We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful unique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Chestnut Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wonderful unique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here on a college visit trip and were impressed by the size and cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The hotel was in the center of town so very convenient to restaurants and attractions. The complimentary breakfast was a nice addition. Some of the other guests were a little loud in the evening but I didn't notice during the night. Just a note, it is hidden away on Chestnut Street and the GPS was a little off. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    17
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
29
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I recently have been staying at the Chesnut Hotel going on 4 days now I believe, and it absolutely beautiful. The rooms are very big and the beds are extremely comfortable and I love the way they decorated it. The staff is very friendly, there was only two dislikes I didn't like the fact there was no coffee pot and there was no microwave so everything we needed to heat something up, we had to go downstairs. But from our room we could just walk outside and smoke and the bar and hot tub was just right outside and a beautiful view of downtown. We are definitely coming back, I plan on having my birthday here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, right downtown in Morgantown, WV, portrayed itself as a dream that could be but hasn't quite arrived yet. However, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a change from the cookie cutter highway hotel chains.

Boutique sums up the decor, with transitional meets boudoir accents, leather chaise lounges, a luxurious black faux fur blanket on the bed (very clean, I checked), and sometimes down right sensual art on the wallpapered walls. The bath had a delicious vanity of black granite caressing a rectangular vessel sink (a little low). The rooftop hot tubs, bar, and seating area show that in the summer, this could be pleasant place to wine, dine, dance, and view Morgantown from up high. I would definitely come back.

Clean and spacious (maybe too spacious...some space was oddly barren), it was a great room for the price. However the hotel itself, although their heart was in the right place, was almost a rube in it's best finery.

Some suggestions for the management: 1) Most staff was great, but some don't have your vision. As a boutique hotel, your business is the special and unexpected. When a customer comes up at 5am and asks for coffee, don't tell them to come back at 6:30. I had to walk to the gas station. 2) Ditch the breakfast. It's a cost you don't need and the execution was not up to par. 3) Light the garage more. 4) Details Details Details. If you want to rise above, all the towels should match and be presented in an appealing way. Yes, the bath towel was folded nicely, but the others were stuffed into the vanity.

Thanks

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We thought our overnight stay here was very pleasant. We had a large nice room on the fourth floor. It had all the amenities including a very comfortable king sized bed and a small refrigerator. The complimentary breakfast was fine - bagels, muffins - the usual. The hotel is in the downtown area and so close to restaurants and stores for browsing. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We also enjoyed a drink in the bar next door. So handy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Prime down town location with great modern amenities. Big whiskey great for a cocktail and very convenient parking for the guests. My new favorite place to stay when visiting my daughter on Morgantown! Goodbye waterfront hello chestnut!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I came into town for business and was redirected to The Chestnut Hotel... and so glad I was. This hotel is in the center of Morgantown and has a lot to offer. The staff was extremely welcoming and very accommodating to my needs. The room was very spacious and my favorite was the modern artwork! I was able to enjoy a quiet cocktail on the 4th floor rooftop. I've stayed in many hotels including boutique style... they hit the nail on the head on this one. Morgantown is lucky to have such a complex. I will be staying again for sure.

Room Tip: Let them know why you are staying... I explained I was in for business and they situated me in a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
John D -
Thank you so much for taking a moment to give feedback from your recent stay at The Chestnut Hotel. We are excited to showcase the bar and lounge area on the 4th floor, and appreciate knowing that you were staying with us for business, so our team could find the right room to help make your stay truly exceptional.
We look forward to having you stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the Morgantown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a great hotel in the heart of Morgantown! I recently had to pick my son up for spring break and last minute decided to stay at the Chestnut Hotel. I was thoroughly satisfied with the experience! Everyone at the hotel is extremely friendly. The room I stayed in was spacious and clean. There is a parking garage attached to the hotel, so there was no need to drive anywhere once I arrived. In the morning there is a complimentary breakfast that was a perfect way to start the day! I will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Maureen T -
We are so pleased that you found our new hotel to be a great option to your recent trip to Morgantown. Please keep us in mind for future travels to Morgantown as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chestnut Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Address: 345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chestnut Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Morgantown, West Virginia. The hotel offers complimentary wifi, coffee and fruit stations on each floor and complimentary garage parking. There are also two bars on-site: Big Whiskey Saloon and RockTop Lounge - our rooftop cabana bar with two hote tubs. The hotel is conveniently located near Morgantown Regional Airport (MGW), local bus routes, the PRT system (public transportation) and both West Virginia University campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Chestnut Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.