We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to unplug your kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACE Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ACE Adventure Resort
Save Saved
You added ACE Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Oak Hill
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to unplug your kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Ace did an incredible job with getting my family outdoors. Jeff was an amazing white water raft guide who also new the history of the river. We did a full day on the lower new with a full lunch spread of grilled burgers and chicken, all river side. After lunch, we went right back at it with 3,4 and 5 class rapids that my 11 and 14 year old thoroughly enjoyed.
Don was a very calm and knowledgable zip lining guide which made for an outstanding trip. Ace also booked our bridge tour which was incredible. Being on a two foot catwalk 800 ft above the gorge and 10 ft below traffic. You could feel the vibrations from the passing vehicles.
Ace's staff are happy to see you and are even more happy when they see you have had a great time. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    33
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
64
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We booked rugged rooms last September and brought enough to stay warm. It is essentially a tent with a hard cover and floor, so no heat. The bathrooms are pretty close - just bring a flash light. I traveled with my husband, brother in law, and father in law for a rafting trip. The tavern is pretty nice with decent food and a surprisingly good selection of microbrews. We had Randy as our rafting guide and will definitely go with him again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for ACE! We are so happy to hear you had an awesome time. I will pass your review on to the bar manager too. We actually just put in a new floor in the bar and it looks awesome! Hope you had a great winter and we'll get to see you again soon!

-Heidi Prior
Social Media Manager
ACE Adventure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We arrived on 3/28 and check in to your bath/bunk house. The bath house is pretty basic. It worked out great for 10 guys to hangout. The bath/bunk house has two different rooms for the shower and toliet so that someone can shower and still keep the toliet useable. It would be nice if Ace put a picture of the cabin online so that the inside could be seen. The heater in the cabin did a great job keeping the place warm.

Friday afternoon we did the sunset paintball. Everyone had a great time as Josh led us on a series of different games. We played the bigger paintball field for several games and then played the wooded field a couple of games. The wooded field is a new field and they are not finished setting up the course but it was fun getting to move around some trees.

Saturday we did the lower New River and we had a blast. Steve was our guide and he did a great job of telling us about different things as we went down the river. Steve providede a fun ride down the lower new .

We had breakfast and lunch at ACE. The breakfast buffett had eggs, pancakes, sausage, bacon and some other stuff and everything was really good.

We also had dinner at ACE and since they are not truly in season yet we did not have the pig roast. Instead we had salad bar, beans, blackened chicken, beef ribs, macaroni and cheese, broccoli and a apple cobbler for dessert. Everything was great. The ribs and chicken were a big hit. Everyone in my group was impressed with the food that ACE provided for breakfast and lunch, saying that the food was better than they were expecting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks so much for the positive review. It's great to read that our guests think we are starting the season off, "better than they were expecting". Josh and Steve Reid are two of most seasoned guides so you guys were definitely in good hands.

In the small world of everything, I actually think one of the guys on this trip went to the same MBA program as one of my best friends from undergrad. My family was in town last weekend, so I didn't have a chance to come say hi personally, but regardless I'm so happy to read this positive review, as I know that means my friend's friend had a good experience at ACE. :)

And yes, you are correct- we should try to get some more photos of the inside of the bath/ bunk house. As I'm sure you can imagine, it's a hard image to get on print. Like you mentioned they are economical and pretty basic, yet the functionality is all there.

Thanks again for taking the time to write an honest and fair review of ACE Adventure Resort. It feels especially great when they are 5 out of 5- as that is always our goal. We may not be the fanciest place on earth, but we do take great pride in our facilities, staff and experiences.

Thanks again,
Heidi Prior
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbanna, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very nice experience. Cabin was great. Lots of room with a little loft. Hot tub. Fire pit. Lots to do on site. Rafting was awesome. Nice trails. Bring your jacket even in the summer, nights get cold. Have fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Look at ACE's website; this is not just a hotel! White water rafting, horse back riding, rock climbing, mountain biking, swimming, HUGE inflatable lake toys (the size of a small house!) sooooooo much fun!!! Call them for specifics so you get what your party can really handle. Whole resort was clean & well kept while we were there. Camped in our tents. Tent sites in pretty good order but would have liked more separation among campers. We were there during a kind of slow week & our tent loop was crowded. One of the best parts of the trip: seclusion. One of the worst parts of the trip: the trip there because of the seclusion :) It's fun & very active & the dining hall is GREAT (although expensive). Bathrooms/washrooms were over-used & needed more frequent & effective cleaning, & more respectful use by guests. Actually visited summer of 2012 but not one of my choices below.

Room Tip: If you get a tent site, go inspect it before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Let me start by saying that I've rafted with Ace a few times and always had a great experience.

But we stayed at the Truman Lodge (supposedly their largest and most "luxurious" cabin) this past weekend and this is what we encountered.

1. Broken Glass all over the outside area, on the picnic table, on the frozen lake, in the driveway, everywhere
2. Mouse Poop in all of the plates/bowls. We had to wash everything prior to eating
3. A washing machine that made our clothes dirtier and a dryer that started sparking/smoking when used
4. A USED CONDOM under one of the beds.
5. Let me repeat that. We found a used condom underneath one of the beds in the master bedroom. That's not hard to find if you tried at all to clean it.

There was a sign out back that said "future snow tubing park" which leads me to believe that they are probably planning on bulldozing it soon and don't care about the upkeep.

They felt bad after hearing our laundry list of complaints and gave us 1/2 our money back. Which was nice. I would advise using their rafting services again, but will NEVER sleep there again unless I really want hepatitis.

Room Tip: Use Class VI river runners at the top of the mountain if you're staying over night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiWarwick, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
I’d like to start this post by flat out acknowledging we dropped the ball. In fact, you’ve opened our eyes and helped us realize it’s time for aggressive changes in order to ensure this NEVER happens again.

I know you spoke with our Chief of Staff, but I want to take the time to reply to your comments as well. As a long time employee of ACE, it’s disturbing that this was your experience and that there are members of our team who did not take your visit seriously. We can’t change the past and won’t offer excuses. However, we can make a promise to you. We will do everything in our power to make sure it never happens again.

Change has begun. There has been a thorough review, and we are implementing immediate changes in personnel and procedures to ensure our performance and quality control exceed our guests expectations.

Again, thank you for your candid feedback.

Sincerely,
Brandi Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went on a three day package in September 13. 13 of us went and all of us are going back this coming September except two. Seven newbies are coming aboard though after hearing what a stellar time we all had. With an all-inclusive package we had zero worries and ate high end grub to our hearts content. The food is top shelf and so much better than anticipated. The rafting speaks for itself ... world class adrenaline, its all inclusive too lol! Just sittin around the camp fire and having a few drinks at the end of the day made it all the more memorable and enticing. Ace does a phenomenal job and all the staff fro A-Z are top shelf.

Room Tip: Rent a tent. It is cheap and you don't have to haul one or set up/take down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ACE Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACE Adventure Resort

Address: Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on the Travel Channel, we offer amazing vacations, most of them wet! We are North America's largest outdoor vacation resort, where you can try whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing, mountain biking, hiking, paintball, ATV tours, a mud obstacle course, alpine tower, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, horseback riding, a bridge catwalk tour, or relax on the beach of our 5-acre lake full of inflatable toys. Come get away from it all on our 1,500-acre property in Southern West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ace Adventure Hotel Oak Hill
Ace Adventure Center Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACE Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.