We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, wonderful beds, but put out your do not disturb sign!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newell to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newell
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1181 Washington Street, Newell, WV 26050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newell
Certificate of Excellence
Alliance, Ohio
1 review
“Lovely stay, wonderful beds, but put out your do not disturb sign!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The people were+caveat, like it says in the title, be sure to put out your do not disturb sign or housekeeping will come knocking on your door at 8am, not great when you are on vacation lol. The pictures dont lie, the beds are really that soft and the mattresses that thick, we got a great rate. The food was not good however, that would be what cost them a point. rubber eggs and greasy slabs of gray sausage... ;:shudders:: Other than that! A+

Room Tip: Book in advance or you arent likely to GET a room, most are taken by frakers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
19
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, MI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were in the area to tour the Homer Laughlin factory and decided to stay the night. The Holiday Inn was within walking distance. Since it is the only hotel on this side of the river, I had misgivings. I worried for nothing.
Kay, the desk clerk, gave us the same discounts we had found on line. The room was pleasant and clean. There were cookies and fruit available that evening and a generous breakfast bar in the morning.
When we are in the area again we would be delighted to stay here

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaM2, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newell, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment and for staying with us, I hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell, West Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Well in general the hotel was ok. But the service was just terrible. They weren't friendly. The blond girl behind the counter interrupted our breakfast by taking loudly about her problems. That's very unprofessional. We are not coming back here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newell, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Duckyin,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with the service. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Rest assured, we have taken note and have forwarded to the department involved for review and to take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Needed a room to stay in while having a wheel lift installed on our repo truck. This hotel is a hands down clean stay. We had (2) rooms for a total of 8 people. Both rooms were spotless and comfortable.

The rooms are spacious with plenty of electrical outlets. The Internet is speedy, but it does log you off in about 30 minutes. Beds are soft, and the numerous pillows allow for a great selection of how you may want to fall asleep.

Staff were very outgoing, and we're glad to accommodate any request we had. The hotel had a nice indoor pool that stayed warm. Breakfast was large, and included pancakes, crlereal, eggs, sausage, biscuits, and gravy.

Need to grab a hotel in this area? Look no further. Although the price is a little more than the others in the area you'll appreciate the fact you paid a little more for this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Ok,nothing special. Just your small town local hotel. The staff was Friendly, the hotel was clean, it also has breakfast. Had to be in town for last minute family stuff. Had stayed here in the past a few times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newell, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear troino6,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be clean, our staff friendly and the breakfast served sufficed your needs. It is always nice to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

I hope that when your travels bring you back to the area, you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Have family of 5, was a great deal with the super suite, 2 Queen beds plus the sofa bed. Most places wanted to sell us 2 rooms.

Evening arrival, warm cookies on the counter with comp coffee/tea/cocoa.

Room was well appointed. Comfortable beds, even the pull out sofa beds. Even with no door between "Rooms" kids were able to watch different TV Channels without overwhelming sound interference. Would have been nice to have another surface for suitcases to be opened and laid out on.

Refrigerator and Heater were very noisy, but my kids said my snoring out did them both....

Pool hours made it usable for a little exercise in the AM before checkout.

Staff was courteous. Complimentary breakfast was a bit above some that I have seen recently

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were excited to stay at Holiday Inn because their hotel is better than the others in the area.WE called to reserve a suite. We had both my sons and my older son's wife. My older son was home from the military for Christmas and we were all going together to visit family. When we got there, we found out there hadn't been a suite available, but instead there were two different rooms. That was fine, in fact it was great. We were less crowded.

The breakfast was great and the rooms were good. There was some strange bug climbing the wall in the boy's room, but I've heard they are everywhere.

The only real issue we had was that we were quoted one price on the phone, one when we checked in, and a much higher price when we left. My husband went in and spoke to someone at the desk. She assured him it would be fixed. At this point, it still has not been fixed.

In terms of hotel quality, it is the best hotel you can stay at in the area. They also have the best beds in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newell
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn East Liverpool
Comfort Inn East Liverpool
#1 of 3 in East Liverpool
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
15.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Weirton
16.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Steubenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Weirton
Holiday Inn Weirton
#1 of 4 in Weirton
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Weirton
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
Hampton Inn Steubenville Oh
#3 of 4 in Steubenville
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newell

Address: 1181 Washington Street, Newell, WV 26050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Newell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Newell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Newell is a 69-room Mountaineer hotel located minutes from Mountaineer Casino Racetrack & Resort and the Homer Laughlin China Co. and outlet, home of Fiesta ware. We feature free high-speed internet access, whirlpool rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, guest laundry, business center, microwaves and mini-fridges in all rooms, and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newell Hotel Newell
Holiday Inn Newell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.