We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paw Paw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon Resort
Save
You added Avalon Resort to your Saves list
223 Avalon Lane, Paw Paw, WV 25434   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have been going to Avalon for a few years and have always loved the experience. Great place. Nice people. they have hikes in the woods on saturdays lasting about an hour, the resort is over 200 acres. A truly wonderfull place for Nature Lovers. The staff is very friendly and Helpful.

Damian

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
28
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
burgh757@verizon.net
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Avalon is a very unique experience. There are so many stressful experiences in life and they all disappear in this beautiful resort situated in the WVA mountains. One can be as active as they want with indoor and outdoor pools, tennis and petanque courts and indoor/outdoor volleyball. You can participate in dances and planned activities or relax while walking in the woods and enjoying the lovely surroundings. There are lodge rooms or condos for rent as well as a roomy, full service campground. Pets on leash are permitted.

Room Tip: Like rooms in the center of the lodge overlooking the mountains. Condos are nice if you like to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We've stayed at Avalon several times over the last ten years. In the summer or on theme weekends, it can be a entertaining place to be. We've always stay in the lodge which connects directly to the pool and hot tub area, dinner room, and bar making it very convenient. The outside pool is just a short walk away. The lodge rooms are not fancy but comfortable. There are no TVs in the room or cell phone service, but there is WIFI available. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place. We were there on a Friday night. We had a good meal in the dining room and enjoyed hanging out in the bar. Had a nice stay. Normally we would have stayed Saturday night, but had to be elsewhere. We thought about stopping on Sunday, but everything closes up a 8 PM so we decided to pass.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the dining room are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have been going to Avalon for years and have always loved the experience. Great place. Nice people. Relaxing. Unfortunately, this last trip had one incident that I feel I must report. There was a wine tasting on Saturday. One of the ladies who participated drank a lot and apparently continued to drink the rest of the day. By dinner time, she was LOUD and OBNOXIOUS. She was hanging on people and making quite a scene. I went the next day to report the incident and was literally stopped cold when I got to the office. There is a photo board of staff. The loud, obnoxious drunk was on staff. Her name is Gette. Why was an employee crocked on duty? She was listed as the guest DJ. Even more disquieting, I also recognized one of the "witnesses" to the incident. She is the Assistant Manager. She sat there during the incident and did not see fit to try to stop it or escort the drunk out. Seeing this, I figured it was not worth my time to file a complaint. Who should I send it to? The Assistant manager was there and did not seem inclined to intervene. Anyone can get out of control, but it's pretty disturbing when one of the employees is the one who is unruly.

It’s really to bad, because other than this, I have always found Avalon to be a little slice of Heaven on Earth

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodysHusband, Web Master at Avalon Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
The staff member in question, has been spoken too. Our goal is always to ensure that our guests have a wonderful, stress free time. Should an issue arise, please speak to the General Manager, Assistant General Manager, Office Manager, or another staff member immediately. The sooner we know of an issue, the quicker we can nip it in the bud.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Avalon is a wonderful place, either for a short getaway, a weeks vacation or to live here. It has a beautiful indoor pool and 2 hot tubs. It also has an outdoor pool with a snack bar.
There is most always a dance on Saturday nights. There is a Nudsino that is open on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.. There is a beautiful campground here and lots of trails to walk on.
You are surrounded by beautiful mountains..We bought our first condo at Avalon in 2005 - we moved to Avalon from upstate NY in 2007. We bought our 2nd condo to rent in 2009. We have been doing a great business with our rental unit. Everyone raves about it. Feel free to stop by and visit us at condo 1021.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammondsport, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We went to Avalon in March 2012 for our first time (hint- use the free day pass on their webiste). The staff was great, from providing driving directions, to greeting us Friday evening and getting us settled, to the events throughout our weekend stay. The pool was very nice and I really enjoyed the (2) hot tubs. We stayed in the lodge, which was very convenient to the dining, bar, and pool area. We both enjoyed the planned activities (it was St Patricks weekend) and the ability to do our own thing at any time. We did a fair amount of walking the grounds, and really enjoyed the trails and a very strenuous walk to the local residential community right above Avalon. Our room was right next to the dining hall- a down side because we didn't think about the dance being there one evening and a movie the other, and the walls are paper thin. Next time we will definitely stay more in the middle or maybe in one of the condos. But for convenience, the lodge can't be beat. He was very sad to find out there was no TV in the room, but he survived! I was easily able to hook up to the WIFI from our room and also from the pool area. Cell phone service is pretty much not possible. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Find out what activities are going on in the dining hall after the standard dining hours, and plan y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Avalon is the only thing I have ever done that has totally relaxed me. I spent one season tent camping and then bought myself a camper and moved in. I love it there. I have the feeling I never want to leave. Every weekend is different. I love my little get a way and the summers are priceless. Nudity isn't for everyone but if you always wanted to try, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I have never stayed in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Resort

Address: 223 Avalon Lane, Paw Paw, WV 25434
Location: United States > West Virginia > Paw Paw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Paw Paw
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is nestled in a lovely valley in wild & wonderful West Virginia. As soon as you arrive, your tension and stress from the outside world begins to melt away. Whether you sit on the green grassy lawn or play volleyball or tennis, you will find your daily cares slipping away. Or you may decide to sun by the pool or soak in the spa to begin your relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Paw Paw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.