We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Oyler Ave, Oak Hill, WV 25901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Saline, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Look Elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

When we first arrived and checked in to this hotel, it seemed like no one wanted to check us in. The 2 workers at the desk ignored me and when I was finally acknowledged, the lady checked kept cracking her gum. Not very professional. The hotel is so run down. The veneer was peeling off the bathroom door, the wallpaper and paint peeling, it smelled so musty and the air conditioning only worked well if we ran it down to 60. They don't seem to want to replace your soap, shampoo, toilet paper and barely leave you enough towels and cloths. The housekeeping really sucks for that reason-if I am there several days I expect to be restocked properly. The elevator smelled so bad of smoke (why?). If I am spending over $100.00 a night, I just expect something a little better. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
7
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

From what I understand this is a two star property, however it is actually a good sized hotel styled property. It is not a motel. There is a gym and indoor pool area. We were looking for somewhere to stay overnight and I believe this was a good choice. The breakfast was not great but it was hot and the staff were friendly. If you are looking to stay in this area, this would be as good a choice as any

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel was a 2nd choice as our 1st choice would not accommodate our group. We have discussed moving to our next location one day earlier just to get out of this hole. The carpet is disgusting, the restaurant had to "go to the grocery store to get our food", the workout area equipment was battered and unsafe. I will say the bathroom was clean but the towels were older and wearing thin. We were warned to not leave anything in our car as the bar attached to the hotel gets rowdy. Only stay at this place if you are too tired to move on to another location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Not many amenities, but enough to sleep. Breakfast ok, nothing fresh, eggs tasted funny both days.The biggest hassle was with xpedia. I needed to cancel a night at this hotel. I called and they were OK with it. Called X and was on hold alot. They needed to call hotel. I got disconnected. I called back the hotel and they said they needed confirmation that X would not bill them for a commission for the room. Bottom line it took me 40 minutes to do this and I'm still not sure I'm not going to get billed by expedia for 2 nights here. Had problems at check in with expedia. Night desk gal was pretty poor. Had a loud A/C first night but we changed rooms the second and that one was OK.

Room Tip: Check the A/C unit for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

VERY clean rooms....and very comfortable beds...wonderful breakfast....don't forget to use your 10% off coupon for the dining room. Easy on and off highway...Take your free cup of coffee or tea back to your roon

Room Tip: rooms on the same floor as check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Needed a place to stay while traveling back from Florida. The weather turned cold and it started to snow. The room was clean, staff was friendly. There is a restaurant in the hotel. Food was reasonably priced and received a 10% off card for the restaurant when we checked in. After traveling all day it was a nice surprise to find a heated swimming pool to relax in after dinner. Have paid a lot more for a lot less in a hotel. Is located right off of Route 19.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I did not find anything special about this hotel. My room was clean and comfortable, TV reception in the room was below average. There was a surprisingly high number of cable stations to watch which made the TV quality even more disappointing.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 340 Oyler Ave, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oak Hill New River Gorge Home of the Western Hemispheres Largest Steel Arch Bridge is located in beautiful Fayette County- The heart of Southern West Virginia- within minutes of White Water Rafting-hiking-biking-snow skiing rock climbing- outdoor drama- area shopping beautiful scenery- and much more- located just off US Route 19- 10 miles from Interstate 77 and 64- whether your visit brings you for business or pleasure- the Holiday Inn Oak Hill New River Gorge is ready to serve you- our hotel features 119 guest rooms three floors- all interior corridors-complimentary high speed wireless Internet through out the hotel- 'Dory's Grille our full service restaurant on site serving American Cuisine- enjoy a mixed cocktail in Rafters Lounge- relax by our indoor pool with whirl pool- two story fitness center- racquetball court- game room and beauty salon. Wedding receptions, family reunions, and meetings- our Sales and Catering department can accommodate all of your needs- full catering on premises-can host from 50 to 150. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Lodge Hotel And Conference Center
Holiday Lodge Hotel Oak Hill
Holiday Inn Oak Hill
Oak Hill Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.