We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT HOTEL IN EVERY WAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Chestnut Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT HOTEL IN EVERY WAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I am from London and a regular hotel stayer. This new Hotel must succeed and is a credit to Morgantown.

- SUPERB ROOMS: huge amounts of space and comfort - the beds are amazing!
- EASY PARKING: secure indoor car park
- GREAT LOCATION: quiet yet central
- MAGNIFICANT STAFF: friendly, efficient, helpful and "with a brain"
- INCREDIBLE VALUE: I was amazed at the price and that they are no more than an ordinary chain - this is bound to change and probably should

My advce to anyone staying in Morgantown is stay here - and if you have a few options and are considering staying locally, Morgantown is a great town with a nice atmosphere, and the Chestnut Hotel is the place to stay if you are here.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are good - as the hotel is purpose built and the ethos of service and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
MB - Thank you for the review of your recent stay! We are proud to be Morgantown's brand-new boutique hotel. It's exciting when our guests can experience not just the hotel, but also all that the local area has to offer. We forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to the Morgantown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
21
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Mom has cancer so we are in Morgantown every 6 months for follow up at Mary Babb Randolph. All is going well, and staying here made this trip so much more enjoyable than other places we have stayed in town. Everyone we met was pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious but still had a cozy feel. It is so convenient to the healthcare campus (maybe a 7-10 minute drive with traffic), we will be staying here again. Thank you for a nice, pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear cs1225 - Thank you for the review of your recent stay at our hotel. If there is anything your family may need on your next trip to Morgantown, please let me know.

Shanna Biser, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Chestnut Boutique for only one night for a mini-getaway and date-night. The hotel is spectacular. The decor is splendid, and though very modern, is warm and welcoming. This is true both in the common spaces (lobby, hallways, etc.) and the rooms. The beds were beckoningly comfortable with the softest sheets and blankets and pillows that, unlike most hotels, were fluffy and comforting, not broken down. The place was immaculately clean (and, as a former hotel housekeeper at a swanky chain hotel, my standards are impeccably high) and well-stocked. What's more, having the Big Whiskey restaurant, bar, and dance hall practically attached to the hotel made our evening out really fun. The Rock Top bar and grill on the roof was unfortunately closed during our stay, but we're planning another quick trip in the summer so we can experience that as well.

We've stayed in a lot of hotels in the Morgantown area, and this is far and away our all-time choice from now on. You won't be disappointed with this!

Room Tip: We choose the Deluxe queen with the Jacuzzi tub, and it was totally worth the extra money. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Mesamiller - thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at The Chestnut Hotel. We share each review with our team, and it is always exciting to know we have exceeded the expectations of someone who knows the "ins and outs" of hospitality. We look forward to having you stay with us again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Thank you for making it special. Very Nice clean well staffed inn. Me and my husband had a great stay. The restaurant next door was amazing. The food and service was off the chart! Thank you again for a great evening..:)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Anna P - Thanks so much for choosing The Chestnut Hotel for your 20th Anniversary. We look forward to the opportunity to host you and your husband again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

As a frequent traveler to Morgantown, I've stayed in every hotel in town. This is a great new and different addition. It's location is key, the closest hotel and easy walk to the downtown campus. The rooms are spacious and a lot of effort was devoted to the warm and inviting decor. You can walk to many restaurants and shops, and the hotel has a fun rooftop bar. If you prefer boutique to chain, this is the way to go.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for the review, tropicalfan! We are proud to be Morgantown's brand-new boutique hotel. It's exciting when our guests can experience not just the hotel, but also all that the local area has to offer. We forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to the Morgantown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Covered parking available. Beautiful rooms. The ability to walk to campus, High Street, and the PRT is the best feature!
We will be back to enjoy the rooftop and lobby bar(it was not completed for our visit).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to add a review of our new hotel for fellow travelers. You couldn't have said it better about the convenience of our location in the heart of downtown Morgantown - so close to much of Morgantown and WVU. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chestnut Hotel, to enjoy the open air rooftop area and the lobby bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay at the Chestnut while visiting our daughter at WVU. Megan at the front desk was incredibly helpful and made us feel extra special. The rooms are nice and large and the bathrooms very well appointed. Felt like we were a guest in someone's house. Welcomed and pampered. Breakfast was simple, tea from the Tea Shoppe was a nice surprise. Excellent location in the middle of downtown. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
WendyD - we thank you for your feedback on your Chestnut Hotel experience. In each of our uniquely appointed guestrooms, the ultimate goal is to truly appeal to the senses. We do share each review with our team, so we can continue to exceed guest expectations each time they stay with us. Thank you for choosing our brand-new boutique hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chestnut Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Address: 345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chestnut Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Morgantown, West Virginia. The hotel offers complimentary wifi, continental breakfast and garage parking. There are also two restaurants on-site: Big Whiskey Saloon (featuring HotRod's BBQ) and RockTop Bar & Grill, our rooftop deck with live entertainment. The hotel is conveniently located near Morgantown Regional Airport (MGW), local bus routes, the PRT system (public transportation) and both West Virginia University campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Chestnut Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.