We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saddler Family thumbs up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Martinsville Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Martinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Martinsville Inn
Save
You added New Martinsville Inn to your Saves list
166 North State Route 2, New Martinsville, WV 26155 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn New Martinsville)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates As Low As $89.95
Pikeville, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Saddler Family thumbs up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times and we have three children that stayed with us. The staff has become our friends and the swimming pool and hot tub is amazing . Very beautiful. Our room was always clean and we were given extra towels when we needed. The wifi always worked and everyone was willing to help us with what ever need we had. I would stay her again again. The pool was heated and warm and very relaxing. The rooms had wonderful fluffy pillows and the air was cool . The vending machines were always stocked and we were just very impressed with the value for the price. For a family the pool was not crowed at all as they cater to many workers so our children had the pool basically to themselves. We highly recommend this facility for anyone looking for a moderately price hotel with nice amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    9
    7
    21
See reviews for
11
3
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The good.......The female staff was very friendly.

The bad- They will automatically post an extra charge on your bill each day of $1.50 for a so called "security wrnty". This is for use of an in room safe located under the sink (where you normally wouldn't even notice it. They will try to charge you even if you don't use it. If you check in, be sure to take the key to the front desk so they won't charge you.

The ugly - The carpeting looks to have never been changed since the place was built......dirty looking and tne nap worn so there is a clear path visible from the door to the bedside. Linens were grease-stained (needed to be dry cleaned before washing). You can hear every footstep above if you stay on the ground floor. Dirt along every wall-to-floor juncture and base of bed. Been a road warrior for 40 years and this is one of the worst values for the money I've seen to date.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs or stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
It is declared very clearly about the safe charge in the room before guests sign the registration card which also gives the option to decline it at the time of check in or at the check-out. The money goes to the people who put the safes in the rooms so guests can use the safe for their valuables to be put inside, lock the safe and take the key with them. We adjust it off with no question asked, all they have to say we will not or did not use the safe and no safe key needed to be brought to the front desk to get the charge adjusted!
Carpets are being replaced as we speak they wear out with the time and usage and can only be replaced every so often. Some guests expect too much for the little money they spend as if they were staying in the Hilton but paying only under $80. We do the best we can and provide everything even free continental breakfast which Hilton or other big hotels will never provide and give personal service which big hotels don’t. Very many guests appreciate that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Martinsville hotels

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on May 25 for the race at Tyler County Speedway. We woke up in the morning and my brother found a small bug on him. Not knowing what it was, we started searching the bed covers. In the comforter, we found a bug about twice or more the size of the first bug and it was still living and crawling around. I looked "bed bugs" up on the Internet and the pictures I found EXACTLY resemble the big bug. I have pictures to prove it. I spoke with the WV Health Dept. they stated that they have had problems with this hotel before with bed bugs so you know they are there. The owner still will not return my calls, I have called at least 20 times since our stay and they tried to give me a 20% courtesy refund and they claim they are doing me a favor. Do not stay at this hotel unless you want bed bugs. If you want to see the pics, I will show them to you.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
They went to Tyler County Race Track called “Tyler County Speedway”, came back with swollen arms showing numerous bug bites and mosquito bites to everyone in the lobby. Next morning they came to front desk and asked for the refund saying they got bed bug bites and were showing picture. As a courtesy we give them a 20 % discount knowing that we DO NOT have any bed bugs in the hotel. Read all 32 reviews and see if a single one says about bed bugs!
We have an extermination contract who came every month so never ever any pest problems, never roaches or bugs ever. Who will stay here when we are at 95% occupancy, if we have what this review says?? Simple common sense question!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Sad to see how many bad reviews this hotel has. I have stayed in this hotel for months now and I have to say that the hotel staff are so friendly and kind. I am always greeted with a smile and anything that I need, I can always get from the front desk. The rooms are kept clean and the housekeepers have done their job. Sounds to me like these prior reviews are from disgruntled guests! Thanks New Martinsville Inn for such a wonderful stay. Trust me, I have stayed in far worse and compared to the hotels I stay in, I have to say that this hotel is one of the better!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestVirginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We were in town for a family wedding. I had read the reviews on line and they sounded mostly bad but because our children love swimming pools, we decided to try the New M. Inn. Our room was fine. It was comfortable, complete with fresh towels, temperature good, no loud noises. The pool was heated to our liking. (and not too many generally are for me) The hot tub was being repaired but that wasn't a big deal for us. The continental breakfast was very convenient and good. You can also walk to Bob Evans and McDonalds. They are literally in front of the hotel. We would stay again if ever in town. I did hear a lady complaining about her mattress at checkout. I would hope management would take that as an immediate mattress replacement. If so, how could you fault them. Yes, these things need replaced. Its not a new hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenup, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband checked in this dump for a 2 night stay.. and they charged our debit card like he had stayed there for 2 weeks... REFUSING TO REFUND THE MONEY THEY Charged.. HE has witnesses that he only checked in for 2 nights.. 2 weeks later our bank is in the hole and they charged him 595 dollars for a 2 night stay.. DO NOT PAY WITH UR DEBIT CARD>>> THEY WILLLLL RIP U OFF BIGTIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
How is it even possible to live in a country of laws and get rich with bogus charges to others?? One will not only go to jail but also be out of business in a very short time if this is actually true. Guest made reservation for 2 weeks, left without checking out even left some belongings in the room. We have no authority to check someone out if they have a reservation for a certain length of time. It is them who are supposed to come to front desk and check out if leaving before the end of their reservation. Guest was not charged a single dime past their reservation. We checked him out on our own when time came for his departure. It is not an issue of debit card or credit card. Guest will be charged if they don’t check out and have a reservation. Nothing wrong we did and no law was broken, and this is the same procedure in every hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband had to stay here for a few months while he was out of town working. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone unless your just looking for an overnight stay. It's like paying for a night at the Hilton but getting The Red Roof Inn instead. If you plan on staying here for a week or longer i suggest you try and pay with cash because they will RIP U OFF they over charge your card for more than what they are suppose to. I had to call them countless times because they kept our checking account jacked up. Oh and the WIFI and CELL service DOES NOT pick up in all areas of the hotel. THIS PLACE SUCKS BEWARE ! ! !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty L, Manager at New Martinsville Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
If this place is a rip off then apparently they will not stay here for a few months, not even a few days. Our prices never change no matter summer or winter, peak season or off season. Rates are mentioned at the time of reservation and again printed on the registration card, nothing hidden. We give discounts for corporate guests, workers, government, church, funeral, hospitals, industrial plants, AAA, AARP, etc. There is no “rip off” anywhere!
Every hotel gets a hold on the credit card for the number of nights guest plans to stay so at the time of check out the amount due can be charged to that hold and rest of the hold amount is released to the guest before we get our money credited to our account. Nobody needs to call to get the hold released because it is automatic put on and automatic released, all from computer to computer.
Off course we do not charge like Hilton but provide everything what Hilton provides even Red Roof Inn charges more than us for the exterior corridor motels where we are in-door secure always with all the amenities and facilities one can think of, including cozy swimming pool, bubbling spa, free HSIA, free local calls, free continental breakfast.
Nobody can be ripped off no matter paying by credit card, debit card, or cash. Not a single dime is ever over charged, everything is declared up front and credit card holder can always dispute the charges if wrong.
WIFI pick up depends on personal laptops. If lot of cookies already there it will not connect everywhere unless very close to the router. We absolutely have no problem with WIFI connections. We have two transmitters downstairs on each end of the hallway and two upstairs in the same way and every guest gets connected to the closest possible transmitter where there are maximum signals with no problems and it is secure because we provide passwords to access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Martinsville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Martinsville Inn

Address: 166 North State Route 2, New Martinsville, WV 26155 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn New Martinsville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > New Martinsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in New Martinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Free Continental Breakfast* Indoor Cozy Pool and Bubbling Spa* Complimentary Cappuccino, Reg/Decaf Coffee, Hot Tea, Hot Chocolate, Fruits, Juices, Spring water, Gummies, 24 hrs.* Free local calls* Free Hardwired Internet in the Lobby Computer* Data Ports & In-room Coffee* HBO & HSIA (wireless)FREE* Iron/Ironing boards and Hair dryer* Indoor corridor and key cards* Jacuzzi Suites and Honeymoon Suite* FEMA and Disability Compliance* Excerise Machines and In-room safes* Recliners, Work desks and 25" TVs* 2 Double Beds, King beds* Smoking or Non Smoking Rooms* Fridge and Microwaves in every room* On the bank of the Beautiful Ohio River* Children under 18 stay free with Paying Adult* Luggage racks in every room* 24 hour Front Desk Service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Martinsville Hotel New Martinsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Martinsville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.