We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and confortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn New River

Comfort Inn New River
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn New River to your Saves list
Comfort Inn New River
801 Mall Road, Oak Hill, WV 25901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and confortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a family reunion 6/28/2014 and chose to stay here. We booked Thursday thru Saturday, leaving on Sunday. The beds were good, it was secure, decent pool (seasonal outdoor), decent breakfast too. We will stay here again and again as we have family in the area. They took care of us, I had just broken my ankle the week prior and made sure we had a ground floor room and extra pillows to prop it up. Just don't eat at the Shoney's that close by, yuck!

Room Tip: The beds we had was good beds. Other family that stayed said the same thing. I think in total we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
24
23
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stephens City, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel was nice. I like the big bathroom. It was 5.5 ft x 11 ft. (room 314) Wow! The room was clean and the bed must have been great, because I didn't want to get up at 5 am like I normal do.
It had a microwave and a little refrigerator. The breakfast included egg patties, sausage, biscuits, dry cereal, bread, bagels, waffles, some fruit, coffee, milk, orange juice, and different jellies and jams. I am very pleased. I will stay there again the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

As others have said, this hotel is fairly new. The rooms, common areas, and grounds are very clean, and the price is right!
Our group of 4 stayed in 2 rooms while rafting in the area. We were impressed by the value of this hotel - it is one of the newest and most inexpensive in the vicinity of the New River Gorge.
We had a great time in the outdoor pool! It wasn't large or fancy, but very well kept and refreshing.
For us, the location is excellent! We were only a 10 minute drive from Adventures on the Gorge, the company with which we chose to raft. Plus, the hotel is set back from the main road, making it the setting fairly peaceful. It sits beside a strip mall, which includes a Kroger (grocery store) restaurants, and other businesses. Several stores are empty on one end, giving it a slightly seedy quality. This was not an issue for us, but it seems worth mentioning.
We found the rooms to be clean and relatively spacious. All of the furnishings are in good shape. Our requests for an upper floor in a quiet location were met with ease.
The free breakfast was above average. Everyone found something to eat.
We plan to raft next summer, and will certainly select this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is a newer hotel and is still very good condition. The room was clean and the staff was friendly, we will definitely stay here again. It is located close to restaurants and easy access from the highway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here while visiting family in the area. It was the most affordable hotel in the area at $85 a night. It is located next to a strip mall with several restaurants, stores and a grocery store. The rooms each had a mini fridge and a microwave. The bed was a little soft for my taste but others in our party thought they were very comfortable. The hotel was quiet and clean. There is a breakfast that is included with your stay. It isn't overly large, but does include self made waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal and fruit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

On the newer looking side as Comfort Inns go, this one is basically just like most of the reviewers have said. Right off Rt 19 and close to restaurants, gas, and all the things you might need while on the road. Clean rooms, well mainiatined and modern decor. Just be careful passing through Summersville, a well known speed trap. I like this property and would stay there again in a heartbeat. Stayed there just last night and wanted to give it my thumbs up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on backside of hotel, away from Rt 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here one night on our way home from S. Carolina. Great place, reasonably prices, close to the highway, lots of restaurants nearby. Room was clean, nicely decorated and had microwave and fridge. Also the most comfortable bed we have had on our entire trip! Good breakfast as well. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn New River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn New River

Address: 801 Mall Road, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Comfort Inn New River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn New River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.