We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn New River

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn New River to your Saves list
Comfort Inn New River
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn New River
801 Mall Road, Oak Hill, WV 25901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Oak Hill
hunter ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

check in was very fast. Great staff and nice rooms. the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean. right off of highway 19 so access was great. many places to eat. free breakfast with many choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitmore Lake, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It is right off of Hwy 19- Fayette Landing Road, up a slight hill. Coming from the south our GPS took us through town and into a shopping center. We had to ask for directions. The iPhone map was worse. The motel stands alone with not much nearby. However there is a shopping mall a short distance south of the unit.
Room was clean, and recently remodeled. Many of the rooms have been renovated and there is construction on other rooms. We got one that was renovated, but the hallway carpeting was still being installed. Not a problem. Room and bathroom were a little small but adequate. AC works well but is a bit noisy. However, it is a steady noise. We opted to open the window at night and it was quiet and we slept well. Rooms on 2d and 3d floor windows do open. Not on first floor, though.
Breakfast is very good. Waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, etc. Breakfast area is small.
Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can live without AC at night, ask for a 2d or 3d floor room and open the window, instead of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We used this hotel due to it's location near New River Gorge. Sadly however the weather didn't allow us to see the gorge before we left which was a shame. The lady at the reception when we arrived was friendly and checked us in with no bother. Once in the room I had to return to check in to ask about the internet password, which maybe should have been given on arrival. On closer inspection of the room we discovered dirty bed sheets, so I returned again to the front desk. She brought us clean sheets and also offered to change the beds but as my two children were already changed I declined this offer. The bathroom was smaller than usual with no where really to put anything and with 4 of us sharing was cosy, but as this was only an overnight stop was not really a huge problem. However in the morning it was discovered that a couple of the towels were also dirty/stained. The breakfast room was being renovated so it was served in the lobby, surprisingly this was ok. There was plenty of choice and it was clean and the staff member kept an eye on things and restocked when necessary, however had there been any more guest's that just my family in there at the time there would not have been space to sit. We have stayed in quite a few Choice hotel properties and this one fell into the bracket of average price and good location but did nothing to make it stand out as either the best or worst.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with a very friendly staff. The location is by far the best aspect of this hotel. The room was nice, bed was comfortable and there was nothing broke in the room. Breakfast was free and not too crowded. The hallway could use new carpet and the AC in the hallway was broke which made it a bit uncomfortable.

I would stay here again if I am going to visit the gorge again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice during a recent vacation. The first room had a smell of old smoke. Just in case, I brought a candle with me to mask unwanted smells. The second room did not have the old smoke odor. The staff was pleasant upon each registration. The rooms were clean and each had a newer 32" flat screen TV, microwave, and fridge. The bathroom is a bit smaller than newer hotels....no counter top space. Rooms were clean upon arrival. We used the facility's washing machine and dryer and they both worked well. Cost is $1.50 each. Breakfast was very tasty with lots to choose from....yogurt, eggs, sausage, sausage & gravy, biscuits, blueberry and regular waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels, and more. The outdoor pool is closed for the season, however, it backs up against a beautiful rock wall. I used the fitness center once. Small but adequate for cardio machines (treadmill, stair climber, and cycle). Flat screen TV provided in fitness area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Smells like mold from the minute you enter. We purchased air fresheners and left window open but still could not get rid of the smell in our room. Carpet is stained and needs replaced. There were spider webs in the hall window and it was left open (I guess to try to rid the hallway of the musty smell as well.) Would rather have stayed in Beckley and driven further to our destination than to stay in this overpriced, poorly maintained hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have stayed in many Comfort Inns and this is by far the worst...and worst hotel I have stayed in. The hotel is in a great location for Adventures on the Gorge, but sometimes, location isn't everything. When walking into the lobby, all the lights were off. Most of the lights were off in the whole hotel. No, the electricity wasn't off, I think they were trying to conserve energy (not that that is a bad thing). The room smelled like someone had smoked in the room, along with a damp mold smell on top of the smoke. The carpet needed replaced, and the sheets had black marks on them. The breakfast room is entirely too small for the guests and poorly laid out. In fact, we just turned around and went to Sheetz for breakfast. The best experience the entire time there was checking out.

Room Tip: Don't bother because you can hear everything from every room as we had a big party staying at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn New River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn New River

Address: 801 Mall Road, Oak Hill, WV 25901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Oak Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Oak Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn New River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn New River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.