We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn New River

Comfort Inn New River
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn New River to your Saves list
Comfort Inn New River
801 Mall Road, Oak Hill, WV 25901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Middlefield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the only reason anyone else stay there...to raft! It is an alright property, especially when you consider the low (raft deal) rate.

There are very limited television stations, the place is marginally clean (found long hairs on pillow), and the pool is laughable at best. There are two shopping carts in the back parking lot, one of which is from K-mart, although I didn't see a K-mart in the area.

The owner was overheard complaining about not being able to keep staff, which might account for the not-so-clean place.

WiFi was decent, and the allowed us to use the breakfast area to eat pizza in, after hours.

Overall, no major complaints, and it's better than sleeping in a tent by the river.

Room Tip: Dominoes pizza across the highway good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
22
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Close to "The Gorge", clean room. Old place needs updating. Old,pre-fab pool across from parking lot. Shabby pool furniture.
Breakfast room and food inadequate. Dont even bother trying the coffee.
Hotel entrance has oveflowing trash receptacle and nasty drips and stains all around it. Sitting area by front desk has a rug that is taped together at edges (I am not kidding!) Luggage carts have never been cleaned.
Save your money. Go camping!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room was small, the AC didn't work properly. Breakfast mostly gone by 9, though advertised as open until 10. Wifi did not work at all. Location was okay, but the prices seemed higgh for the locale.

Room Tip: Easy to get to the New River Gorge and bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The room was clean, hotel was clean, decent warm continental breakfast, overall good stay. Bed was a little rough and you might hear the people above you if they were loud due to the wood floors. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a family reunion 6/28/2014 and chose to stay here. We booked Thursday thru Saturday, leaving on Sunday. The beds were good, it was secure, decent pool (seasonal outdoor), decent breakfast too. We will stay here again and again as we have family in the area. They took care of us, I had just broken my ankle the week prior and made sure we had a ground floor room and extra pillows to prop it up. Just don't eat at the Shoney's that close by, yuck!

Room Tip: The beds we had was good beds. Other family that stayed said the same thing. I think in total we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was nice. I like the big bathroom. It was 5.5 ft x 11 ft. (room 314) Wow! The room was clean and the bed must have been great, because I didn't want to get up at 5 am like I normal do.
It had a microwave and a little refrigerator. The breakfast included egg patties, sausage, biscuits, dry cereal, bread, bagels, waffles, some fruit, coffee, milk, orange juice, and different jellies and jams. I am very pleased. I will stay there again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

As others have said, this hotel is fairly new. The rooms, common areas, and grounds are very clean, and the price is right!
Our group of 4 stayed in 2 rooms while rafting in the area. We were impressed by the value of this hotel - it is one of the newest and most inexpensive in the vicinity of the New River Gorge.
We had a great time in the outdoor pool! It wasn't large or fancy, but very well kept and refreshing.
For us, the location is excellent! We were only a 10 minute drive from Adventures on the Gorge, the company with which we chose to raft. Plus, the hotel is set back from the main road, making it the setting fairly peaceful. It sits beside a strip mall, which includes a Kroger (grocery store) restaurants, and other businesses. Several stores are empty on one end, giving it a slightly seedy quality. This was not an issue for us, but it seems worth mentioning.
We found the rooms to be clean and relatively spacious. All of the furnishings are in good shape. Our requests for an upper floor in a quiet location were met with ease.
The free breakfast was above average. Everyone found something to eat.
We plan to raft next summer, and will certainly select this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn New River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn New River

Address: 801 Mall Road, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn New River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn New River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.