hotel feel but yet step out into many wilderness adventures (which I naturally didn't partake of) ... and very reasonably priced. Fact is, I've even thought of dropping by some weekend just for the heck of it ... who knows. Overall, I was very pleased to reacquaint myself with this really cool place in the mountains. Try it.

Room Tip: The lodge is built on the side of a mountain so you enter the lobby on the 5th floor. A 1st floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goode, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have had the pleasure of going to Pipestem for the past 20 years. The views are tremendous, the people are fantastic and we have made many friends with them. The food is not great but doable and if you don't like it, go to Brandon's BBQ or the Dairy Queen in Hinton or New River Valley Kitchen down below Dairy Queen. As far as the rooms, they are remodeling and are doing a good job. Our recent stay (May 24th-27th) was very nice, room was updated and comfortable. The bathrooms are small, but they always have been and we have managed. They serve the purpose. Yes the kids (mainly) make noise as they run down the halls, but they are having fun and are outside playing instead of holed up playing video games. Its used to sleep because there are way too many great things to be doing outside. If you want a Ritz Charlton hotel, go to Ritz Charlton. If you want simple yet practical, come to Pipestem. Look forward to my next stay in Auguest.

Room Tip: Gorge view for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our first trip to Pipestem, specifically the Mountain Creek Lodge, probably won't be our last. We met friends from VA and SC (our home is OH). The views and hiking were wonderful. The staff excellent. The restaurant at the Mountain Creek level was very good. A meal at McKeever was less than special (but not horrible; just really slow). The walls are paper thin. Even easy sleepers need to pack earplugs. A day trip to the New River Gorge area was really fun. We would recommend Ace's zip line or the Bridgewalk!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge

Address: 3405 Pipestem Drive, Pipestem, WV 25979
Location: United States > West Virginia > Pipestem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pipestem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipestem Resort State Park Hotel Pipestem
Pipestem Hotel State Park
State Park Resort Pipestem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.