We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time terrible customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ACE Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ACE Adventure Resort
Save
You added ACE Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Reynoldsburg, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great time terrible customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just got back from a weekend at ace. I cannot deny the fact that we had a blast. Our first day there we went rafting. Our guide John was fabulous. He was knowledgeable about the river and had tons of interesting insight about area, not to mention he was funny. The next day we did the zip line. Again it was wonderful. Certainly worth every penny. The guides were both competent and entertaining. That being said, this is the second year in a row that we have had trouble during check in. When we got there they did not have our reservation. The people at the "welcome" center were very unwelcoming. Check in took forever and they acted like we were a huge inconvenience. Seeing as our trip cost over $3,700, I would have expected them to be a little friendlier and a tad more accommodating. Needless to say the people at the front desk for better or worse, set the tone for the trip. Two people in our party arrived a little later than the rest of us, when they checked in they were under charged. When the last girl in our party arrived she checked in she was threatened by the staff to tell us the other couple were undercharged and that if they did not go pay the remainder of their balance immediately they were going to cancel our reservation...again, and they were going to kick us out. Rude. We do this trip annually and our group gets bigger every year. Next year we will not be returning to ace, solely based on the way we were treated at check in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello, my name is Heidi Prior and I manage many of ACE's social media pages. I read your review today and wanted to reach out to you personally. Although I find myself saying this on many responses, it's truth is so genuine- it's hard for me to refrain from: THANK YOU for taking the time to write your review and inform us of a clear problem we need to address. Had you not taken the time to write such an honest review, we may not have known that we have some personnel that are not reflecting the values and customer service standards ACE Adventure Resort values so dearly. So again, thank you.

I have sent your review to all the appropriate management to try to figure out what happened, why it happened (really there's no excuse) and how we can immediately learn from this mistake. We are a small company, composed of a staff that sees and treats each other as a family. Word-of-mouth marketing is the heart and soul of who we are, so a review like yours is taken very seriously. The very least we can do is learn from mistakes like this, as we never like to read that we lost a customer by losing sight of such a basic and fundamental rule of thumb = treat our guests as you would want to be treated on your dream vacation.

If you'd like to email me your name and a way to contact you directly, we'd love to try to get to the bottom of this. My email is heidi@aceraft.com. I am so glad to read that John and the Zip Line Tour guides took such good care of you. Again, our family of employees is quite the team. It's heartbreaking to know that one person can turn off a valued guest for the rest of the team for years to come. Should you want to give us an opportunity to make this right. Please contact me. If not, please know that we do care, we do listen to our reviews and we do value your patronage.

All the best,
Heidi Prior
Social Media Manager
ACE Adventure Resort
heidi@aceraft.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    36
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
67
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This was my best vacation ever, it beats two trips to Hawaii! The guides are amazing, this was my first river rafting trip ever, we went on the Gauley in single person crafts, and I NEVER want to try anything less challenging or intense! Don't let them close the summer gauley program it is completely amazing do NOT be afraid of the duckies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been to ACE at least 3-4 times in the past. We first came to ACE 20 years ago before marriage/kids. Our last time here was 10 years ago. ACE has never disappointed and has only gotten better with time! The resort has grown to include a variety of lodging, numerous activities, and a lake full of fun. This time we came with our kids (ages 13 & 10) and my parents (in their 60s). We rafted the Upper New River, which was a good intro to whitewater. Now we can't wait to come back and raft the Lower New next summer! We spent a whole afternoon playing in and around the lake on all the big inflatable slides/jungle gyms, as well as playing tetherball and pingpong. The tetherball itself will need to be replaced soon and they could use another pingpong table with paddles/balls because there were often people waiting. But you could not say you're bored here. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wow, what a fun filled destination! We went just for the day but easily could have enjoyed 2 or 3 days with all of the fun activities.

In addition, the staff is FANTASTIC! Everyone is friendly, helpful and outgoing. They helped my children with life jackets, rock wall climbing, raft paddling and much much more!!!

Food is very good (pulled pork, pizza, etc) and prices are very fair!

Signs guide you into Ace Adventures through a sleepy little town and on substandard roads, thanks Ace for the signs!!!

Highly recommend for kids and adults. Even little ones (my youngest is 4) as they happily accommodate!!!

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Myself and 3 buddies drove 10 hours from Chicago and it was worth every minute in the truck. We stayed in a log cottage which had a bunk bed, two Queen beds, and a futon. The air conditioning was great, we kept it at 65 the entire week. The hot tub, porch, and picnic table outside were in great condition. We rafted the upper gauley and it was such an amazing trip we cancelled our zip lining for the next day and rafted the upper gauley again. Jeff Cogle, or trip leader and guide for the day was fantastic. He had an amazing amount of knowledge and was pleased to em part any and all of it on us. He put us in places that we didn't know were possible and we had a very safe yet thrilling experience. The second day on the upper gauley was spent with Derek, or D-rock as he is affectionately called. The second day we went down the river with 9 other rafts and d-rock made our raft look like it was full of a bunch of pro rafters in comparison. He was hilarious and an amazing guide. He kept us very safe while again making the trip fun and exhilarating. If you are looking for a first rafting trip, start on the upper or lower New River and graduate to the Gauley once you are sure you are looking for a bigger challenge. The owners of ACE can be seen walking around and one of them was at the lost paddle bar and grill with us on Friday night. All the staff was wonderful, from the front desk staff, to the kitchen staff, the bus drivers to the guides, everyone was extremely nice and went far out of their way to be accommodating. I will be coming back to WV for the amazing rafting and I will be going back to ACE for the service and the fantastic staff. Do yourself a favor and book your next rafting trip with ACE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I took our 4 kids (12, 14, 16 & 18 yrs old) rock climbing/rappelling and rafted the lower new this week. We had a GREAT time. I can't say enough good things about Ace, every aspect of our trip was outstanding and exceeded our expectations. Every staff member we met was amazing, so helpful, polite and seemed to love their job. Don was our guide, he was a great teacher. He explained everything well, I feel like we all learned a lot and had fun doing it. We stayed in the log cottage, we loved it. Very clean and neat. The beds and pillows were SO comfortable, even the sheets were nice. The hot tub was a nice treat after long days playing outside. Ace lake was a lot of fun with the zip line in the water, giant slide, and water toys. We ate at all 3 restaurants and they were all excellent and reasonably priced. We took this vacation as possibly the last family vacation with all of the kids together, since one is leaving for college next month and the others will soon follow. I'm so glad we chose Ace and made such great memories with our kids. These people know this business and do it well. It was well worth the price.

Room Tip: We loved the log cottage on turkey spur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We wanted a very base level camping experience with fun activities with easy access to information and help if we needed it. Ace was the perfect spot for us. We'll definitely visit again. The river trip and the horseback ride were fantastic.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi P, Manager at ACE Adventure Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the honest review of our resort. We now have a new goal! Next time we hope to impress you with 5 stars! :)

Thanks again for taking the time to write something up. We read every review and try to learn from all of them.

-Heidi Prior
Social Media Manager
ACE Adventure Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACE Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACE Adventure Resort

Address: Minden Rd, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on the Travel Channel, we offer amazing vacations, most of them wet! We are North America's largest outdoor vacation resort, where you can try whitewater rafting, zip line canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing, mountain biking, hiking, paintball, ATV tours, a mud obstacle course, alpine tower, stand up paddle boarding, fishing, horseback riding, a bridge catwalk tour, or relax on the beach of our 5-acre lake full of inflatable toys. Come get away from it all on our 1,500-acre property in Southern West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ace Adventure Hotel Oak Hill
Ace Adventure Center Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACE Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.