We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Martinsville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Martinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Martinsville Inn
Save
You added New Martinsville Inn to your Saves list
166 North State Route 2, New Martinsville, WV 26155 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn New Martinsville)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates As Low As $89.95
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pool Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I live locally, and this is only hotel with indoor pool. I rented jacuzzi room with balcony overlooking indoor pool. Hotel is getting worn n dirty due to "gas boom" in area. They have 99% out of state worker customers. Nice to have Mc Donalds n Bob Evans within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
No doubt a lot of oil workers around but we shampoo the entire hotel every month. A lot of traffic makes the things worn out but we keep replacing the worn out items in the guest rooms constantly. Just replaced the recliners in every room of the hotel and put new refrigerators and microwaves in every room. New luggage racks are provided in every room last month. The reviewer gave us all pluses though, must be happy with thier stay. BTW...we do not allow pool parties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    9
    7
    23
See reviews for
11
3
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed there this past weekend Oct.20th.... It was the worst service of my LIFE!!! I seriously could go on and on about all the terrible service we received over the weekend being there with a wedding party... I mean we all had some type of bad experience... but the worst person to deal with is their so called "manager" David he is an idiot and rude! So if you ABSOLUTELY have to stay there don't deal with him he will ruin your stay in one way or another... he might even rent your room to someone else before you get there... He did that one too this weekend! Plus it was out dated out side of the pool room and just kinda icky looking black smears on the walls, wallpaper coming off, just not a nice place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Very strange because the mother of the bride groom was thankful to us up and down for taking care of their wedding so perfectly. The bride and bride groom made a telephone call after one week of departure and were very gratefull because hotel provided them a big wedding cake as a gift and decorated their suite. Not a single complaint from anyone! This reveiwer had no reservation out of the wedding party, shown up demanded the room for 2 nights, we had none, gave them a handicapped room for one night and moved them to a double room for the next night. David did not sell their room, they did not book any, but he tried to accomodate them and did not turn them away. They were still with thier wedding party. They were unhappy because their demands were not fulfilled that is what triggered this bad review and they found something to talk about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Martinsville hotels

New Martinsville, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

To all the people writing a good review on this hotel - How much did they paid you ? ..I don`t think you ever visited that place...
I been living in a hotels for 8 years now, due to been a construction worker. I stayed in places worse than that, BUT I never had such a bad service. The front desk is friendly alright, but they would not hesitate to move your belongings from one room to another with out a notice or even asking you if its OK to relocate you. Hope they didn't accidentally kept something while moving my things...
Room are old. No one cares for Non-smoking signs . People smoke in hallway . You can read other people review for better description on that. But I`m surprised no one had mentioned their "fitness room". It consists of three exercise pieces of equipment and its located under the stairs in a hallway.
Moving out as soon as possible..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Nobody can pay nobody to write a good review. This reviewer demanded to move the fitness equipment to his personal room which we declined because fitness equipment is for everyone. Reviewer had two rooms and both rooms left their belongings on the day of check out in their rooms. We were sold out on that day for those type of rooms and had reservations for incoming guests to go to those rooms. We made several phone calls up till 3PM check in time but no response. We had no choice but to go out of our way and bag all their scattered belongings and gently and securely move them to another type of room that was available. Did not kick them out but still accomodated them but upon their return in the evening of course they were not happy but fault goes to them for leaving their belongings on the day of check out for the rooms which were reserved for other people. Of course you cannot control if anyone smokes in a non-smoking area, all we can do to stop them and we have signs all over for no smoking in public areas. Fitness equipment are in the pool area, not under the stairs or in the hallways, anyone can come and check at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere USA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you plan your stay in New Martinsville, WV DO NOT.....I repeat do NOT stay at the amerihost / New Martinsville inn!!!! Roaches are the least of your worries at that place you'll be greeted by ridiculous back woods hospitality followed by phone calls at midnight because they want more money!! This was the worst and I mean WORST stay at any hotel in the many states that I must stay for business! If you plan a trip there stay at one of the other 3 in the area they may not be as eye appealing but they are roachless and actually know how to run a business!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Very funny because this reviewer short paid cash at the time of check in. We noticed the error right away and he just made it to his room that we called to come back and pay the difference. The reviewer tried to get away with that and said it is our fault so we have to pay for it for, for not collecting enough. We informed that if we do not get paid in full it will be theft of services and may have to call law enforcement. At that time the reviewer came and paid the difference and threatened he will call BBB, local chamber of commerce, and put a review on the trip advisor claiming that he was distrurbed and we made him come and pay which actually he owed. More funny thing is that not after 2 days reviewer was standing at the front desk begging for a room in the hotel which he does not call "roachless" , we refused because of the previous experience with him. Why would he come here when his review says "do not stay here" and there are 3 other hotels in the town?? This all makes no sense!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

our Mission team recently spent seven nights at your hotel our stay was excellent. rooms clean front desk very helpful especially Dave and Betty at . Breakfast could use a little more variety everything else fine again front desk very friendly and helpful. beaver dam baptist mission team . Jmcs

Room Tip: all rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My kids & I stayed at the New Martinsville Inn on June 6th & 7th and it was very nice! The rooms were clean, the guest area was nice and they also had unlimited juices & different coffees. Plus the pool & Jacuzzi were AMAZING! The pool was heated just right & there are steps going down into it with hand rails. And the jets in the Jacuzzi were wonderful, especially if you have a bad back or body aches. You can control the pressure of the jets manually. I will definitely be going back again & I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is lookin for a nice place to stay :)

Room Tip: The rooms on the river side are nice because you get a view of the Ohio river, which is beautiful! A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The pool area and lobby are very nice. The front desk people were very helpful and nice. Anything I ask of them they tried to accommodate. The hotel is close by Mc Donalds and Bob Evans, which is nice since their breakfast only consists of toast type breads, cereal and fruit. We paid $5.00 a day for a refridgerater. I did microwave popcorn in the lobby one evening. The rooms were an ok size but the furniture is dated, the carpet needs replaced and the beds need to be queen instead of doubles and new sheets that fit better would be GREAT. The bathrooms were ok, clean, but need some updating. The floor in bathroom looked new. We are a large group from TN that was on a mission to build a church.

Room Tip: There are no better hotels in this area. Ask for a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
The refrigerators and microwaves are now in every room at no charge and carpets are being replaced as we speak. Rooms are not so big that 2 queen beds can fit. Nobody complains about full size beds they are good for 2 people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Martinsville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Martinsville
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#1 of 4 in New Martinsville
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Moundsville
4.0 mi away
The Orchard Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Martinsville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Martinsville Inn

Address: 166 North State Route 2, New Martinsville, WV 26155 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn New Martinsville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > New Martinsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in New Martinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Free Continental Breakfast* Indoor Cozy Pool and Bubbling Spa* Complimentary Cappuccino, Reg/Decaf Coffee, Hot Tea, Hot Chocolate, Fruits, Juices, Spring water, Gummies, 24 hrs.* Free local calls* Free Hardwired Internet in the Lobby Computer* Data Ports & In-room Coffee* HBO & HSIA (wireless)FREE* Iron/Ironing boards and Hair dryer* Indoor corridor and key cards* Jacuzzi Suites and Honeymoon Suite* FEMA and Disability Compliance* Excerise Machines and In-room safes* Recliners, Work desks and 25" TVs* 2 Double Beds, King beds* Smoking or Non Smoking Rooms* Fridge and Microwaves in every room* On the bank of the Beautiful Ohio River* Children under 18 stay free with Paying Adult* Luggage racks in every room* 24 hour Front Desk Service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Martinsville Hotel New Martinsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Martinsville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.