We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blennerhassett Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blennerhassett Hotel to your Saves list
Blennerhassett Hotel
320 Market Street, Parkersburg, WV 26101-5337   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Parkersburg
Walden, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Holiday Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Each year during the holidays we head back to the Mid Ohio Valley to see family and friends. For the last three years we have made it a habit to stay at the Blennerhassett Hotel. This year we took our dog with us. The hotel does a great job of taking care of us when we are there and this year they welcomed our Yellow Lab like she was family.

The room was a little tight with the dog but we managed. We also had a room over a function room this year and the DJ had a driving beat going for a while downstairs. We could not hear the music so much as the thump, thump, thump of the bass volume. I called and they offered to move us - but when you are all unpacked and ready for bed the last thing you want to do is pack up and move to another room.

In the future, when the hotel is practically empty and you have a function in the room below, you might consider not putting guests above that function room... and offering us breakfast the next morning for our trouble.

The food at the hotel is excellent. Great Eggs Benedict!

All in all a great place to stay in Parkersburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    81
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
55
152
31
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Blennerhassett Hotel is a real hotel and has maintained its distinctive history in a beautiful way. They bring ice to your door at 5 pm. There is free valet parking! Bar and restaurant, service is great. Coffee shop in lobby. Great place to stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc MI
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family was traveling home after Christmas and needed a place to stop for the night. I am so glad we check trip advisor, because I would not have known about this wonderful hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and got two rooms. Parking was taken care of by valet. The hotel rooms were beautiful, clean, fresh, and contained a book that had details about the history of the city, hotel and area. It was late, so I was not able to read the book, but grabbed a booklet in the lobby, which I went through upon the ride home. We did not use the robes, but my son in another room loved them. The linens were wonderful, and the towels plush. This hotel is one of those places you hate to leave. The only advise that could improve the overall visit is for the prices to be updated on trip advisor. I would stay here again, and plan more time to see the city and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: There is no pool, but that is usually the case in historical hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Historic Hotel with a nice lobby, and a bar/restaurant with character. Check-in was very friendly. Very comfortable rooms, with bathrobes.. Great for an overnight stop. Downtown is a little limited on a Sunday night.

Room Tip: Stayed in a King, but the room was a little smaller than a double queen room (which was cheaper). W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here too nights, once with the girls the night before the wedding and the night of the wedding with my boyfriend. The rooms were nice and there is a mini Starbucks downstairs. The bar was a great area for us to socialize the night before the wedding! We even enjoyed a wedding themed martini! Breakfast was good at the restaurant. The wedding went smoothly from a bridesmaid point of view! The only bump that I can recall is that some of the guests didn't get the little gift packs the bride prepared for guests.
I also just called back to see what kind of beds they have because we slept wonderfully! Brenda wasn't sure, but took my number and name. Not only did she return my call later with the brand of the mattress, but she must have looked it up because she knew that it has been discontinued! I definitely thought that she went our of her way for me! Brenda was very nice!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A charming updated historic hotel. Helpful staff; attractive lobby and gift shop. The rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated with plush towels and bedding. The toiletries were above average as well. Dinner at Spats restaurant was nothing special which is too bad considering that it is supposed to be the best the city has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

After booking here for thanks giving we were excited about our weekend away, it was a 5.5 hr trip! We were welcomed by the staff who were very helpful, the location of the hotel is awful, with very little to do during the day and evening in the surrounding area in the winter. The hotel room was very cold over night, it seemed as though the heating reset itself. All in all it was a thoroughly disappointing trip. The restaurant is below average also.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blennerhassett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blennerhassett Hotel

Address: 320 Market Street, Parkersburg, WV 26101-5337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Parkersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Parkersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blennerhassett is an elegant, historic, full-service property located in downtown Parkersburg featuring boutique-style guest rooms and state-of-the-art conference and catering facilities. Guest rooms feature upscale bathrooms with granite counters and nickel fixtures. Many boast rain-barrel shower heads. Amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, newspaper, fitness center and valet parking. Enjoy exquisite cuisine in Spats Restaurant & Lounge, or Spats Patio seasonally. Ask about our packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blennerhassett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blennerhassett Hotel Parkersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blennerhassett Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.