We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised one thing, delivered another” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Chestnut Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Adamstown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Promised one thing, delivered another”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I made my reservations on the Chestnut Motel website. I had to call the hotel the next day to get them to email my reservation. I asked the lady on the phone if they had a Government rate and she replied with "We will take care of that when you arrive” I say no problem.

04/11/14 - I arrive at the hotel. The lady at the front desk tells me we cannot give you the Government rate because of my room. I didn’t reserve anything that needed changed, so I believe she or the person that answered the phone when I reserved the room would have known that information and should have told me that then and I could have canceled or changed my reservations accordingly. The lady at the front desk says that someone gave me the AAA rate. I reserved the hotel online and the price never changed. What they gave me online was the regular rate. Don't take credit for giving me a discount when there was no discount given. Don't tell the room regularly cost $210 a night if you don’t charge $210 a night. The motel may have started charging that amount 6 months ago when they opened and realized it was outrageous. Did I have the magic IP address, I don't think so. So now I am stuck paying for the room since it's past the time I can cancel my reservation. Reminds me of an ad that promises a price to get you there and makes you pay a higher price. What's that called again? So I go up to the room and it's completely dark and that would have been awesome if I brought my wife. I unpacked and the only light I could get other than what seemed 15 watt light bulbs was opening the curtains. I noticed there was no ironing board. I got ready to meet a few friends and returned to the lady at the front desk talking on her cell phone. I asked her if she could get an ironing board to my room. Said she would get one there in a few minutes.

04/12/14 – Still no ironing board, but I didn't allow much for the hotel to mess up, but I did walk up 4 flights of stairs only to find out I couldn't get onto my floor. There was no posted sign exit only or no entry to guest floors. I ask the same lady as the day before if I could get onto my floor from the stairs and she asks did I use these stairs pointing to her right. I was assuming since she was positioned in the front and the whole motel was to her right that the stairs I took were the ones she was pointing at. I was wrong. She then tells me I should have tried these stairs again pointing to right. I say I am not walking up 4 flights again. She replies with "I guess you need to take the elevator”. I wish there was more to that conversation, but I included every bit of dialogue with the exception me stating “wow, how considerate”

04/13/14 – I get up around 3:45am from loud banging of the people cleaning at the bar empting trashcans below my room. So decided to take a shower and leave for home. I packed everything and brought my bags to the car. Did I mention still no ironing board when I left. The gentleman that checked me out was at least apologetic about my bad stay. I asked him what the cost per night was for the nights I just stayed. He said $164. I then mention my story about the price I was told when I arrived. He says Oh that price is $295 per night. I was told three different prices of what the hotel could have charged me. To almost say be lucky we are charging you this (the amount on the receipt). I explained the situation to him and he tried to make things right that night but couldn’t change the rate. He said he would tell his manager in the morning and everything would get straightened out then (Sunday morning) and today I have not received a call or an email stating it was completed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    22
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
33
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here on a college visit trip and were impressed by the size and cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The hotel was in the center of town so very convenient to restaurants and attractions. The complimentary breakfast was a nice addition. Some of the other guests were a little loud in the evening but I didn't notice during the night. Just a note, it is hidden away on Chestnut Street and the GPS was a little off. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I recently have been staying at the Chesnut Hotel going on 4 days now I believe, and it absolutely beautiful. The rooms are very big and the beds are extremely comfortable and I love the way they decorated it. The staff is very friendly, there was only two dislikes I didn't like the fact there was no coffee pot and there was no microwave so everything we needed to heat something up, we had to go downstairs. But from our room we could just walk outside and smoke and the bar and hot tub was just right outside and a beautiful view of downtown. We are definitely coming back, I plan on having my birthday here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, right downtown in Morgantown, WV, portrayed itself as a dream that could be but hasn't quite arrived yet. However, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a change from the cookie cutter highway hotel chains.

Boutique sums up the decor, with transitional meets boudoir accents, leather chaise lounges, a luxurious black faux fur blanket on the bed (very clean, I checked), and sometimes down right sensual art on the wallpapered walls. The bath had a delicious vanity of black granite caressing a rectangular vessel sink (a little low). The rooftop hot tubs, bar, and seating area show that in the summer, this could be pleasant place to wine, dine, dance, and view Morgantown from up high. I would definitely come back.

Clean and spacious (maybe too spacious...some space was oddly barren), it was a great room for the price. However the hotel itself, although their heart was in the right place, was almost a rube in it's best finery.

Some suggestions for the management: 1) Most staff was great, but some don't have your vision. As a boutique hotel, your business is the special and unexpected. When a customer comes up at 5am and asks for coffee, don't tell them to come back at 6:30. I had to walk to the gas station. 2) Ditch the breakfast. It's a cost you don't need and the execution was not up to par. 3) Light the garage more. 4) Details Details Details. If you want to rise above, all the towels should match and be presented in an appealing way. Yes, the bath towel was folded nicely, but the others were stuffed into the vanity.

Thanks

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We thought our overnight stay here was very pleasant. We had a large nice room on the fourth floor. It had all the amenities including a very comfortable king sized bed and a small refrigerator. The complimentary breakfast was fine - bagels, muffins - the usual. The hotel is in the downtown area and so close to restaurants and stores for browsing. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We also enjoyed a drink in the bar next door. So handy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Prime down town location with great modern amenities. Big whiskey great for a cocktail and very convenient parking for the guests. My new favorite place to stay when visiting my daughter on Morgantown! Goodbye waterfront hello chestnut!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I came into town for business and was redirected to The Chestnut Hotel... and so glad I was. This hotel is in the center of Morgantown and has a lot to offer. The staff was extremely welcoming and very accommodating to my needs. The room was very spacious and my favorite was the modern artwork! I was able to enjoy a quiet cocktail on the 4th floor rooftop. I've stayed in many hotels including boutique style... they hit the nail on the head on this one. Morgantown is lucky to have such a complex. I will be staying again for sure.

Room Tip: Let them know why you are staying... I explained I was in for business and they situated me in a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
John D -
Thank you so much for taking a moment to give feedback from your recent stay at The Chestnut Hotel. We are excited to showcase the bar and lounge area on the 4th floor, and appreciate knowing that you were staying with us for business, so our team could find the right room to help make your stay truly exceptional.
We look forward to having you stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the Morgantown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chestnut Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Address: 345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chestnut Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Morgantown, West Virginia. The hotel offers complimentary wifi, coffee and fruit stations on each floor and complimentary garage parking. There are also two bars on-site: Big Whiskey Saloon and RockTop Lounge - our rooftop cabana bar with two hote tubs. The hotel is conveniently located near Morgantown Regional Airport (MGW), local bus routes, the PRT system (public transportation) and both West Virginia University campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chestnut Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.