We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long list” 1 of 5 stars
Review of ACE Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ACE Adventure Resort
Save Saved
You added ACE Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$109 for the Gauley River
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long list”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Let me start by saying that I've rafted with Ace a few times and always had a great experience.

But we stayed at the Truman Lodge (supposedly their largest and most "luxurious" cabin) this past weekend and this is what we encountered.

1. Broken Glass all over the outside area, on the picnic table, on the frozen lake, in the driveway, everywhere
2. Mouse Poop in all of the plates/bowls. We had to wash everything prior to eating
3. A washing machine that made our clothes dirtier and a dryer that started sparking/smoking when used
4. A USED CONDOM under one of the beds.
5. Let me repeat that. We found a used condom underneath one of the beds in the master bedroom. That's not hard to find if you tried at all to clean it.

There was a sign out back that said "future snow tubing park" which leads me to believe that they are probably planning on bulldozing it soon and don't care about the upkeep.

They felt bad after hearing our laundry list of complaints and gave us 1/2 our money back. Which was nice. I would advise using their rafting services again, but will NEVER sleep there again unless I really want hepatitis.

Room Tip: Use Class VI river runners at the top of the mountain if you're staying over night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandiWarwick, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
I’d like to start this post by flat out acknowledging we dropped the ball. In fact, you’ve opened our eyes and helped us realize it’s time for aggressive changes in order to ensure this NEVER happens again.

I know you spoke with our Chief of Staff, but I want to take the time to reply to your comments as well. As a long time employee of ACE, it’s disturbing that this was your experience and that there are members of our team who did not take your visit seriously. We can’t change the past and won’t offer excuses. However, we can make a promise to you. We will do everything in our power to make sure it never happens again.

Change has begun. There has been a thorough review, and we are implementing immediate changes in personnel and procedures to ensure our performance and quality control exceed our guests expectations.

Again, thank you for your candid feedback.

Sincerely,
Brandi Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    34
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
66
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went on a three day package in September 13. 13 of us went and all of us are going back this coming September except two. Seven newbies are coming aboard though after hearing what a stellar time we all had. With an all-inclusive package we had zero worries and ate high end grub to our hearts content. The food is top shelf and so much better than anticipated. The rafting speaks for itself ... world class adrenaline, its all inclusive too lol! Just sittin around the camp fire and having a few drinks at the end of the day made it all the more memorable and enticing. Ace does a phenomenal job and all the staff fro A-Z are top shelf.

Room Tip: Rent a tent. It is cheap and you don't have to haul one or set up/take down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This past weekend, my boyfriend and I took a trip to ACE Adventure Resort for a little getaway and the trip was ten times better than we ever could have expected. We knew we werent going to be arriving until late Friday night so I called ahead and told the Welcome Center that we would be there after business hours and they told us they would have a packet with info and our cabin keys and number hanging outside the Welcome Center, which they did. Per my request, they even delivered firewood to our cabin earlier in the day so that when we got there we could have a fire. The staff was wonderful during both the booking of this trip and the stay. When we arrived our cabin was clean with fresh linen, papertowls, garbage bags, etc. With it being November, it is obviously quiter this time of year at the resort and our cabins were spread out enough that we were never bothered by others--it was very relaxing. We did both the 1/2 day Rock Climbing and Zip Line. Our tour guide, Josh was ONE OF A KIND! He truly provided us with superb service and had us laughing all weekend long. He drew us maps for hiking, suggested some local places to grab a beer and grub, and really went above and beyond his typical job duties. My boyfriend and I agreed that though we would have had a great trip either way, Josh honestly made the weekend for us even more unforgettable. I have traveled to many places around the country and I must say, ACE adventures really impressed me and we will absolutely be back. I have even stayed at another adventure resort down there, but ACE adventure resort is def the best of the best. I highly suggest you check this place out and don't forget to ask for Josh!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Kelly!

Thanks so much for your great review of ACE Adventure Resort! We love to hear from our guests. Josh is a great asset to our team and we are beyond lucky to have him for so many years here with us. I'll make sure Josh sees your review. And thanks again for taking the time to write a review. It really helps us constantly try to aim to reach all of our guests expectations.

-Heidi Prior
Social Media Manager
ACE Adventure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The rafting was pretty extreme at that high water level, it is nothing like in summer and you will not recognize the river. We stood at the cabin with hot tub and it was very useful after a day in the cold flood waters. Out river guide had excellent knowledge of the river and we did well despite the fact that it was a very long and hard fight with all of that huge water all day long. To compare, I will rank it more extreme than Lower Gauley River in Fall 2800 cps. I will recommend it for those ppl who is looking for a new adventure, but you have to catch the high flow rates in the Spring (get info on snow melt and rain) - it totally worse it! I will surely go back!

Room Tip: look and ask for deals since March-May is not a high season for whitewater rafting in the area and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the 4 or 5th time we have used ACE for the Fall Gauley whitewater season. They have a great hot lunch on the river and own their own outtakes and lunch area along the river which makes the experience better. Look for their Friday specials on their website to save some dough. Guides were friendly like always and willing to help tourists enjoy all the green goodness (wink) WV has to offer. Wetsuit rental is available, but consider buying your own on ebay. Ace also offers rock climbing, ATV tours, ziplines, and whatnot but the rafting is the main attraction. I would not recommend their lodging or their food, consider staying at the Comfort Inn and going to Pies and Pints for dinner. Do the Gauley not the New River, you will not regret. ACE provides free Barely Soda (beer)at the end of all their rafting trips, something not everyone does but should, it is a nice end to the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First class all the way. Very friendly and accommodating staff. So much to do. Rafting the Gauley is incredible. Our guide, Kent, was awesome!! Great place to reunite with old friends and have fun. I thought I had been whitewater rafting before, but the Gauley is a whole new experience.
The campsites are very nice and the common areas for shower and changing are well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had only booked the zip line tour but by the end of the trip was wishing we had booked more activities and had came across Ace Adventures earlier in the summer. I had so much fun, at first I was a little skeptical with my burnt grilled cheese at the bar and grille over by the "camp crystal lake" lake but once we met up with our group and our guides it was on and it was fun and a casual delight.

Our guides were a merry bunch of misfits and kept us alive and entertained the entire trip. Gearing up and getting on a short "cheese bus" to take you up the mountain was hilarious! And the cold refreshments waiting at the end was much appreciated and a nice touch and went with the no fuss fun times of the day.

I can't wait to come back for zip lines and more activities. I highly recommend this place for a fun time, IF you can find it..lol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACE Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACE Adventure Resort

Address: Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on the Travel Channel, we offer amazing vacations, most of them wet! We are North America's largest outdoor vacation resort, where you can try whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing, mountain biking, hiking, paintball, ATV tours, a mud obstacle course, alpine tower, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, horseback riding, a bridge catwalk tour, or relax on the beach of our 5-acre lake full of inflatable toys. Come get away from it all on our 1,500-acre property in Southern West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ace Adventure Hotel Oak Hill
Ace Adventure Center Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACE Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.