We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you hear me now?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Save Saved
You added Mardi Gras Casino & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mardi Gras Casino & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Greyhound Drive, Nitro, WV 25313   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Nitro
MAYSVILLE, KENTUCKY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can you hear me now?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone in the hotel and casino were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good with everything cooked to order and the dinner buffet was a great deal for $9.95 ! The room was clean, large and comfortable. the only thing that was negative was the noise from adjacent rooms and hallway. If you are a light sleeper it may not be for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    50
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
35
83
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

From check-in to check-out everything here was super! Friendly desk staff and bellman (Eddie) made us feel right at home. Our room was very nice, but they really need to put refrigerators in the rooms instead of mini-bars. Room was clean, service was good. The casino was a pleasure to experience being smoke-free!! And the slots were much more generous this visit compared to our last time here.
Had dinner at the French Quarter. Very pricey, but the service (provided by Denee) and food were outstanding! We'll come back!

Room Tip: 4th floor doesn't have an ice machine, so if that's important to you, book a room on 1st, 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A group of friends went for a quick weekend trip and had a great time. The hotel was very nice and the rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The casino was a pretty good size and also very clean. The craps tables and blackjack tables get pretty full on weekend nights so it is sometimes hard to get on the tables. Other than that, the casino was great as well. The buffet had a little to be desired, but it was fairly cheap. The dog racing was fun since I had never bet on them before and it was nice weather to sit out and watch a few races. I would definitely visit again for a quick weekend trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Once again our stay exceed our expectations. Jerry Anderson and his staff are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Love having a jacuzzi tub in our room! Having bottled water in the room is very convenient. The free breakfast was amazing with made to order omelets. Looking forward to our next stay for my birthday!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed one night as a stop-over while traveling.

There was no valet parking at the hotel. We also required handicap parking, and there were only 3 handicap parking spaces, all taken. It was raining, so this was an extreme inconvenience for us.

The walls in the rooms were thin and the noise from the hallways and adjoining rooms was disturbing.

Now for the good stuff! The rooms were very well appointed, comfortable, and spacious. Couldn't have been better. Also, the complementary breakfast was restaurant quality with real plates and cutlery. The made-to-order omelet station was fantastic.

The room rate (discounted with a casino players card) was extremely reasonable.

Had a great time at the casino, as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were celebrating our 42nd Anniversary and wanted to go somewhere different. We emailed Jerry Anderson and he had Pam the concierge fulfill a dream anniversary. Her attention to detail is just one of the many assets she has. You can tell she loves her job and loves people. OUr experience was made into a dream for us. The Presidential Suite is like walking into our beautifully appointed home. 2 large rooms, a king size 4 poster bed. A fireplace in the living room. 3 Large flat screen TV's. Private jacuzzi whirlpool big enough for 10 people in our room. The room was quiet, comfortable and luxurious. Pam made each day special for us. Surprised us many times with special treats, food, desserts. If you are planning a special birthday or anniversary you have to go to Mardi Gras.Casino and Resort. Every single person on staff made you feel like you were important. The casino is beautiful. Had a variety of gaming tables and slots. I liked that it was not chaotic and the sounds were not overbearing. It was comfortable playing and they also have a dog track on the premises as well. Several places to eat on site from luxury to simple fare there is something for everyone. They provide a wonderful breakfast every morning replete with chefs making special omelets and eggs over easy to cereals and sweets, bacon, sausage, potatoes, all kinds of juices, coffee. Whatever you feel like eating they have. All done nicely and it all is free. The property is very well groomed. They have a heated pool and gym. For the novice gambler you will find it very comfortable. For the high rollers you will be treated well. Pam will try to make each of your experiences one that you will remember.
It is easy to get there and the town of Charleston is very quaint . No matter what you want to go Pam is there to offer her services to you. We have been to many casino's and even in Las Vegas we were not treated as well as we were here. We can not thank Mr Anderson and Pam enough for making our 42nd anniversary so special. If you want a fun time, good food, nice gambling tables, relaxing atmosphere please go to Mardi Gras...I promise you will not be disappointed. They make you feel like family...and we are forever grateful to them for this wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you have the money the suites are amazing. And worth every penny spent. The other rooms are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mifflin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife & I decided to take a casino 2 night trip to mardi gras casino & resort...we don't know how much a resort it is...the hotel is only about 5 years old & in very good condition...a weekday king room rate is $119 +taxes etc...very clean...made to order breakfasts were a nice touch to start the day...access to the casino was via an enclosed walkway...the casino is somewhat small compared to others we've been to...they also have greyhound racing...there are several choices for dining...from upscale French Quarter to the not so good buffet...the casino is very tight on comps...all in all the stay was very enjoyable except for the buffet which we & others do not recommend...also the wait staff at the table games is lacking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mardi Gras Casino & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mardi Gras Casino & Resort

Address: 1 Greyhound Drive, Nitro, WV 25313
Location: United States > West Virginia > Nitro
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Nitro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mardi Gras Casino & Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Mardi Gras Casino & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mardi Gras Hotel Nitro
Mardi Gras Casino And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mardi Gras Casino & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.