We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 year Anniversary ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Chestnut Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“20 year Anniversary ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for making it special. Very Nice clean well staffed inn. Me and my husband had a great stay. The restaurant next door was amazing. The food and service was off the chart! Thank you again for a great evening..:)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Anna P - Thanks so much for choosing The Chestnut Hotel for your 20th Anniversary. We look forward to the opportunity to host you and your husband again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

As a frequent traveler to Morgantown, I've stayed in every hotel in town. This is a great new and different addition. It's location is key, the closest hotel and easy walk to the downtown campus. The rooms are spacious and a lot of effort was devoted to the warm and inviting decor. You can walk to many restaurants and shops, and the hotel has a fun rooftop bar. If you prefer boutique to chain, this is the way to go.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for the review, tropicalfan! We are proud to be Morgantown's brand-new boutique hotel. It's exciting when our guests can experience not just the hotel, but also all that the local area has to offer. We forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to the Morgantown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Covered parking available. Beautiful rooms. The ability to walk to campus, High Street, and the PRT is the best feature!
We will be back to enjoy the rooftop and lobby bar(it was not completed for our visit).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to add a review of our new hotel for fellow travelers. You couldn't have said it better about the convenience of our location in the heart of downtown Morgantown - so close to much of Morgantown and WVU. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chestnut Hotel, to enjoy the open air rooftop area and the lobby bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay at the Chestnut while visiting our daughter at WVU. Megan at the front desk was incredibly helpful and made us feel extra special. The rooms are nice and large and the bathrooms very well appointed. Felt like we were a guest in someone's house. Welcomed and pampered. Breakfast was simple, tea from the Tea Shoppe was a nice surprise. Excellent location in the middle of downtown. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
WendyD - we thank you for your feedback on your Chestnut Hotel experience. In each of our uniquely appointed guestrooms, the ultimate goal is to truly appeal to the senses. We do share each review with our team, so we can continue to exceed guest expectations each time they stay with us. Thank you for choosing our brand-new boutique hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I frequent Morgantown West Virginia for business about 3 to 4 times a year. Finding a hotel that provides the perfect balance between great location and upscale accommodations and amenities has been a struggle. Look no further than the Chestnut Hotel. One big plus is its proximity to downtown. It is also owned by the same owners of Big Whiskeys and Rock Top so you have direct access to some pretty good nightlife venues to unwind.

The rooms are well appointed and beds are super comfy. Chestnut has mini bar options and toiletries that are expected for a boutique hotel.

Overall a great experience!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
NickG - thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your recent stay at The Chestnut Hotel. We are excited to be open in the downtown Morgantown area, and to offer not only unique hotel accommodations but also dining and nightlife options as well. We look forward to having your stay again when business brings you back to the Morgantown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The staff at The Chestnut makes you feel that you are the only guest there! With 40 rooms, we received personalized service and felt part of their family. Our hotel room was beautifully decorated and we were told each room is unique. We ate at the Rocktop Bar & Grill on the roof and the food was exceptional. It is a great location as well. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend The Chestnut Boutique Hotel!.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are so pleased that you felt like a part of our family during your stay at The Chestnut Hotel. Our team truly takes pride in making sure that each guest has an exceptional stay at the new venue. We look forward to welcoming your family again on a future trip to Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Chestnut Boutique Hotel is located downtown near the campus of West Virginia University. It is a renovated old hotel with only 40 large rooms each uniquely decorated. The staff will bend over backwards to accommodate your needs. There is a bar and grill on the top floor with fabulous food at very reasonable prices prepared by the Chef Bobby. On weekends there is a hot breakfast as well, They had a shuttle that took us to the WV football stadium for a game and then picked us up. I feel this shuttle would be available for other reasonable outtings if you just asked.If you are ever near Morgantown, WV, this is a must stop and do place that you will not forget.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor (4th) with just a walk to the bar and grill. There is also a hot tub on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary33331941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Front Office Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Mary33331941 - it was a pleasure to host your family on the recent trip to Morgantown. Thank you for adding a review about your experience at The Chestnut Hotel, especially how convenient it was for football GameDay access. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on a future trip to Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#8 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#2 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#13 of 23 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#6 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Morgantown
Residence Inn Morgantown
#1 of 23 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#5 of 23 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnut Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Address: 345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chestnut Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Morgantown, West Virginia. The hotel offers complimentary wifi, coffee and fruit stations on each floor and complimentary garage parking. There are also two bars on-site: Big Whiskey Saloon and RockTop Lounge - our rooftop cabana bar with two hote tubs. The hotel is conveniently located near Morgantown Regional Airport (MGW), local bus routes, the PRT system (public transportation) and both West Virginia University campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Chestnut Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing