We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rio Grande
503 1st Ave S, Nitro, WV 25143-2315
304-722-6069
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Nitro
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great food and great service all at a great price. We love coming here with friends. Walking into Rio is like walking into the bar on tv Cheers...... Everyone knows your name. Prices are awesome for the amount of food you are served. My wife absolutely loves the Margaritas. Where else can you get two adults meals, a jumbo margarita, and a regular drink for under 30 dollars, and that includes the tip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVE IT, ONE OF OUR FAVS!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We love this place!! Food, people, and atomsphere is wonderful! Couldn't ask for better!!! Portions and service are very much worth the reasonable prices!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Not as good as it use to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We use to love this place, the quality has really gotten worse. The cheese dip was so runny it would not sta on the chips. Our entire group got sick. We think it was undercooked chicken. Won't be back :(

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poca, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Rio Grande has great Mexican food with great service and nice atmosphere. There's usually a short wait, but it is worth the wait. For those that like Margaritas, they serve a great Margarita and the chips and white cheese are awesome

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food is always good, and the service is usually pretty good, sometimes the service could be better, but overall a great place to eat.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.