We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rafting on the Upper Gauley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACE Adventure Center

ACE Adventure Center
Minden Rd. (CR17), PO Box 1168, Oak Hill, WV 25901
304-469-2651
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Oak Hill
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Mars, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great rafting on the Upper Gauley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a great day on the Upper Gauley! Damn release day that gave us Class V hits and some great whitewater! Great guide in "Fix"; lots of river knowledge and good history (congrats on the new boy Chris!! Good luck!). Goo lunch was served and great facilities at that break. Scenic views everywhere and a great crew in our boat! Overall, a fantastic day on Upper Gauley!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    41
    10
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deale, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Camping by the New River Gorge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

All five of us enjoyed the activities even my granddaughter. We tent camped and chose the 3 day option (One 1/2 day activity, water park and 3 meals per day). We choose to tent camp- figuring we were there to enjoy the outdoors. The bath houses were nice with 6 suites- toilet, sink & shower in one room. We walked on the catwalk under the New River Bridge (876 feet above the River)-great views, mountain biked- nice ride and great views of the gorge, white water rafted- great view of the under side of the New River Bridge and enjoyed the water park. Plan to go next year to try out their other activities.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Upper and Lower Gauley Rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

These guides are the best!! they are always professional and make sure that you have fun while keeping safety at the forefront. That is whats most important to me.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great company with knowledable river rafting guides. Go when river is wilder for the best trip. Lake is fun with lots of activities and bar/restaurant onsite.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Thrilling adrenaline-filled adventure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We rafted the Double Upper Gauley with ACE (2 for 1 on Fridays). This was one crazy heckuva wild ride. It's six class V+ rapids, two 10 foot waterfalls, and one 14 foot waterfall-- TWICE!! This trip definitely requires prior rafting experience, swimming proficiency, and plenty of courage.

ACE was organized and efficient. The guides are professional and skilled. They taking rafting very seriously (after all, a couple people die while rafting this river every year). I did my research, and I believe this is the best outfitter for the Gauley river. It's a large company, so it's easier to be rescued by other rafts. They make safety a top priority without sacrificing any of the fun or excitement. The equipment is top-notch. PFDs are new. The water temperature is brisk, so they have wetsuit, neoprene jacket, and neoprene booty rentals. There are lots of clean changing rooms and hot showers. Lunch isn't cold cuts, but instead is grilled burgers or grilled chicken at a site overlooking Sweets Falls.

During one of the class V rapids, several of us did end up falling out of the raft. Thankfully, the guides had drilled aggressive self rescue techniques into our heads and we survived. It made for great video footage.

The trip was amazing. Rafting the Upper Gauley with ACE was one of the best adventures of my life!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ACE Adventure Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACE Adventure Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.