We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McKinley's Cabin is the Perfect Romantic Getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnifex Ferry Cottages

Carnifex Ferry Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Nebo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carnifex Ferry Cottages
Save Saved
You added Carnifex Ferry Cottages to your Saves list
Summersville Lake, Mount Nebo, WV   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Nebo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“McKinley's Cabin is the Perfect Romantic Getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am shocked to read the responses from the snobs on this website. You can't go to the West Virginia Mountains and not expect to see a few cobwebs... not even at The Greenbrier.

With that being said, we stayed in McKinley's cabin for 3 days and it was adorable! The cabin is an original log cabin from the Civil War era, and all the kitchen appliances, heater, fireplace, and bathroom facilities worked great. The hottub was EXTREMELY CLEAN and so relaxing. I've never seen clearer skies or heard so much quiet in one evening.

If you're looking for attractions nearby, I suggest checking out Summersville Lake and Dam, and a Greek Restaurant called Cafe Acropolis. If you want to buy groceries, there is a Walmart Supercenter 6 miles down the road.

I would definitely go back. This little cabin is the essence of relaxation and romance!

Room Tip: Choose McKinley's Cabin out of all the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tryon, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in Rosencranz Rendevous for one week. We also had our dog with us. This cabin was really awful. It was very old and rundown and unkept. The hot tub had a ring of scum at the waterline that we had to scrub before we could use it. The cabin was full of very big spiders - we killed one in the kitchen almost every day. The carpet in the master bedroom had large stains on it and was very dirty. The bathroom door was busted and you could barely get it to stay shut.
The firescreen on the fireplace was severly damaged and offered no protection to the hardwood floors from sparks and popping wood. There wasn't even a hearth rug to protect the floors. Made us very nervous even to make a fire, which we did only once.
There was at least an inch of grease and debris in the oven, which we had to clean before we could even use it. When we turned it on, the fire alarm went off before we realized the grease was there. The skillets were in terrible condition and made it very difficult to try to cook a meal. We actually went out and bought a mop and bottle of Lysol to clean the floors because we just couldn't stand that the place was so dirty. I noticed there was a note from the management on the kitchen counter to please leave a tip to the housekeeper when you left for all of her hard work to clean your cabin. We almost laughed - I don't know who is cleaning here, but I think she forgot her assignment and passed on this cabin. This cabin was dark and the windows were full of spiderwebs and other debris which was kind of creepy.
We walked around the grounds, which contained several other cabins. No one was renting the other cabins that day, so we took the opportunity to look at them. We noticed they were all newer, cleaner, and looked very nice. I don't know if the fact that we had a dog literally put us in the "dog cabin", but we were definitely in the worse cabin in the place.
This cabin nearly ruined our vacation. We travel quite a bit and always travel with our dog. We have never stayed in a place so depressing!! If you consider staying here, better not take your dog and make sure you stay in one of the other cabins.
We were told we would receive $75.00 of our dog deposit back if there was no damage to the cabin. We never received this back from the owner, even though there was no damage. In fact, this cabin was cleaner when we left than when we arrived, because we cleaned it!!
Watch out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have mixed opinions on Carnifax Ferry Cottages because we have stayed in a few different ones. Needles to say, we have ofcourse always had a good time, and they are decently priced, hence the 4-star rating. That said, here are my thoughts. We stayed at The Gauley Get-Away (6br) last and had an amazing time. This house is absolutely perfect for a big group, except for the fact that there is little padding between the walls so you can hear everything everywhere. The hot tub was great, the big yard, the kitchen was well-stocked, and the facilities were generally clean and nice. This year we shared two cabins: Colonel Lowe's Last Stand and General Wise's Choice. Colonel Lowe's Last Stand was also great. It was well equipped, clean and overall receives 1 thumb up. General Wise's Choice was much different though. The kitchen was very sparsely equipped compared to other cabins we've stayed at (here or elsewhere). There was hardly any cutlery, no bake sheets and pans etc. No big pots. Usually there will be some coffee filters for whatever coffee pot is in the house, and some other basics, but the cabinets were almost empty. Our group enjoys big family dinners, and coffee and breakfast together in the morning. This was difficult with so few things to work with. Also, the hot tub here hardly produced any bubbles which was sort of annoying after a full day of rafting where you would like that to soothe those sore muscles.

Finally, on the overall performance of the rental places. What is up with the no-dogs-allowed? It's West Virginia... Supposedly Wild and Wonderful, plenty of nature, hiking etc. The group of ours that usually travel together, half of them have dogs (well-behaved). We hate the fact that we'll be hiking around without our furry buddies. Please take a serious look at your pet policies. Dogs are no more damaging to a house than kids or some adults for that matter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

worst experience ever! beds were completely wore out. the furniture was completely wore out. They had a sofa sleeper that was broken and two people had to sleep on the floor. A kitchen chair was broken and no one could sit in it. the satalitte could only get a couple of channels and the hot tub buttons were stuck. The the toilet stopped working. These people definitely did not check the cabin before taking my money. They also did not offer to refund any portion of our money. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. I or my family will not be back. A complete waste of time and money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenswood, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Recently spent a weekend at Major Harding's Abode. It is absolutely fabulous. The house was spotless and had everything you could need. It is private, yet not isolated. The hot tub was very clean and a wonderful added bonus. Very close to Carnifax Ferry Battleground and the beach at Carnifax Ferry. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We are avid photographers and went to WV to capture the beauty but we had no idea that this would turn into one of the most memorable vacations of our lives.

First, Jo and Dave were wonderful hosts and it turns out that Dave has the photography bug himself. He pointed us in all the right directions to get the best photos and took us on a couple of hikes near the cabins to areas that only the locals know about. The views were spectacular!

After a day of hiking we returned to the cabins where we spent the evening relaxing in a sparkling clean hot tub (I overheard that they completely drain and clean the hot tubs after every stay) and enjoyed a great bottle of wine. Aside from the sound of the water in the hot tub and our own voices, the only sounds were those of crickets, tree frogs, and an occasional owl.

I highly recommend Carnifex Ferry Cottages and we will be back!

Room Tip: Just tell Jo or Dave what type of trip you're planning and they'll do the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Had a great romantic getaway at the Hughes' Hideaway. Very private, secluded mountain setting. Nice Hot Tub! Fantastic get away from the city! We will definately be back. Lots to do in the area, Battlefield, rafting, beach at the lake! Fantastic time, thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carnifex Ferry Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnifex Ferry Cottages

Address: Summersville Lake, Mount Nebo, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Mount Nebo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Nebo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Carnifex Ferry Cottages Hotel Mount Nebo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnifex Ferry Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.