We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly to newcomers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paw Paw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon Resort
Save
You added Avalon Resort to your Saves list
223 Avalon Lane, Paw Paw, WV 25434   |  
Hotel amenities
DC
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unfriendly to newcomers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I came to Avalon with two friends, and we arrived relatively late (6pm). There was no one around to tell us where we were staying. We couldn't look up our reservation because there was no cell or internet service. And when someone from the resort finally came to check on us, the first thing they said was "What are you DOING here?".

After a long day, I was looking forward to putting some ice in my bourbon and sitting in the hot tub. Unfortunately, the hot tub isn't open except on weekends. And there's no ice anywhere. And no coffee in the morning.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Avalon together in August. I had been a few times previously, once for camping along with a few day visits, and I really wanted to share with her the wonderful experiences I had there. The atmosphere is very friendly and completely relaxing. The facilities are very well maintained and the staff warm and accommodating. There are three different nature trails for hiking, indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, a sauna, and even a small casino with a bar and a pool table. We availed ourselves of most if not all of these amenities. Whether it is your first time at a clothing optional resort (as it was on this occasion for my wife) or if you have been to other resorts, you will love Avalon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My boyfriend took me as a surprise....And a great experience we had. It was my first time at a clothing optional resort and I am hooked. The staff was great and very friendly. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was classy. The room was very clean and pet friendly a BIG plus... The hot tubs and pool were well maintained and warm...I really enjoyed the best buns contest the men were very entertaining and everyone enjoyed. I hope to return when it gets a little warmer and enjoy more of the outdoor activities...We did get to sit outside and take in the breath taking view of the mountains...A bit early for the dogwood trees but didn't matter still beautiful..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beallsville, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We took advantage of their "All Inclusive" offer this month. The weekend rate included our room, meals and grounds fees. We were welcomed warmly, when we arrived on Friday afternoon. Our room was neat and clean and the food was very good. We enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool, playing pool volleyball, the hot tub, the Nudsino and the dance on Saturday. We were very pleased to learn that there is no smoking allowed in any of the indoor facilities. It was too cold to be nude outside, so we got dressed after breakfast and explored the grounds for a while. When the dogwoods blossom and everything turns green again, the mountain views will be nothing short of spectacular! The other guests and members were great. One couple that lives in the nearby clothing-optional community even invited us to come to visit and tour their neighborhood.

We can hardly wait for it to warm up, for a return trip!

Room Tip: Like others have said, ask for an even numbered room. They have a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a weekend at Avalon's lodge. I found our room exceptionally clean and comfortable. I would complain that the door to the room was very thin. People walking up and down the hall and talking loudly sounded as if they were in the room with us. The pool was clean and heated nicely. We had water aerobics and that was fun. There are two hot tubs, both kept at 110 degrees, which was a little warmer than I would have liked. The bubbles were not working on either one. Since it was winter we didn't spend much time outside, but the grounds are extensive. If I have a complaint, it would be the food. They are charging 5 star prices for what appears to be mostly frozen cuisine. We had the veal and the chicken cordon bleu, respectively and neither was very good. They ran out of hamburger for lunch, so we had to change our order. They did offer a free desert at dinner for the inconvenience, but then ran out of that and had to substitue ice cream. The staff were all very nice and professional.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and 2 days with dinners, breakfasts, spa, bar, and party. New Year Eve Party and buffet were well done. In particular, service by Tammy and Valerie was outstanding throughout entire stay. Reasonable costs. Live band would have been better than a DJ, but DJ was satisfactory.

Room Tip: Rooms are essentially the same, except at either end or at middle entrance where noise is greater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodysHusband, Web Master at Avalon Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I too prefer a band as well, but the acoustics in the lodge don't support a band well. In warmer weather, we occasionally have a band in the barn. Dave, who was our DJ for Nude Years Eve, is one of the best we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed I the lodge this past Saturday and Sunday night for my first trip to Avalon. As others have said the walls and doors are thin but who cares the room was nice and served its purpose (to sleep). With the pools, nudisno and grounds there was tons to enjoy where you only wanted to be in the room to sleep. The staff was friendly from the waitstaff to the bartender and even the groundscrew. The food was good and reasonable. Others mention it being "clicky" I found that this was just fine since the clicks were people who lived there or frequented there. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 223 Avalon Lane, Paw Paw, WV 25434
Location: United States > West Virginia > Paw Paw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Paw Paw
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is nestled in a lovely valley in wild & wonderful West Virginia. As soon as you arrive, your tension and stress from the outside world begins to melt away. Whether you sit on the green grassy lawn or play volleyball or tennis, you will find your daily cares slipping away. Or you may decide to sun by the pool or soak in the spa to begin your relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Paw Paw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.