We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walmart of WV whitewater rafting, but still proving great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACE Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ACE Adventure Resort
Save Saved
You added ACE Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$59 Mid-Week Zipline Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Oak Hill
somewhere
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Walmart of WV whitewater rafting, but still proving great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the 4 or 5th time we have used ACE for the Fall Gauley whitewater season. They have a great hot lunch on the river and own their own outtakes and lunch area along the river which makes the experience better. Look for their Friday specials on their website to save some dough. Guides were friendly like always and willing to help tourists enjoy all the green goodness (wink) WV has to offer. Wetsuit rental is available, but consider buying your own on ebay. Ace also offers rock climbing, ATV tours, ziplines, and whatnot but the rafting is the main attraction. I would not recommend their lodging or their food, consider staying at the Comfort Inn and going to Pies and Pints for dinner. Do the Gauley not the New River, you will not regret. ACE provides free Barely Soda (beer)at the end of all their rafting trips, something not everyone does but should, it is a nice end to the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    33
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
61
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First class all the way. Very friendly and accommodating staff. So much to do. Rafting the Gauley is incredible. Our guide, Kent, was awesome!! Great place to reunite with old friends and have fun. I thought I had been whitewater rafting before, but the Gauley is a whole new experience.
The campsites are very nice and the common areas for shower and changing are well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had only booked the zip line tour but by the end of the trip was wishing we had booked more activities and had came across Ace Adventures earlier in the summer. I had so much fun, at first I was a little skeptical with my burnt grilled cheese at the bar and grille over by the "camp crystal lake" lake but once we met up with our group and our guides it was on and it was fun and a casual delight.

Our guides were a merry bunch of misfits and kept us alive and entertained the entire trip. Gearing up and getting on a short "cheese bus" to take you up the mountain was hilarious! And the cold refreshments waiting at the end was much appreciated and a nice touch and went with the no fuss fun times of the day.

I can't wait to come back for zip lines and more activities. I highly recommend this place for a fun time, IF you can find it..lol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a great trip we had. We purchased our package from living Social that included two nights stay at a camp site, breakfast, lunch, and dinner on the day of our rafting trip and wetsuits for the day. We had an outstanding guide and the weather was great. I'm not a big rafter but this river is definitely top notch and so is the staff. Things that really made the trip for us were......

-Very nice riverside lunch at one of the biggest rapids.
-The 6 person raft made it easier to engage with our guide and hear all the info he was conveying to us.
-Dinner was great and the beer selection was good too.
-Logistically they were good. No wasted time in getting your equipment, signing waivers, transpo to and from the river, very professional.

If you dont want to raft ACE has lots of other activities to engage in and a huge lake with a water slide and other things for the kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a great place for an adventurous time. You need to go there! The employees are great you can tell they real love their jobs!! Everyone was super friendly and all were attentive to our want and neared!!
It was a great male bounding weekend. Brad is a great leader!! Stephen K was did a great job getting us down the Upper Gauley.
The lake activities are great for the kids.

Room Tip: Great varieties of cabins and locations. Great for non camping types. LOTS of great camping sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We got the deal from Living Social which made it more affordable. Zip lining at night is not as exciting as during the day, but if you are first timer, the darkness makes it easier for you- less scary. It's not between trees, rather cliff to cliff.
Upper Gauley was a blast, lunch by river consisted of hamburgers and hot cocoa or coffee (no tea ;( ) Pretty good. Horse riding was interesting, the trail is going uphill and downhill, there is a lot of mud, so be prepared for dirty jeans/shoes.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of our resort and activities. We appreciate the extra effort, as it helps us get a good understanding of our strengths and weaknesses. As a tea lover myself, I will also mention this to our Lunch crew as a great third option for those Gauley days when we offer hot drinks!

Thanks again,
Heidi Prior
ACE Adventure Resort
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garwood, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having rafted for over 40 years, from Colorado to Washington State, from the Canadian Rockies to Quebec, from the Smokies to Slovenia, the Upper Gauley was tops by far! More continuous white-water and more legitimate Class V rapds than any of the others. The guides really know the river and focus on your safety at all times. As a 66 year-old grand-father, I can now cross the Upper Gauley off my bucket list. Hoo-ha!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi William,

My name is Heidi and I read all of ACE's Trip Advisor reviews. I just wanted to say- a big THANK YOU!

Thanks for the best email to read mid-day on a Monday ever. I rafted all over the world too, and yet the Gauley is still one of my absolute favorites. I pretty much moved to WV because of it!

Thanks for such a great review and we love hearing about folks who travel, love rivers and don't let a number in age stop them from living life to the fullest.

Hoo-ha indeed and thanks so much for choosing ACE Adventure Resort!

-Heidi Prior
Social Media Manager
ACE Adventure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ACE Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACE Adventure Resort

Address: Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on the Travel Channel, we offer amazing vacations, most of them wet! We are North America's largest outdoor vacation resort, where you can try whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing, mountain biking, hiking, paintball, ATV tours, a mud obstacle course, alpine tower, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, horseback riding, a bridge catwalk tour, or relax on the beach of our 5-acre lake full of inflatable toys. Come get away from it all on our 1,500-acre property in Southern West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ace Adventure Hotel Oak Hill
Ace Adventure Center Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACE Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.