We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT DAY ON THE RIVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Expeditions Whitewater Rafting

River Expeditions Whitewater Rafting
900 Broadway Avenue, Oak Hill, WV 25901
+1 800-463-9873
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Oak Hill
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience whitewater rafting and scenic float trips on the New River and Gauley River in West Virginia. We also offer: Fire Creek Lodge and Conference Center Dining Area Outfitters Store Welcome Center & Campstore Massage Studio & Spa Outdoor Pool & Hot Tub Zipline - new for 2014! Kid's Arcade Disc Golf Sand Volleyball Horseshoe Pits Cornhole games Hiking Trails ATM Pet Friendly environment
Danville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT DAY ON THE RIVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 NEW

This was my 4th white water rafting trip with River Expeditions. As always they delivered an awesome rafting experience. Can't wait for Gauley Season!

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    12
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rafting!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Weekend trip with Mars on Gravity and I was nothing but 800% satisfied with my trip. River Expeditions was fantastic and the rafting was world class!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome Weekend Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I decided to take a weekend trip up here for some camping and rafting and it was the best weekend I have had in a long time! When we checked in we expected to be assigned to a site but were told we could pick any tenting site we wanted. We found plenty of sites to choose from and they were all spaced apart well. When we checked out the bathroom/shower facility we were pleasantly surprised at how clean and well maintained they were. I had no issues showering and had plenty of hot water.

On the day of rafting we had to check in an hour before our scheduled departure and complete the waiver form. When we returned the head rafting guide went over some basic safety rules and we got all our equipment and loaded onto the bus. The ride to the river wasnt bad and we enjoyed the scenery on the way.

At the river we were divided into groups and assigned to a guide. I have to give a shout out to Brandon who was THE BEST guide ever! He went in depth with the do's and dont's of rafting safety. On our way down the river and in between rapids he told us lots of stories of WV history that were really very interesting. As we were approaching the rapids he would explain what we were to expect, what to do if we fell out of the raft, etc. Never did I feel nervous; I knew we were in very capable hands. I was sad when we reached the end of the trip because I had such a blast I didnt want the day to end. When we got back to the campsite we had about an hour to shower and change before meeting at the bar on the property to view the video footage of the day.

All in all I dont have one complaint about the weekend. In fact, we had such a great time that we are planning a reunion trip this fall with a few other couples we met and plan to raft the Gauley with Brandon guiding the way again!

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Tons of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

This place is very well organized and family-friendly! There's a ton of things to do and it's not that expensive! We definitely plan on going back to enjoy some of the other adventures offered!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Can't wait to do it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We went here because we love white water and we found an excellent groupon rate. We were signed up for the Lower New Express Trip. It's a half day trip. Our guide, Brendan, was amazing. He was so knowledgeable and really let us know what was coming and how to handle it. This water was no joke! Brendan made us feel safe but also knew how to have a good time. The campground was okay but I think next time I would stay in one of the cabins. The campground was just a big field with no real separation and some of the occupants were pretty loud until all hours of the night. Not to mention the port-a-potty started to get pretty rank by the end of the weekend and we ran out of TP. Come for the white water, not the camp ground!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Expeditions Whitewater Rafting also viewed

 

Been to River Expeditions Whitewater Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Expeditions Whitewater Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.