We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other Choice in Morgantown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Chestnut Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No other Choice in Morgantown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Thank God, Morgantown finally has a great new downtown Hotel. The Chestnut is far and away the nicest in town, centrally located and has everything you could want on site. Excellent restaurant, awesome sky bar, great staff and really cool rooms. I've traveled around the glove and have yet to find anywhere where the entire staff was awesome. Every single one of them! Very rare and very real. If you're tired of the same old same old, make the move. They're well worth the money.

Room Tip: I'd stongly recommend one of the suites. They're very roomy and the corner rooms have 3 win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hi Daniel R - Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Chestnut Hotel. We truly appreciate that you took the time to let other guests know about our oversized suites, rooftop area and convenient location in downtown Morgantown. We hope to see you again when you visit Morgantown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    31
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
44
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Chestnut is a wonderful new hotel hidden in plain sight on Chestnut Street in Morgantown, WV.We'd booked a King Standard room but were upgraded to a King Deluxe which, we were told, is the same room only with a jetted Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The room and bathroom were very large and, unlike most hotels, there was counter and shelf space sufficient for our bathroom items.

The King bed was extremely comfortable and the air conditioner unit was quiet. All room supplies were provided in ample quantities.

Out a door from the fourth floor, where our room was located, is a massive, multi-level deck with indoor and outdoor bars, two pools with wide seat-edges. The sign indicated that they can cater up to 550 people there and I believe it to be so.

The staff of the hotel was very friendly but not intrusive. The Hospitality manager, Jon, made sure that we had everything we needed and that our stay was comfortable.

A couple of things that would make this place even better- Our room had a chaise and a desk chair but not a comfortable reading chair with ottoman. The bathroom sink needs a soap dish and, because our door was near the elevator and entrance to the party deck, it needs better soundproofing. Happy, talkative people outside our door sounded as if they were inside our room. We were grateful that we were there mid week and there were very few people coming and going.

We will certainly make this our "regular" hotel when in Morgantown. It's down town, where many of the best restaurants and all of the interesting shops are located and is steps from the PRT station for easy access to the entire West Virginia University campus.

Room Tip: The corner king suites are huge, if you like lots of space but the standard king rooms are larger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Horticulturist56 - Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay. We value this feedback about your guest room, and will share the suggestions with our team. Thanks for choosing The Chestnut Hotel when you travel to the Morgantown area. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Although this hotel is super new they are truly amazing. The rooms are amazing. The location is great because it's right downtown. The customer service is great. They are great at answering your questions and getting you what you need. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Gurltrav - thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at The Chestnut Hotel. We are proud to be Morgantown's newest hotel, and we count on feedback from our guests to help us continue to make sure each guest visit is as FANTASTIC as yours was. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a great time staying at the Chestnut Boutique Hotel! It's location is perfect if you're wanting to have a night out in Morgantown. With it's rooftop bar, along with multiple other bars in the building, there is not need to even leave the facilities! With the hotel still being new in the Fall of 2013, there was still some construction going on throughout the hotel; however, this did not disrupt our enjoyment.
Early in the morning the fire alarm was pulled and we were evacuated out of our room for an hour. Management was very understanding of the inconvenience and comped us another night stay. We really appreciated their hospitality!
With your typical chain hotels at every corner in Morgantown, with travelers coming for WVU's sports events and also business travelers, I would definately recommend this hotel over any Holiday Inn, Comfort Inn, etc.
I can't wait to stay again! Hopefully I can try their restaurant this time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor give you quicker access to the rooftop bar! =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for this review. We share all feedback from guests with our team, and we look forward to your stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent a night at The Chestnut last week while visiting my son at WVU. The location is excellent and walking distance to the downtown campus, restaurants, bars ect. They just opened recently and are still under construction in the lobby. The man at the front desk was very friendly & helpful. The parking garage was a bit tight with my SUV but doable. A nice employee helped us find our way to the top floor via the stairs. There is no elevator in the parking garage so you either have to walk down to 1st floor or take stairs from third to fourth floor where there is a door to the hotel. The hotel & our room were immaculate! The deluxe double queen was spacious, trendy & extremely comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was awesome! We picked the items we wanted and what time to have it delivered and this very nice man came right on time with our delicious breakfast! The Chestnut is still in the new phase and working out all its kinks but I definitely think soon it will be one of the top rated hotels in Morgantown! I have already booked my next stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are excited to be Morgantown's newest hotel, and your feedback is shared with our team. We look forward to having you stay with us again on a future trip to Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was visiting from Tampa Florida and loved the Chestnut Hotel. A very trendy Botique with an ideal location for the Morgantown nightlife. Very spacious rooms and trendy furnature. Free breakfast delivered to your room in the morning too! Will definetly stay again when coming to Morgantown!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Marcus D, thanks for being the first to write a review of our new hotel! We value the feedback from our guests, and pass it along to our team to ensure we are striving to make each guest visit truly exceptional. We look forward to your next stay with us when you are in Morgantown again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#8 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#3 of 23 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#5 of 23 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#14 of 23 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnut Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Address: 345 Chestnut Street, Morgantown, WV 26505
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chestnut Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Morgantown, West Virginia. The hotel offers complimentary wifi, coffee and fruit stations on each floor and complimentary garage parking. There are also two bars on-site: Big Whiskey Saloon and RockTop Lounge - our rooftop cabana bar with two hote tubs. The hotel is conveniently located near Morgantown Regional Airport (MGW), local bus routes, the PRT system (public transportation) and both West Virginia University campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Chestnut Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.