We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandma's home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
215 Dawn Lane, PO Box 485, Petersburg, WV 26847   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Petersburg B&B and Inns
Mansfield, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Grandma's home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What an awesome place! The scenery around was just amazing. Quiet countryside with cows grazing lazily in the meadows - just like a scene out of an English folk tale. As we drove in we were welcomed by Geri and Calamity, the house cat. We stayed at the Go Ahead Inn and it was just perfect. The bedding was good and so were the amenities. The morning breakfast on the first day was a rustic tomato pie which tasted great. Served with Orange juice and a fruit platter, the breakfast was very filling and off we went for a drive to Blackwater Falls.

Later that evening we sat outside the cabin under the night sky and it was very relaxing. The following morning we stuffed ourselves with Geri's famous crepes. We sat with all the other guests in one big table and had a nice time talking with all of them. In fact all of us had such a good time that it was almost 11 AM when we got off the dining table.

Ed and Geri were great hosts - very caring and warm. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the "Go Ahead Inn", the cottage about 100 feet from the main house. This is where innkeepers Ed & Geri lived themselves for a time being, so it is more than spacious for two people to spend a weekend (and comes with a full fridge). The bed is soft, shower hot and TV gets more channels than most B&Bs.

But what was so relaxing wasn't the accommodations, it was the fact that Ed & Geri really welcome you into the family during your stay. My wife and I spent quite a bit of time in the main house and were frequently offered cookies or coffee. I got to spend some time reading on the back porch of the main house as well, taking in the view of the valley and surrounding hills. The tranquility was just, so nice.

We hope to return again soon! Thanks again, Ed & Geri!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed three nights in the Sweet Country Suite room. It is attached to the house, but has a separate entrance and a sitting room with lots of windows showing great views of the mountains and valley. The breakfasts were delicious, well prepared and served. Crepes are Geri's specialty. Ed and Geri provided excellent hospitality as well as area maps designating local shops, attractions and restaurants. We felt very welcome there and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tranquility
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

While we did not have an overnight stay at Breath of Heaven B & B we did visit. We were at another facility during the June 2012 storms which knocked out power to most of West Virginia. Petersburg and Breath of Heaven had power restored several days prior to where we were at the North Fork Mountain Lodge. When the owners learned that there were guests at North Fork who were washing with bottled water we were invited to there B&B for showers and hot coffee. While there we were given a tour of this beautiful home that shows every room decorated with love.

Room Tip: There is a private cabin if you do not which to stay in the main home
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a great time at Breath of Heaven. Geri and Ed were wonderful and attentive hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and artfully prepared. The best food for miles around no question about it! The rooms were quite, clean, and comfortable. You can tell that they have high standards of cleanliness, professionalism, and service. Plus their place has great a techo-set up: HD TVs, PS3, Wii, and a DVD library. The location is very convenient to check out the local sites: hiking, rock climbing, caverns, and more. We would not hesitate to stay here and again and give our highest recommendations. They are very welcoming and made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Shannon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our stay at the Breath of Heaven bed and breakfast was a wonderful experience. Geri and Ed went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We stayed in the suite, and it was a great choice. The amenities were perfect for us - Satellite tv, desk, table and chairs, day bed, refrigerator, and plenty of room in the bathroom. Breakfast was outstanding, Geri's crepes are delicious! The location is very close to Smoke Hole Caverns, and not that far from Seneca Rocks, Spruce Knob and Canaan Valley. Thank you Geri and Ed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We absolutely loved this place. We booked at the last minute and Ed and Geri went above and beyond to accommodate us. The location was beautiful our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. We were so sorry we could only stay for 1 night.
We most certainly will return for some nice relaxing weekends

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast

Address: 215 Dawn Lane, PO Box 485, Petersburg, WV 26847
Location: United States > West Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Petersburg
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer three in-house room, and attached Suite and one cottage, all private baths and full breakfast and use of hot tub. We are none smoking. Sorry, no pets (we have one cat). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.