We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Adventure Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ace Adventure Camp
Save Saved
You added Ace Adventure Camp to your Saves list
Oak Hill, WV 25901   |  
Hotel amenities
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We just returned from five days at ACE Adventure Camp, with my friend, my daughter, and her friend. While there, we stayed in the cedar cabins, which were immaculate and smelled wonderful; the bathhouse, about a 30 second walk away, was kept clean and tidy as well, and was serviced several times throughout the day. The beds were quite comfortable, with trundles under each of two double beds in the cabin. Our only complaint was that we had to share a fire ring with the cabin next to us, but there were other places to go to have a fire as the camp was not crowded at all. This may be an issue if you're set on having a fire at night and the camp is full. ACE guides were helpful, knowledgeable, and for the most part very patient. For instance, my daughters friend was reluctant to repel down the side of the hill. The guide coaxed and encouraged him. When it became apparent that he was not going to repel (which was handled discreetly by letting the others go first so he wouldn't have an audience) the counselor was understanding, gave him kudos for trying anyway, and the young man left the experience without repelling but with pride still intact! No small thing, in my opinion.

As for the activities, they were worth the price and not out of line in comparison with other camps and activities! We did zip-lining, climbing, repelling, ATVing, and kayaking. The lake ($12.00/day) was not really worth the money for adults (no place to swim) but for kids it's a great place to cool off and have fun. All are required to wear life jackets in the lake; it is apparent that it's safety first and foremost at ACE for all adventures.

The food, however, needs improvement. Very expensive breakfast buffed with mediocre warm food. Dinner buffet a bit better, but not worth the money. Eat outside the camp, if you can.

As for other restaurants in the area, and I cannot stress this enough, eat at Vandalians! The food was a bit pricey, but well worth it in comparison to other places. Delicious, unusual fresh combinations, upscale atmosphere, and thoroughly enjoyable. The Secret Sandwich Society is also a great place to have a bite. We enjoyed Pies and Pints as well. Take my advice, though, and avoid Diogios, which served Mexican food. I paid $49.00 for food which was overly expensive in relation to the quality. In fact, my friend couldn't finish her meal as it was much too spicy and did not contain the ingredients it said it would! You may as well eat at the camp and save the gas money!

All in all, ACE Adventure Camp is a great experience and provided us with a relaxing time as well as an adventure to remember for a long time to come! We had a blast, and will definitely return there again, hopefully in the near future! Go there, and see for yourself!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My sister and I recently stayed at the Ace Adventure campgrounds while hiking the local trails. The facilities met all our needs, including enforced quiet time at night which was nice. The shower and bathroom facilities were cleaned daily and there was a large 2 sink basin available for cleaning camping and cooking equipment; everything was located within a decent distance to your campsite. The campsite lots were located in a field, reasonably sized, and every site had a personal fire ring. Firewood and ice are available on the premises although they did not do a good job at keeping the firewood covered when it rained - so make sure to bring plenty of kindling just in case. We hiked a few of the trails on site which was convenient. Overall, I was happy with the experience and would use Ace Adenture Camp again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We have stayed in many of the accommodations from tenting, group cabins, chalets and cozy cabins and have found that they continually seem to make changes, mostly for the better. I plan on going back again in July and will try the cedar cabins this time (no bathroom but a bed is more important for these older bones). Tenting is getting a little unconfortable as we grow older. Have recommended this place to many firends and family members and have had the same complaint over and over (the food). However not one complaint about the accommodations or activities.

That being said, the food facilities are very lacking. The Paddle Lounge serves good hamburgers along with great fries and several other good meals but the hours of operation leave a lot to be desired. There is a large block of time when there is nowhere on property to get a bite to eat. If you come back around 3 pm from an activity and are hungry you are out of luck finding something to eat until I believe around 5:30 pm So either bring something quick to fix like sandwiches for the middle of the day or go off site. The buffet (breakfast or dinner) is not something I would serve to anyone or anything let alone people who are paying top dollar. Not only is it poor quality, hot food was cold food and cold food was warm and even the service was terrible. The one thing I did find at the buffet that was definately worth eating was the dessert and pastries during my last visit. The walk-up food service area is adequate but a little lacking in appearance and comfort. Lines form and you find yourself standing in the hot sun for long periods of time with little relief from it or other weather conditions.

The only activities we have not participated in is the ATV, Fishing and Catwalk tours. Have loved all but the horses, it is strictly a follow along at a snails pace ride and we are looking for a little more than that at an adventure facility.

Rafting is our first love followed by rock climbing and now the new Canopy Tour (what a rush that was). Hope to one day get up enough nerve to run the Gauley but don't know if that will ever happen but both our kids have done it and loved it...

I should also mention the interaction with the guide staff. In all the time we have been going here we have only run into one guide who, just lets say, was not having his best day. All the other people we have interacted with have been respectful, considerate, informative and appear to enjoy what they are doing and that shows in the way they treat the customers. This also inlcudes a friendly and informative reservation staff. (Thanks Monica)

I would be remiss if I do not comment on the way all the guides stress safety. It really does come to the forfront in every activity.

If you like the outdoors and don't mind getting a little dirty or wet ACE is the place to take the young and old alike. Have not stayed there during the winter but have been told that if you are looking for a lot of peace and quiet for a few days it is the place to go. (they do have heated facilities).

Just wish I were young enough to spend my summers working there (what a blast I think that would be).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This place was great. My kids loved it. I give it solid B+ :
1. Stayed in a cabin >> good choice as tents were fine but the facilities for them were nothing short of gross. Cabin was great.

2. Did lots of activities: Zip Lining, Rafting (Upper New), Mountain Biking, Paint Ball, Horse Back riding. All were really good. The pond with the slide and climb toys was good but the pond is essentially a big mud hole. Not refreshing, just a kid playground.

3. Downside>> Food was really gross. Do yourself a favor and go out for meals.

I would recommend ACE !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

For the first part of the week we stayed in one of the cozy cabins. It was definately 'cozy', but very adequate. The location was very peaceful, yet a very short walk to the lake area. At night we relaxed in the hot tub, roasted marshmallows and caught fireflies. The cabins even had a TV w/ a DVD player so we could watch movies at night. The second half of the week we stayed in one of the log cottages. It was larger and newer than the cozy cabin, the only thing it was missing was a stove. My husband and I love the camping experience but are getting to old for roughing it; this was the perfect compromise. The lake area was great with lots to do. We rafted down the lower New River, did the Canopy tour, the sunset horsback riding trip and even did paintball. The guides were great and the tours were awesome! We highly recomend this to families or groups who enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

Our family and another family stayed here this weekend while rock climbing in the New River Gorge. We tent camped for $10/night per person, which was reasonable given the facilities. Check in was easy. We asked for two secluded camp sites, but found there really were NO secluded sites. The tent camping is all together at the top of the mountain. There are a few trees, but mostly open grass.

The tent sites were a good size but it was a busy weekend so we had neighbors on all sides about 30 feet away. This means we could hear talking, laughing and snoring into the evening. Most folks observed the midnight quiet curfew, but we did have to ask one large group to please be quiet at 1 a.m.

The bathroom was an easy walk for most of the campground. It was large and they tried to keep it clean, but it rained both nights so there was mud on the floor most of the time. The women's bath had 6 showers stalls, all with opaque glass (see through - bring a large towel to drape over the front if you're modest) and three bathroom stalls and two sinks. We would take turns brushing teeth in the morning. But it had the magic ingredient that makes camping work for me - hot showers!! After a wet night (our tent leaked) there's nothing like a wonderful hot shower!

The Ace Adventure camp does cater to rafters and that's obvious from the number of signs telling folks where to go for rafting check-in. That's no reason for non-rafters to avoid this place. There were plenty of other activities in the area. Lots of rock climbers, like us, and many folks had kayaks on the roof of their car.

The lake on property is a wonderful place - it's large wiith lots of toys! Lake priviledges are included with your stay, whether you're in a cabin or tent. There's a huge water slide,
two zip lines over the water, numerous water trampolines, some water rockers (you have to see them), floating baby pools, water volleyball etc. They provide and require life jackets if you leave the roped off shallower swimming area, which makes sense but makes it a little cumbersome to swim. The kids there (including ours) had a fantastic time. This place alone is worth the camping fee.

The Ace Adventure camp is huge - supposedly 1,400 acres. During the weekend, we also took a hike and did a little bit of mountain biking on the property.

We didn't eat on property, instead opting to head towards Fayetteville and our climbing sites, but they had a restaurant with a breakfast buffet (about $8 adults, $5 kids) which looked really good, plus another lounge. We did get ice and firewood at the small store on site.

In summary - an excellent place to stay, with lots of nice amenities. The only drawback is on crowded weekends, you will have neighbors close by and for tent camping, that is a little noisy.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ace Adventure Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Adventure Camp

Address: Oak Hill, WV 25901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Oak Hill
Also Known As:
Ace Adventure Camp Hotel Oak Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Adventure Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.