We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Prized” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Oyler Ave, Oak Hill, WV 25901 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel Oak Hill New River Gorge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable Prized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I did not find anything special about this hotel. My room was clean and comfortable, TV reception in the room was below average. There was a surprisingly high number of cable stations to watch which made the TV quality even more disappointing.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
7
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emporia, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here one night on our way to Hawk's Nest. When we checked in I requested a room above the main floor and was told that was not possible as they had to keep the third floor available for the military. Our room was right off of the lobby and I was woken up with a pounding heart due to screaming children right outside the door at midnight.

The next morning I went down to use the exercise room at 7am and it was locked (sign said open at 5am). When I asked at the front desk, the woman at the desk questioned me ("Was I sure it was locked?") and only agreed to unlock it when I told her to forget it.

Room Tip: There is a brand new Comfort Inn past Oak Hill towards Fayetteville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Holiday Lodge for one night before our West Virginia whitewater trip. This hotel is just minutes away from ACE Adventures Resort and it sure beats camping out before a long day on the river. We basically needed a comfortable place to crash as we arrived into town late and had to get moving early the next morning.

Although a bit dated as evidenced by some worn carpets and some peeling wallpaper in places, this hotel was very clean and well kept. Quite honestly, it was better than I expected. The beds were comfortable enough and rooms were outfitted with flat screen televisions.

The hotel was quiet during the night, which is always a bonus. We did stay on a Sunday night though, which I'm sure is generally less busy.

There was a large pool and hot tub area which looked nice, but we didn't have time to enjoy this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Holiday Lodge because it was close to the New River Gorge National Park. Although the staff was clearly overwhelmed, they still tried to accommodate our large group of 15. The rooms were outdated and not very clean. We were in a nonsmoking room and it smelled like smoke. We got up the next morning and quickly went on to our next destination!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Spent two nights in the Holiday Lodge while visiting the area. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Convenient location for rafting activities. Carpeting in hallways is dated but no big deal! Nice that pool is indoors, restaurant onsite and big lobby with TV. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family stayed here for one night while passing through. The hotel was clean and comfortable and quiet even though the boy scout jamboree were there. Staff was accomodating. I would stay here again. The only downfall was the bar was VERY smokey. We wanted to go in for a drink, but that detered us and we went off property to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I grew up in the area and went to the high school next to the hotel. I recently went home for a class reunion decided to stay here. The rooms were clean, I will give them that. Even in the non-smoking rooms you can still smell the faint scent of old cigarette smoke which irritated my allergies. My reservation was wrong, they had me checking out a day early. Then when I did stay approximately $3000 worth of camera equipment was taken from my room while I was out visiting with my family who still live in the area. The manager was not available when I reported it stolen and I had to leave for the airport. A week later the manager has not contacted me about the incident, despite leaving my contact information at the hotel and calling 3 times myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 340 Oyler Ave, Oak Hill, WV 25901 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel Oak Hill New River Gorge)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Lodge Hotel Oak Hill
Holiday Lodge Hotel And Conference Center
Holiday Inn Oak Hill
Oak Hill Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Lodge Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.